Jenni
Member Since 2015
WARNING: Newbie here with a lot of concerns and questions. I just started the home testing today and do not have an AMPS # but have tested 3 times today and updated SS including diet info.
After receiving diagnosis on 2/13/15, started 2 units of Lantus twice daily on 2/15. After 1 week at this dose and starting LC wet food diet, Smudges exhibited signs of hypo on Friday 2/20 evening (excessive meowing, discomfort/distress, very brief head quivering, and an extremely ravenous and sudden appetite for wet food). He also vomited up most/all of the FF he ate in the 2 hours prior with his shot. I was not home testing at that time and cannot confirm that he actually went into hypo but something was clearly wrong! I freaked out and put a dab of Karo on his gums and after eating a ridiculous amount of FF he settled down, stopped the meowing but clearly wanted to be left alone.
The next morning I awoke to him sleeping comfortably by my side--big sigh of relief. Prior to this diagnosis I never considered diabetes nor do I have any education about it. I have since tried to immerse myself with information, mostly from this site. I can't tell you how grateful I am that this resource is available and the effort and time that people are willing to devote to help others. I would truly be lost without the guidance I've received thus far.
I have been hugely disappointed with the information (more accurately lack of) provided by my current vet. I was basically told to start Lantus at 2 units twice daily and bring Smudges back in two weeks for a curve test. I was also instructed to buy a bottle of Karo and "rub some on his gums" if he exhibited signs of hypo without being told what hypo even is or what to watch for. I feel completely unprepared to deal with this! I've had several conversations with the vet clinic about this and they seem very nonchalant about it. The vet clearly did not like it when I suggested that 2 units of insulin twice daily may be too high if I'm also doing a food change to low carb wet. I was told that at BG 455, wet food could not possible make so much of a difference that 2 units would be too high to start with. I was also told that curve testing prior to 2 weeks after diagnosis would be too soon as a cat's body takes time to adjust to the insulin.
After reading info from this site and Smudges' "episode" on Friday, I am inclined to believe that 2 units may be too much to start. His current weight is 11.58 lbs. Yesterday evening I made the decision to reduce his dosage to 1 unit twice daily.
Here are some questions and please remember I am new to all of this and very freaked out by this whole experience. I do not like poking my kitty with needles--it causes me a lot of stress--but want to do what is best for him.
What is an appropriate dose of Lantus to start with?
Is decreasing to 1 unit (from 2) appropriate in this situation?
At what point do I increase/decrease that dose?
Do I keep my appointment this Friday to do a curve test if I am home testing? Just started today (see SS) but will only be able to do limited testing during the work week.
Is leaving a mix of low carb Evo/Hills C/D kibble during the day/overnight appropriate? He has always been a free feeder and I fear that switching to a 2-3 times daily feeding schedule may be too much for his system right now.
How low or high must his BG # be to be considered dangerous and require immediate intervention? What do I do if this happens?
How often is appropriate for BG testing right now? This is the 2nd week of insulin but just reduced to 1 unit yesterday.
Home testing is no fun for me or Smudges--neither one of us like it. I'm having difficulty poking the ear vein on the first try and little pools of blood are visible under the skin on both ears already. Is it okay to keep poking these areas? Do they get better or did I just hurt my kitty's ears? Can this be avoided? I tried testing the foot pad but could not get enough blood to come out to test.
I'm extremely nervous about going to work and leaving him all day tomorrow. I hope to do an AMPS and PMPS with at least 1 or 2 additional tests in the evening, if appropriate. What is recommended and for how long to I need to keep doing multiple tests daily? The thought of poking him so much is pretty hard to take right now.
Help, please!
After receiving diagnosis on 2/13/15, started 2 units of Lantus twice daily on 2/15. After 1 week at this dose and starting LC wet food diet, Smudges exhibited signs of hypo on Friday 2/20 evening (excessive meowing, discomfort/distress, very brief head quivering, and an extremely ravenous and sudden appetite for wet food). He also vomited up most/all of the FF he ate in the 2 hours prior with his shot. I was not home testing at that time and cannot confirm that he actually went into hypo but something was clearly wrong! I freaked out and put a dab of Karo on his gums and after eating a ridiculous amount of FF he settled down, stopped the meowing but clearly wanted to be left alone.
The next morning I awoke to him sleeping comfortably by my side--big sigh of relief. Prior to this diagnosis I never considered diabetes nor do I have any education about it. I have since tried to immerse myself with information, mostly from this site. I can't tell you how grateful I am that this resource is available and the effort and time that people are willing to devote to help others. I would truly be lost without the guidance I've received thus far.
I have been hugely disappointed with the information (more accurately lack of) provided by my current vet. I was basically told to start Lantus at 2 units twice daily and bring Smudges back in two weeks for a curve test. I was also instructed to buy a bottle of Karo and "rub some on his gums" if he exhibited signs of hypo without being told what hypo even is or what to watch for. I feel completely unprepared to deal with this! I've had several conversations with the vet clinic about this and they seem very nonchalant about it. The vet clearly did not like it when I suggested that 2 units of insulin twice daily may be too high if I'm also doing a food change to low carb wet. I was told that at BG 455, wet food could not possible make so much of a difference that 2 units would be too high to start with. I was also told that curve testing prior to 2 weeks after diagnosis would be too soon as a cat's body takes time to adjust to the insulin.
After reading info from this site and Smudges' "episode" on Friday, I am inclined to believe that 2 units may be too much to start. His current weight is 11.58 lbs. Yesterday evening I made the decision to reduce his dosage to 1 unit twice daily.
Here are some questions and please remember I am new to all of this and very freaked out by this whole experience. I do not like poking my kitty with needles--it causes me a lot of stress--but want to do what is best for him.
What is an appropriate dose of Lantus to start with?
Is decreasing to 1 unit (from 2) appropriate in this situation?
At what point do I increase/decrease that dose?
Do I keep my appointment this Friday to do a curve test if I am home testing? Just started today (see SS) but will only be able to do limited testing during the work week.
Is leaving a mix of low carb Evo/Hills C/D kibble during the day/overnight appropriate? He has always been a free feeder and I fear that switching to a 2-3 times daily feeding schedule may be too much for his system right now.
How low or high must his BG # be to be considered dangerous and require immediate intervention? What do I do if this happens?
How often is appropriate for BG testing right now? This is the 2nd week of insulin but just reduced to 1 unit yesterday.
Home testing is no fun for me or Smudges--neither one of us like it. I'm having difficulty poking the ear vein on the first try and little pools of blood are visible under the skin on both ears already. Is it okay to keep poking these areas? Do they get better or did I just hurt my kitty's ears? Can this be avoided? I tried testing the foot pad but could not get enough blood to come out to test.
I'm extremely nervous about going to work and leaving him all day tomorrow. I hope to do an AMPS and PMPS with at least 1 or 2 additional tests in the evening, if appropriate. What is recommended and for how long to I need to keep doing multiple tests daily? The thought of poking him so much is pretty hard to take right now.
Help, please!
Regarding increasing, here is what the protocol says. I've highlighted the bit that applies to Smudge.