2/22 Latte AMPS-325, PMPS~178

Status
Not open for further replies.

carolynandlatte

Very Active Member
I woke up a little early, laying in bed wishing I had hours more to sleep. Latte caught my eyes open, got up on the bed and sat next to my head with her big motor going (she has a BIG motor). She was awfully chatty when I did get up.

pmps-303 (reduced from 2u to 1.75u)
+2-284
+4-378
+6-252 (this is about where the pred and kibble she ate earlier released itself from her body)
amps-325

She ate a little kibble overnight - both a good and a bad thing.. it may be a small contributor to her amps. Slow to eat this a.m. as usual, but on track.

WCR: aside from her self-imposed diet as of late, spirits are high. she has been VERY social, verbal, and animated most of the time. We have shared some very precious moments in the last few weeks. Sparklin' moments that I will remember long after she is gone.

WBR: I have been ever so frustrated lately, in fear of what these high numbers might do to her (sugar in urine/more susceptible to infection she cant fight due to pred, ketones, etc). Then she goes to such extremes like she did yesterday. I thought I could *control* this disease. now Im just trying to accept that it is yet another problem, another possible complication among all her other issues. I've felt a lot of guilt, since I made the choice to do this to her so she could live, by putting her back on the steroid. Ive both rationalized its what needed to be done, and doubted my decision. I have been feeling overwhelmed with trying to figure out what is causing what. And the energy to get her eating is much more than I have on most days.

I have big job change coming up next week. Im not leaving my other one because I dislike it, rather the new one is a better opportunity for regular income. I have not started a NEW job in probably five years, so Im a little nervous. And of course I will miss the old job, a lot!

Killed Latte's last fish this weekend too. :sad:

So ya, its been a stressful few weeks in which my head has spent a lot of time under the covers. Latte checks in on me often to make sure Im okay. :thumbup

yesterday
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6972
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

(((Carolyn)))
I am sorry you are having such a hard time. You have done an amazing job with Latte. It seems from your report that she is feeling pretty good and that is something to be happy about.

Good luck with your new job......sometimes change is good and I am one that does not like change. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

Morning Carolyn....sounds as if there is a reason for Latte's numbers this morning...but the fact that she is so chatty and seems so happy is music to my ears! That is so good... :-D
I know what's happening with you though...it sounds as if you have been working your brain overtime these past few weeks with all that thinking. You have gone through all the hoops in making your decisions and now is the time that you can sit back and relax. You have a week to refresh your head before the new job starts. That is good!
You are doing a wonderfu job with latte and your decision seems sound and exciting...now hurry up and RELAX!!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

((((Carolyn and Latte))))

It sounds like Latte is feeling well - just try to focus on that. It's so hard not to doubt your decisions, but you've made all of them out of love. You're giving Latte the best care you possibly can. She's very lucky to have you. Good luck with the new job! Changing jobs is very stressful, but it sounds like it was a good decision.

Hope you and Latte have a great day.
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

(((Carolyn)))
It is hard to accept that we can't control what is going on with our multi-issue kitties. The best we can do is juggle all of the issues and try to come up with the best compromise among all of them. I find that it is easiest to obsess over the diabetes and the numbers, because we can see in real time what they are doing, and we have the most day to day control over those, as compared to the other "invisible" things going on inside the body. You and Latte have had some good times together recently that you will always treasure. To me, that means that whatever you are doing is working.

Good luck with the new job!

And fly free, Latte's fish.
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

Morning Carolyn,

((((hugs)))) it's easy to question whether you've done the right thing, but I know when you look in her eyes that she tells you you've done the right thing. Instead of thinking about what you might have done wrong, go by your gut instinct and what Latte tells you. That's what you've been using and it's worked well for you both all along, right? It's a fine line we all walk in our heads, how much is too much? Then we look at our kitties, and they do that slow blink, and we know we did the right thing.

I hope the fluids will help get her appetite back on track for you soon so that you don't have to worry about her getting enough to eat. Best of luck at your new job, I'm thrilled for you!
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

Oh you have a lot going on and I hope the new job brings all good things. Always stressful to start something new but you don't know until you try. Just like with our kitties. You do what you can and it sounds like Latte is feeling pretty good looking out for you too - peeking under those covers to check on you.
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

((Carolyn))
I'm with Carolyn/Spot on this. Cats will tell you when it's their time. My calico civie, George had an intestinal CA. He was a fighter. He did finally tell me it was his time. To put this in a different perspective, it this were a person who was taking 20 different pills a day, would you say, "Give up."? We would probably encourage them to stick around even though treatment might be difficult. Latte's quality of life is good most days. She's a happy kitty.
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

Carolyn
It is very hard to stay positive when you feel that you are losing control on various fronts.
New job starting, Latte's issues.. This is very overwhelming and we understand.
You are doing whetever you could for yourself and Latte, so don't doubt that for a minute.
Take every day as it comes.
Sending some smiles and hugs to you. :smile: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325

Thank you so much for the kind words. It really does help to know that others understand where I may be coming from when one day Im all happy and the next ready to spit fire! :? I just really wanted to let you all know why I disappeared for a few days. sometimes I just dont have ANYTHING to say (believe it or not! :lol: )

Here is some exciting news!
flip_cat LATTE JUMPED ONTO THE COUCH THIS MORNING! flip_cat​
She was so interested in my cereal, it gave her energy to jump! :mrgreen: She sat next to me and watched me eat the entire bowl (if you saw her video a few weeks ago, you will know what I mean) and then sat on the back of the couch and looked out the window for a few minutes. :thumbup I have not seen her able to do this in probably a year. And to have her sit on the couch with me last night... cat_pet_icon

Her numbers are good today. I cant imagine she went much lower than this, or she would be higher by now with a bounce. *Maybe* with the decrease she will not go so low and bounce so high and long.
+2-217
+7-146

its a shoot and run situation tonight at pmps because I have a class to teach. So I probly wont have time to post it until much later.

Again, thank you for the kind words and support! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325, +7-146

carolynandlatte said:
She was so interested in my cereal, it gave her energy to jump! She sat next to me and watched me eat the entire bowl (if you saw her video a few weeks ago, you will know what I mean) and then sat on the back of the couch and looked out the window for a few minutes. I have not seen her able to do this in probably a year. And to have her sit on the couch with me last night...

This is what it is all about!!!
Good for Latte and good for you that this gave you joy.
 
Re: 2/22 Latte AMPS-325, +7-146, +10.5~151

her numbers are GREAT today. certainly caught my attention, then i saw where you expressed doubts, frustration, etc.
we all go thru this, even when we have fewer health issues to deal with. i scoff today when i think of how i obsessed over things when all cleo had was diabetes. now we're juggling a ton of stuff including more meds than i'd ever contemplated.
but when they're chatty and happy, it makes it all worth it.
cleo had high numbers and issues for a long time, including glucose spilled in urine, and she never tested positive for one infection. so one doesn't necessarily mean the other. i just see how much steroids have improved her and harry's lives, and they are so worth it. just take each day as it comes, just as a kitty does. (((HUGS)))
 
(((Carolyn & Latte)))
Bless your heart... :YMHUG:
Droppin thru to check on you two & show my love.. support... for all you are goin thru. I truly believe with all my heart, that you will know when it is time - Latte's report this morning.. she sounds like a very happy kitty & the special times you have shared are worth every moment. Don't look back & 2nd guess yourself - you made decisions at the time based on the information you had... nodoby can predict the future - we can only deal with things as they come & what a wonderful job you are doing!

Congratulations & Good Luck with your new position - may it be the beginning of many abundant blessings in store for you...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top