2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287~+3 454

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Very Active Member
Yesterdays' Adventure

Good Morning LL

Max decided to have fun with me again last night.
The day was uneventful considering the fun we had on Saturday but Max decided to turn
the heat up at bedtime.

recap:
+2 241
+4 93
+5 50
+5.5 66
+6 63
+6.5 55
I gave up at the point. It was 1:30 am.
Left out food and brought him up to bed which of course he could not give me the pleasure
of staying. We know who the boss is don't we?
I switched up the past couple of days how I grab his skin and shoot him, really nicely on all sides of scruff, plus the last 2 shots I used the "harpoon" needled as Pat so fondly calls them.

Max is no worse for the wear, other than a huge BOUNCE and hanging at the water bowl, and unlike me who has a full day ahead of work and kids. Oh the life of a diabetic pet owner .

Stuck with the 6u for now. Guess we will see where this rebound is headed and how fast he
is learning to clear it.

Have a great day kitties and beans.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478

Last night was beautiful Randi!!! Good boy max!!! That is so great....
I hope you are feeling ok....I was not very good company last night ...when I don't have to administer HC or anything for super low numbers, what I do is just sleep walk basically. I bounce off the walls as I go to test and then try to head btb as quickly as possible. The next alarm rings too soon though. I was up and down 4 times last night with the lowest number a 64 at 4am. I feel a little spacey this morning but I don't have to work like you do...poor baby...HUGS to you girl...
You did GREAT!!!!
Wow Max....now, clear this bounce and get back to the healing numbers!!!
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478

Max is looking fantastic! Well, except for that ugly bounce. But, you can handle an ugly number like that when you know it's just a bounce! Keep up the good work...both of you! :mrgreen:

And good luck at work. It's Monday and it's pouring rain here. I got soaked dropping off dogs at daycare! So much for our nice weather here.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478

Goodness, Max has some crazy highs and lows! How do you DO it, Randi?

Boy, I sure how these days of wild roller coaster numbers come to a nice leveling off soon.

Hey Max,
Come ON, buddy. Slowly please, just a nice slow slope of drop and you won't have that crazy BOUNCE!
Maybe talk to Shadoe and she can tell you how she goes slow and surfs. Don't do her high numbers; just use the surf method, OK? I am positive that your bean will come up with some special treats if you play along ;-)
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478

Randi--Why do some cats decide to drop at Night?? Because they are nocturnal & want us up with them!!! :lol: :lol: cat(2)_steam
Great numbers & good progress here!! You are doing soooooo great! Max keep it up, but how about green in the day time??
Have a good monday!
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179

This Max is really keeping me on my toes.
He is learning to quickly recover from his bounce.
How nice to see blue show up today.
Does he have another all nighter planned for me tonight???

I would love to see some more steady drops but he is the boss.
I am just the servant, catering to all his whims. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179

I'm telling you, Max and Gabby are running up our long distance/international calling bill. Hmmm.... Maybe Gabby figured out how to use Skype! I thing they are the perfect Drama Queen and Drama King.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

Good news and bad news tonight.

First the good news. Max surfed blue very nicely this afternoon and came up to a lovely yellow
PMPS. Of course I was expecting to see another night like last night.

Bad news: Fur shot. So much for using those harpoons. I was fine with them the past few shots but I don't know where I went wrong tonight. Everything felt fine, it went in but guess it came out the other end because I felt wet on the fingers holding the scruff up. I actually like that they were long and I could get in nicely to that area under the skin.

If anyone uses them and has advice on "techinique" so I don't fur shot again, that would be great. I still have plenty of short needles. Thought I would try something else.

And we were making such nice progress. I guess there is no idea how much of a setback this will be.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

Geez, sorry about the fur shot, and I don't have any suggestions for harpoons; I like the shorties.
I sure hope the numbers are not bad later.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

Hi Randi

pooeee on the fur shot, hopefully, hopefully, he got some juice in there, keeping paws crossed for that.

nice cycle today thou!
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

Don't know how I messd this one up. And I almost didn't use them tonight.
Can someone explain to me what happens on a fur shot?
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

I prefer the long needles because they're a little thicker and I could feel them going into the skin. With a heavier cat I think they get the insulin under the skin better too. Fur shots happen to everybody, don't worry. Max isn't going to lose progress over this, it might slow him down by a day or two, or it might not (some of Lucy's best numbers came when I thought I had given a fur shot, I have no idea why).
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

Randi & Max said:
Can someone explain to me what happens on a fur shot?

well, it's just that.... fur! :lol: Max's fur can eat cake if he wants to.

Never, never, never shoot again... but you figured that already. Sometimes, some goes in... but no one even really knows. Lots of times I thought it was a fur shot and ... it wasn't.

You mark fur on your SS and ..... tomorrow is another day!
The guru would say... that's why there is a shed... to help you in cases like this.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

Helene & Tizon said:
Never, never, never shoot again... but you figured that already.

Nope did not shoot again but did put needle back in to see if could squeeze an extra drop or so.
Thanks for reminding me to note on my ss. I'm not very good at leaving lots of details on it like some people I know, lol.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287

(((Randi & Max)))
Max is really looking good the past few days :thumbup
He must not be packing any bags when he goes to RBC - because he returns quickly :mrgreen:
These kittys sure do own us.. I swear I am their servant...

Baby I are cheering you both on!!

M :RAHCAT A :RAHCAT X :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287~+3 454-Question

So it is obvious to me that not a drop of insulin got into him.
If he is 454 now, what is he going to be like in the morning? Another 9 hours to insulin.

Is there anything I can do for my boy? I know it is unthinkable to give him insulin but is there a possibility of something??? Where is that shed kicking in?
Is there anything I need to do like monitor him, food, call it a night?
I am worried for him and this relion meter does not go higher than 500 so I won't even know
how high he goes.

Should I use my old One touch ultra later which goes higher?

Any thoughts or help would be appreciated. Sorry we are Drama King in reverse tonight.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287~+3 454-Question

I think you pretty much have to ride it out...get yourself a before bedtime check, leave food out for him, and dont be so hard on urself.

(((hugs)))
if u start on another meter, ur gonna drive urself crazzzeee, besides do u really wanna see HI on another meter?

but then again this is only the +3, and we know how much Max likes to surprise us!
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287~+3 454-Question

I wouldn't necessarily make the assumption that this was a fur shot. This could be a bounce from the AM blues.
 
Re: 2/22 Max AMPS 478~+6 179~PMPS 287~+3 454-Question

Sienne and Gabby said:
I wouldn't necessarily make the assumption that this was a fur shot. This could be a bounce from the AM blues.

Okay I will try and not panic. Even when he bounces I have never seen him go up 200 points.
Definiately had insulin on my fingers and his fur was wet.
I'll make DH do a BT check and see what happens.
What a mess I made. I feel so bad for him that his Bg is going up so high.
Ronnie & Luna said:
(((hugs)))
if u start on another meter, ur gonna drive urself crazzzeee, besides do u really wanna see HI on another meter?
You're right Ronnie. HI is HI is HI, lol. (not)
 
thanks Libby
That was my plan. Save it for when he throws me green
Again right. Guess ill go back to the short needles for now.


Libby and Lucy said:
don't torture yourself by keeping testing when he is high. Ni-ni Randi. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top