2/22 Edward AMPS-305, 342@+2, 317@+4, 354@+10.5 (pics)

SnowKat

Member Since 2020
Last condo

Happy Caturday, folks! May all our kitties surf safely.

So last night was a milestone for us - Edward dipped his toes into the neon end of the lagoon, for the first time that we know of. We should have tested again right away to account for meter margin of error, but we forgot. He ate a spoonful of HC gravy plus some of his regular LC food, and his numbers improved quickly. We feel like we handled things well, and we are sticking with a skinny 1u for now. We will drop back to .75u if he gives us another confirmed low number. It's such a fine balance, trying to keep him as low as possible while still keeping him safe. I just want to give him the best chance of healing.
 
I
Question on the timed feeders... Does one just program the feeder to open up at a specific time for a specific amount of time? For example - open at +2 for a half hour then close until whenever?
The one I use has 5 compartments and rotates open at the specified time. So the compartment remains accessible until the next programmed rotation. I programmed the last meal at +8 but realized I didn’t know when it was eaten so placed a freeze dried treat at +10.
 
Thank you, @Briere Fur Mom ! This is definitely his biggest bounce yet, sigh. I know we are still in the early days, but man I hope he settles down into a smooth rhythm, as opposed to this wild ride we’ve been on.

You, too, have a lovely day! :)
 
So....here are my 2 cents. You don't retest for meter error, you retest if a number you get seems out of whack. You got the number you did, and actually, using your logic around meter variance, while you are thinking it might have been over 50 had you retested again, I would also argue it *could* have been as low as 38 also. You got 48 and Edward is newly diagnosed, I would have taken the full reduction. You can always go back up if the reduction doesn't work.
 
@Christie & Maverick - good point. I just feel like .75u isn’t quite right either. I wish there was a more accurate way to really dial in a consistent, small dose increment. It would be so fantastic if we weren’t forced into .25u increments... how awesome would it be if we could effectively manage to move up or down in .1 unit increments? Anyway... I appreciate your advice - thank you.
 
Last edited:
Good catch last night! Glad you are going to reduce. Christie makes some good points. That whopper of a bounce (for Edward) lends credibility to the possibility of a lime green. There is a technique people on TR can use called "shooting through the bounce", where if you know kitty is bouncing and you did, you can shoot the old higher dose for one more time after a reduction earned, then take the reduction the following cycle. You sort of did that today. ;)

What worked for Edward last time on 0.75 units might not be how he handles 0.75 units this time. Only way to know is to try it.

Are you using calipers? I used to make small changes for Neko using calipers, but a lot of cats do well with 0.25 unit changes. At this point in Edwards diabetic journey though, it's hard to say you need to move to smaller changes yet.
 
@Wendy&Neko - thank you for the consensus! I just hated seeing those pink #s on the .75u. But I guess I’m still seeing them at 1u, so I’ll just have to get used to it :( I’ll give .75u another try and hope he responds a bit better this time around.

No, I am not using calipers... although I do have an appropriate set on hand (hubby is a machinist).
 
On the bright side, it was a beautiful day for a walk around the back yard!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_0601.JPG
    IMG_0601.JPG
    207.3 KB · Views: 59
  • IMG_0584.JPG
    IMG_0584.JPG
    73.4 KB · Views: 50
Ugh, 354 is the highest reading I've ever taken for Ed. Really struggling with sticking with the lower .75u dose. I'm trusting you all here. But damn - this is hard :(
 
Back
Top