2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +16 = 119

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=114155

Had a lovely surf in the blue all day yesterday again, and stalled for the PM shot to continue our roll of getting some good overlap, and then what happens? A bleepity, bleeping fur-shot. angry(2)_cat

So, today:
AMPS = 390 (2.8u)
+4 = 209
+6 = 185
+10 = 91
+11 = 111

PMPS (stalling):
+12 = 81
+12.5 = 76
+13 = 78
+13.5 = 84
+14 = 91
+14.5 = 93
+15 = 102 (fed 2 Tbsp. FF)
+16 = 119 (fed 2 Tbsp. FF)
+17 = 161 (fed 2 Tbsp. FF)


I fell asleep on the couch last night with Eddie curled up beside me. I had intended to get a +4 to see if any insulin actually went in him, but I didn't make it that far. I guess if there's a positive to the fur shot, I got some much needed sleep and Eddie got a bit of a break from pokies. I hope it doesn't take us forever to get back on track. :?
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390

BLEEP! BLEEP! BLEEP!

Glad(ish) you got to catch up on some sleep and had some sweet snuggle time.

Sending "getting back on track fast" vines. :-D
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, + 10 = 91

Well, Eddie never ceases to amaze me. At +10 he's at 91.

Fingers crossed that we can catch a rising blue number for PMPS and surf!
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, + 12.5 = 76

Well, looks like mom got a little excited with the insulin this morning.

Eddie's really stretching this cycle out. Nadir at +10?, nope +12?...+12.5?

+10 = 91
+11 = 111
+12 = 81
+12.5 = 76

So 2.8u is a little much on a pre-shot of 390. Noted. For whatever reason, Eddie doesn't always go lower on a higher dose...sometimes he just really stretches that cycle out...
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, + 10 = 91

Whoa! That's really interesting! :o


Btw, I've been meaning to tell you - I love Eddie's nickname Wispy Rice-Crispy. I love them all, actually. P's got about 1,009 nicknames.
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +12.5 = 76

We were struggling with his long-ish cycles and skipping shots at first, but I've started to shoot lower and been able to take advantage of his surfing, until the fur shot misfire of last night. And then mom probably overshooting a smidge this morning.

I love P's nicknames too! :-D
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +12.5 = 76

nckitties3 said:
Holding off for a bit, I gather?

Yeah...stalling. His long cycles usually peter out around +14, so I'm hoping to catch him before he climbs back up too high. I might shoot a bit less than usual to try to shorten up his cycle a bit. Haven't decided quite yet.
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +12.5 = 76

He'll get it together for you, momma-bean. (anti-jinx) FYI - if I ever forget to type out "anti-jinx", know that I always anti-jinx everything in my head nowadays, so it's always there. lol
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +13.5= 84

I can't really complain about surfing in greens and blues, even if they are at the wrong time of the cycle, so I'm just following his lead. :smile:
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +13.5= 84

Surely, you don't think they would do anything on YOUR schedule!?!? Fat chance!! :lol:
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +13.5= 84

nckitties3 said:
Surely, you don't think they would do anything on YOUR schedule!?!? Fat chance!! :lol:

I would LOVE to be able to shoot on a 14 hour schedule with Eddie since the dose that seems to get him the best numbers also gives him around a 14 hour duration. But alas, the whole working thing makes that a little tough. Looks like Eddie's not quite ready to go yet at +14.... :?
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +14.5= 93

Still stalling. :?

102 at +15. That's a heck of a cycle. Eddie apparently isn't aware that the manufacturer says that ProZinc lasts up to 14 hours. I had to finally give in a feed a tiny bit of supper. Plan to retest at +16 and see where we're at. No clue what I'm going to shoot yet.
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +15= 102

What and when are the questions.

I'd say, when he's high enough to make it safe to shoot. But if his dose is lasting this long, could he need a reduction? Will a lesser dose also be shorter? I don't know, but there has been some differences of opinion in that category. Which is why I'm considering raising Lucian to see if he'll get better duration, but it's a little scary since his dose has taken him to 60. Not a clue on that on. @-)
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +15= 102

Duration isn't really "supposed" to change with lowering or raising the dose with ProZinc, but it most certainly does with Eddie.

I did break down and fed a little bit at +15. The civilians were able to eat behind closed doors, but poor Eddie was so hungry. I gave his normal lunchtime snack so it *shouldn't* affect his BG too much. Assuming he's shootable at some point in the relatively near future, he'll get the rest of his supper. Without food, I'd probably shoot at around 150 albeit at a reduced dose...probably 1.8 to try to shave the duration. But with food on board, I think I'd like to see at least 175 or 180 before shooting. nailbite_smile

I suspect this super long duration is because mom was heavy handed with his shot this AM. Fur shot last night resulted in yucky 390 AMPS this morning, so I shot 2.8 which is actually what I was shooting on my scale! But, I think my scale can go down. For the past few days with Eddie surfing the blues, I've been kind of flying by the seat of my pants anyway in terms of dose. 2.2 on a rising blue pre-shot has gotten us between 12-14 hours with pretty good nadirs.

If it weren't for the stupid fur shot last night, I was actually going to use today as an opportunity to see exactly how late his nadir was and how low he was going with those long blue surfs. So much for that! :roll:

I really can't complain too much though. Eddie's been in great numbers for a good chunk of the day today, if nothing else! :smile:
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +15= 102

I'd agree, a reduced dose at 175+ should probably be ok. But then, that may be a couple hours. :o

You may have to work on his schedule though. Are you working in the AM? Oh no, tomorrow's Sunday, that gives you a little time to try to get him close to his original schedule. You wouldn't have happened to want to change his schedule did ya? :lol: This stuff never happens when you need it to! :lol:
 
nckitties3 said:
I'd agree, a reduced dose at 175+ should probably be ok. But then, that may be a couple hours. :o

You may have to work on his schedule though. Are you working in the AM? Oh no, tomorrow's Sunday, that gives you a little time to try to get him close to his original schedule. You wouldn't have happened to want to change his schedule did ya? :lol: This stuff never happens when you need it to! :lol:

+16 = 119 (1 hr. after 2 Tbsp. Fancy Feast)

Mmmmk. I'm totally in unfamiliar territory now. confused_cat This is beyond stalling. I think we're going to have to skip. Darn.

Normal shot time is at 6:00 AM, which is 7 1/2 hrs. from now, so even if I shoot a chicken sh*t shot, I think we'll be off schedule enough that we may not be able to get him back on schedule in time for Monday.
 
Re: 2/22 Eddie AMPS 390, +6 = 185, +15= 102

I've been staring at Eddie's SS, trying to find some way to help. You've been helping me so much, I wanted to be able to do something. I wouldn't take dosing advice from a newbie (especially one that's not even doing as well as the person they're trying to help) but I still wanted to offer my thoughts. My original thought was that it looked like Eddie gets "proper" duration on shots that are around half of the dose he got today. So I thought, drop the dose by about half? Then I thought, well, if he's good to shoot at +16, he'll already be 4 hours into another cycle, so half may be too much to keep him ready to shoot at his regular AM time. And that's about as far as I got. ;-)
 
I think you're on the right track though Melissa.

Now, I'd be more inclined to skip tonight, even though he'll probably be higher than what you want in the morning. He's just not rising quick enough and his schedule will be 'toast' if you shoot 4-5 hrs late. Other than a higher preshot in the AM, what else can ya do? He responds well, you'll get him back on track in a day or 2.
 
My scale was working beautifully for like three weeks. Then we surfed for several days and had long duration, and now I think my scale is all shot to heck. LOL. I'm going to have to think on it, but will likely reduce my scale overall. I'm afraid to jinx it, but maybe Eddie wants a little less insulin now?
 
You can never tell! Funny, rather than dropping low, he's stretching out.

Every time I say I'm going to increase Lucian, he drops in the 80's! I just follow his lead. @-)
 
nckitties3 said:
Every time I say I'm going to increase Lucian, he drops in the 80's! I just follow his lead. @-)
Lucian does seem to respond to a written threat of an increase, doesn't he? :-D
 
nckitties3 said:
Which is where I'm going! Good night!
Night Deb!

+17 = 161

If we weren't completely off schedule, and if I hadn't fed, I'd shoot. Well, Eddie will be ready to go for us in the AM at normal shot time at a dose to be determined.
 
Duration isn't really "supposed" to change with lowering or raising the dose with ProZinc, but it most certainly does with Eddie
.
Duration can change on any cycles on the same dose, different dose, whenever. If the absorption rate on any given shot can vary by up to 50%, then anything wonky can happen.

When I see an 18 hour cycle, I just smile. A 119 at +16? Who cares "why"? Just go with it. And :-D

Whatever number you see at amps, it will be after 24 hours without juice. You will not have to wonder if any of it is bounce related.
 
Carl & Bob (GA) said:
Duration isn't really "supposed" to change with lowering or raising the dose with ProZinc, but it most certainly does with Eddie
.
Duration can change on any cycles on the same dose, different dose, whenever. If the absorption rate on any given shot can vary by up to 50%, then anything wonky can happen.

When I see an 18 hour cycle, I just smile. A 119 at +16? Who cares "why"? Just go with it. And :-D

Whatever number you see at amps, it will be after 24 hours without juice. You will not have to wonder if any of it is bounce related.

Thanks for the input Carl. :smile: Eddie had a great stretched out nadir today...except it was around +12, so the dose itself resulted in good numbers. I'm guessing there's going to be a pre-shot in the high 300's again tomorrow. Do I dare shoot that 2.8 again? Or does it make sense to lower my scale some? I can't chase the numbers (much) during the work-week unfortunately, or do I forget about trying to control the duration?
 
If you adjust the scale...
I'd do so just by a tad. And not "overall". When it comes to sliding scales, I am not a big believer in across the board adjustments. I want to see if a scale dose works or not before assuming it needs to be adjusted.

And I don't try to predict duration. Today, this dose gave you long duration. Tomorrow, it may, or might not show the same results. You might get normal duration but a lower nadir. Or not. It's a guessing game. My primary concern when picking a dose would be whether or not I could be around to monitor the cycle. That would determine how conservative or aggressive I would be with the dosage.
 
Carl & Bob (GA) said:
If you adjust the scale...
I'd do so just by a tad. And not "overall". When it comes to sliding scales, I am not a big believer in across the board adjustments. I want to see if a scale dose works or not before assuming it needs to be adjusted.

And I don't try to predict duration. Today, this dose gave you long duration. Tomorrow, it may, or might not show the same results. You might get normal duration but a lower nadir. Or not. It's a guessing game. My primary concern when picking a dose would be whether or not I could be around to monitor the cycle. That would determine how conservative or aggressive I would be with the dosage.

Thank you! Might reduce it a smidge for a higher pre-shot in the AM. The other portions of the scale have been working nicely, so you're right - doesn't really make sense to change those.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top