2/22 Missy AMPS 322 +239 +5 166 +9 239 +11 284 PMPS 292 +1 295 +2 290 +4 229 +5 209

She sure drops fast.

I know... its so frusterating that I cant help her. Im really hoping clearing up this infection stops these up and downs.

I might try something different tonight:nailbiting: Maybe I will fast her from +9-+11 and then check her BG and feed her LC. THEN still shoot an hour later at +12. Maybe having something in her when I shoot will make a difference. I dont really see how it should make much of a difference... but Im struggling. Willing to try anything.
Is there any situation where a cat gets a type of insulin more often then every 12 hours... like a lower dose every 8 hours?
 
I know... its so frusterating that I cant help her. Im really hoping clearing up this infection stops these up and downs.

I know how hard this is fir you and you are trying everything :bighug:
Is there any situation where a cat gets a type of insulin more often then every 12 hours... like a lower dose every 8 hours?

There are some that have tried every 8 hours but I dint know much about it except it seems you would have no break. I’ll tag Wendy fir her take on this @Wendy&Neko

Have you thought about switching to Levemir? I have seen that help and I know both Wendy and Marje used it. @Marje and Gracie
 
There are some that have tried every 8 hours but I dint know much about it except it seems you would have no break. I’ll tag Wendy fir her take on this @Wendy&Neko

Have you thought about switching to Levemir? I have seen that help and I know both Wendy and Marje used it. @Marje and Gracie

Yes... I agree with giving insulin more often would be very difficult... and once im back at work im not sure i would be able to give it exactly 8 hours apart all the time... so not ideal... but Im willing to try anything.

I have been thinking about Levemir, I checked with the pharmacy near by and they carry it for only $25 more then the lantus pens (im in Canada). I dont know much about Levemir but Ive heard it works kinda backwards when compared to Lantuso_O.... so the nadir is around shot time??? I will have to research. If this is the case then I might want to switch both my kitties to Levemir so its not too confusing.... which kind sucks because Rufus is doing so well on Lantus. But hopefully that means he will do equally as well on Levemir:smuggrin: Or maybe after his dentistry on Thursday he will head towards remission.
 
I’ve never used lev but it’s a depot insulin like lantus. Onset is often later, around +4 and nadir usually is later, sometimes at shot time. Wendy has said it’s not always the case. I would switch both if you decide to give it a try. Insulin is cheaper in Canada I know but I hear your test strips are very expensive. It is very possible Rufus will have that benefit from the dental so wait and see before switching. I hope so.
 
Levemir typically onsets at +4 and nadirs at +8. But I've seen onsets from +3 to +5 and nadirs quite a bit later. Many cats are not "typical", my girl often nadired around preshot and occasionally later. I am surprised Levemir is that much more expensive than Lantus for a 5 pack of cartridges. It was $5-10 more than Lantus in BC back when I used it.

Three shots a day is really hard on the caregiver. I've seen in being used in just a couple cases and would try Lev before going to 3 shots a day.
 
Levemir typically onsets at +4 and nadirs at +8. But I've seen onsets from +3 to +5 and nadirs quite a bit later. Many cats are not "typical", my girl often nadired around preshot and occasionally later. I am surprised Levemir is that much more expensive than Lantus for a 5 pack of cartridges. It was $5-10 more than Lantus in BC back when I used it.

Three shots a day is really hard on the caregiver. I've seen in being used in just a couple cases and would try Lev before going to 3 shots a day.

Thank you... I appreciate the information. Do you think it would be really difficult to have to cats on 2 different insulins? I like to think Im pretty organized with them... after 4 months I still havent mixed up their doses or anything:D I would probably plan to switch Rufus over as well eventually.... but I hate to mess with things when they are going well.
 
Hmmm... what if I tapered her dose?? Like half of her dose at PMPS and the other half at +1. Again just putting ideas out there. :bookworm:
 
PM... well I was going to try to feed her at +11 or +11.5 then still shoot at +12 but she didnt seem to want to eat. Im suprised, usually with this BG and after fasting I would definite expect her to eat. I did end up putting some freeze dried chicken on her food after her shot and she ate an okay amount. I also noticed she seemed a bit uncomfortable when I picked her up. :( I will stalk her to check for ketones.

Maybe I should do xrays when she goes back for more bloodwork in a couple of weeks. Maybe there is something else going on thats not showing on bloodwork yet. She will need a bit of sedative for xrays... hopefully that wont be hard on her already stressed kidneys.
 
NEGATIVE FOR KETONES :joyful:
Maybe she was holding her pee to the point she was uncomfortble. I carried her to the litter box and she just went.
 
I’ve never used lev but it’s a depot insulin like lantus. Onset is often later, around +4 and nadir usually is later, sometimes at shot time. Wendy has said it’s not always the case. I would switch both if you decide to give it a try. Insulin is cheaper in Canada I know but I hear your test strips are very expensive. It is very possible Rufus will have that benefit from the dental so wait and see before switching. I hope so.

Yes.. .strips cost me about $0.65 per test. Today will be about $10 in strips between the 2 kitties:blackeye: But because Missy is not doing well I feel like its important to see where she is at with her BG.
 
Glad you shot. Maybe change the subject from +12 go PMPS so we know at a glance that you gave insulin.

Do you think it would be really difficult to have to cats on 2 different insulins?
I've seen people with Caninsulin/Vetsulin in one cat and Lantus in the other. We don't get a lot of two diabetes cat situations, so not a lot of examples. Most people stick to the same insulin if two diabetics, otherwise you likely have different test times due to different onsets/nadirs.
what if I tapered her dose?? Like half of her dose at PMPS and the other half at +1.
Then you've got two different onsets and two different nadirs for the one cat. Not something we'd suggest. I'd try playing with timing of food to see if that helps first. I see you are doing that, but food changes can take a couple weeks to show an impact.

If Missy's appy seems a bit off, you might want to add a GI panel to the blood work to see if that helps pinpoint things. I think that has to be fasted, so check with the vet before adding that to the list.
 
She is just sleeping...not her usual restless self.:( Im glad she is able to rest... but concerned she doesnt feel well. I wonder if her BG isnt doing a dive because she doesnt feel well or because she isnt moving like usual. She has not eaten anything since her small meal at shot time. If she is still like this tomorrow I will take her to the vet on Thursday when I take Rufus, or sooner if necessary.
 
PM +2.5 I accidently disturbed her sleep and she went and ate some food... a pretty normal amount:)
 
PM+4. She has been awake since she ate at +2.5... cleaned herself off after and just hung out awake...but not active.
 
Back
Top