2/22 Gus AMPS 59, +3 77, +6 65, +9.5 67, PMPS 61, +2 70, +5 50, +6 54, +7.25 65

What are the chances of lime tonight? :D

Btw, are you checking the syringes for zero error? When you first use a syringe, push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off (by as much as 0.5U) and that affects the accuracy of the dose. Especially with smaller doses every little bit matters.
 
What are the chances of lime tonight? :D

Btw, are you checking the syringes for zero error? When you first use a syringe, push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off (by as much as 0.5U) and that affects the accuracy of the dose. Especially with smaller doses every little bit matters.

Well you just made me get up from being all comfy on the couch real quick. Better not be yanking my chain lol

Ya. I guess I am checking sort of.. but maybe not as close as I should be… every time. .5 is crazy - I feel like I would notice that because I look at the syringe like 50 times (not exaggerating by much) before I give a shot to make sure I got the right amount, I’m a bit OCD in that way

The plunger lines up with the zero line (at least the one I just grabbed does) but when I push it in hard.. kinda seems like there more space? Which I’m guessing might be how we get a drop dose amount? Hard to explain.. maybe pic will help.. that blue line looks like space to me.. first pic

Lime! :eek: Wasn’t thinking I’d see those again.. I’ll check him in an hour

upload_2022-2-22_22-4-37.jpeg


upload_2022-2-22_22-14-24.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-2-22_22-4-37.jpeg
    upload_2022-2-22_22-4-37.jpeg
    52.8 KB · Views: 154
  • upload_2022-2-22_22-14-24.jpeg
    upload_2022-2-22_22-14-24.jpeg
    52.5 KB · Views: 153
The syringe in the second pic seems to be okay. Look at a couple of syringes I have found in the past. This is with the plunger fully pressed.

syringe error.jpg
 

Attachments

  • syringe error.jpg
    syringe error.jpg
    33.8 KB · Views: 321
The syringe in the second pic seems to be okay. Look at a couple of syringes I have found in the past. This is with the plunger fully pressed.

View attachment 63572

They were the same syringe just drew the line in one to show where I was talking about.

Holy smokes! That’s off by quite a bit!

I’ll be adding this to the list of things to check when drawing up the insulin
 
Last edited:
Bhooma! How did you call that.. I mean it’s not lime but you can’t get any closer that 50! (+5)

Guess HC? Maybe MC? Test in an hour..
 
Last edited:
I've rarely found syringes that line up perfectly. Maybe the BD ones are better. But I find only 3 of 10 syringes in a packet line up okay.
I use the Elimedical ones from the vet - surprisingly the cheapest around. My biggest complaint is that the plunger is sometimes angled- which drives me nuts because I only see it after I draw up the insulin.. I toss those ones (and waste insulin)
 
54 @ +6

Pretty sure he would have dipped into lime without that HC, he barely budged in the hour after HC.

@Bandit's Mom Think I should feed LC and test in an hour?
 
Last edited:
Maybe the BD ones are better.
Not in Canada. The last batch of BD syringes I was using for Neko, her dose was below the zero line. The plunger went that much lower than the zero line. Thank goodness for calipers. Don't think you can find Carepoint here, or pretty much anything else except what you get from the vet. ADW doesn't ship to Canada. Back in the day, I used a post box across the border and had them ship there.
 
Not in Canada. The last batch of BD syringes I was using for Neko, her dose was below the zero line. The plunger went that much lower than the zero line. Thank goodness for calipers. Don't think you can find Carepoint here, or pretty much anything else except what you get from the vet. ADW doesn't ship to Canada. Back in the day, I used a post box across the border and had them ship there.
I’m not too far from the border maybe 2hours... not a terrible idea..

Calipers are a pretty useful tool sound like! Especially with all these issues! My goodness! You would think that they would have stricter protocols with syringes..
 
Last edited:
Back
Top