Curran2266
Member Since 2017
Simba is newly diagnosed, a little over 3 weeks ago. He weighs about 12.75 pounds. He was high over 500 in the vets office (vet meter) so he was started on 2 units of Lantus.We went back to vet a week later (2/10) to have glucose tested it was 228 +11 hours from morning dose. We then bought a home meter and started testing, we started seeing some lower numbers so we called the vet. We had begun to try to feed some fancy feast but he would only eat a little bit when he was really hungry so we thought maybe the wet food was contributing to the lower numbers although he was still eating dry. Went back on saturday 2/18 and the vet prescribed Proplan canned DM he ate a bit but wasn't thrilled with it - vet told us to try tough love that afternoon with the canned DM if he wouldn't eat it try again the next morning. We did, he ate a little of the wet but I supplemented with 1/4 of dry Proplan DM because he wasn't eating enough. On sunday morn I gave only 1 unit because I felt he hadn't eaten enough. By 5pm pre-shot he was at 37, I was panicked I fed him dry DM and gave 1/4 tsp of Karo syrup. Within 2 hours he was up to 79.Monday morning AMPS was 70, PMPS 69 so no shots, Tuesday AMPS 164, PMPS 210 so we gave .5. This morning AMPS 58, PMPS 127. I feel like the change in food has helped but I'm not sure he's eating enough, I have been giving the FF first when hes really hungry and then supplementing with 1/4 dry DM. This evening I snuck some FF in with the dry DM he wasn't as anxious to eat it but ate about half. Hoping tomorrow morning numbers are good because I'm always nervous about the dose to give. I'm thinking if under 250 no shot is that ok? When at 210 PMPS he dropped to 55 at +3 so I don't want to give unless over 250 because I feel like maybe he doesn't need with the change in food or is he not eating enough because I'm sneaking the wet food into the kibble to transition him to the wet? This is all so overwhelming and confusing.
Last edited:
