? 2/22 Kokkinoulis preshot 68 stall 65 after 20 min 65 again after 40 mindose advice please

Kokkinoulis

Member Since 2023
Hi, His preshot is 68. Should I feed him very well and shot 7.5 unit or I reduce to 7.0 as it is night here and I don't know If I could test him all night. I could stall but it seems that he is falling now as his nadirs are at preshot. Yesterday morning his preshot was 58 and after fed him very well was 118 but I had to travel so I was afraid and skipped the dose.
 
Understood! So the last time you skipped (i would have skipped too) you see that he went all the way at the next shot time. I see that you gave 7.5 units when his BG was 88. What were you thinking about for tonight?
With TR you can shoot the full dose at anything over 50 as long as you have a hypo kit and can monitor.
If you decide to shoot (either full dose or a reduced dose), feed a little of his meal now, then a little more at +1 and again at +2.
 
Understood! So the last time you skipped (i would have skipped too) you see that he went all the way at the next shot time. I see that you gave 7.5 units when his BG was 88. What were you thinking about for tonight?
With TR you can shoot the full dose at anything over 50 as long as you have a hypo kit and can monitor.
If you decide to shoot (either full dose or a reduced dose), feed a little of his meal now, then a little more at +1 and again at +2.
 
I finally shot 7 unit after a lot of food and I will test him again after some minutes. I will feed him also at 1,+2 if it is nessecary. I am thinking if the correct dose should be 7.5 or I should reduce to 7.0 also in the next shot?
 
Thanks a lot!!! Before 2 days vet send blood to UK for IGF-1 test and tomorrow I put again libre sensor. I am afraid about hypoglycemia due to his high dose and unregulated diabetes. It seems that he reacts in 7.5 units in the last days but maybe it should be reduced to 7.0 as his nadirs are low..although the vet due to his high peaks and average BG ( nadirs are ok) told me before 2 days to increase to 8.0. I need forum advice about his dose.
 
Last edited:
Hypos are scary!!! It helps to remember that with testing the BGs and feeding accordingly, you can prevent/manage them. :bighug:
Remember that a cat needs as much insulin as he/she needs. The size of the dose isn't as important as seeing those BGs in Blues and Greens. With TR, we're looking for lots of greens and some blues are ok too ;).
 
Hypos are scary!!! It helps to remember that with testing the BGs and feeding accordingly, you can prevent/manage them. :bighug:
Remember that a cat needs as much insulin as he/she needs. The size of the dose isn't as important as seeing those BGs in Blues and Greens. With TR, we're looking for lots of greens and some blues are ok too ;).
Although libre is not very accurate make me feel more comfortable to shot at lows. However in the next weeks I have to go to office some days and leave him alone for 9-10 hours so I am nervous about good green and blue numbers as I don't know yet his patterns...he is going up and down very quickly...
 
@Kokkinoulis I see that +2 and the note in your spreadsheet that you fed some LC. GREAT JOB!! Do you think you can get a +3?
Yes I will test him again at +3. I was initially though to test him at +4 but the BG remains stable at 85 and as his nadirs are usually at +11,+12 it will be a long night till I understand how he reacts now to insulin. 85 again at +2 was before fed him 1-2 spoons LC
 
The link to your previous post here: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...bre-2-90-accu-check-low-pre-shot-help.286743/

I'm glad people were around to help you with the dose decision tonight, and glad that you gave him insulin. It looks like a very good cycle for him tonight.
I am afraid about hypoglycemia due to his high dose and unregulated diabetes.
Hypos are something to be afraid of regardless of dose or how regulated they are. Once they become regulated, their numbers don't drop as much and are more predictable, so it's a good goal to get to. As for size of dose, a cat needs however much insulin they need. We've had a cat go low on 0.1 units of insulin as their dose.
 
Back
Top