2/22 Chino|AMPS=556|PMPS=494|+8=149/200

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adrian and Chino

Member Since 2016
I know this isn't the best place for it but I'll be leaving in 30 minutes to come home early since Chino has been doing his business inside the apartment instead of the litterbox for 2 days in a row. Just waiting for the rain to die down. Trying to gather articles and info to send to his vet in the meantime.

Anything over 1000 ng/mL indicates acromegaly. Since the result from MSU is diagnostic at lower values, what are their units of measurement? I don't have a copy of Chino's result.
 
Yes, it's nmol/L for MSU. Did you get a copy of Chino's bloodwork with the result printed on it? The copy I have of Neko's includes the reference range as you have listed it. If the vet is looking at it, it should be pretty obvious. There are some false positives with recently diagnosed cats, but not as high a number as Chino has.

Sorry you have to leave the conference early. Sending vines for Chino.:bighug:
 
Yesterday...

I'm changing the title and making this the thread for 2/22. For the 2nd day in a row, Chino did his business in the apartment instead of the litterbox. My mom checked on them today and sent me a picture of a small light brown puddle (more likely poop than vomit) and a very large wet stain on the couch cover. I was worried about him, and to be honest, I was worried about my new light beige couch as well! So I left early. I'm glad I did, because I was able to get a blue +8. I tested with the AT2 after testing with the Relion Confirm to have something to compare to the PMPS, which was taken with the AT2.

Tomorrow, I'll either ask them to fax me the most recent labs, or I'll go by and get paper copies. It's 4 AM now, so I'm guarding the couch while it dries (treated it with Woolite Pet)... not sure how I'm going to keep him from doing it again unless I cover it with a thick plastic tarp. I know that peeing outside of the litterbox could indicate a UTI, but when I was in college and started leaving him alone for 12 hours at a time for clinicals, he started pissing on my bed. So it could just as easily be behavioral. But I'll bring it up at the upcoming visit so they can test.

For now, I'm going to keep the dose at 6 for at least the next 2 cycles so I can see if his numbers will be any better now that I'm back.
 
Last edited:
Maybe Chino is telling you he needs an additional litter box. Do you notice if he has any problem moving/jumping? Just wondering if it's a chore for him to get into the LB. Many of our older kitties (and especially acros) get arthritis. Which means finding an LB with a lower side or cutout door.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top