2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172PMPS335+4=249

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
He's about where he was at his last check last night so I am thinking I should hold the dose today and see what happens. So he seems to be holding steady with pretty good numbers although higher now than this morning. Maybe he has finally cleared the bounce? I guess I need to get a +6 or +7?
Elise

Yesterday's results:
AMPS 343
+5 286
+7 246
PMPS 263
+4 168
 
Re: 2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172

So this is new for us. He is hanging in the high 100's now that he seems to have cleared the bounce from getting 1.5. So do I stick with 1.25 a little longer?

Elise
 
Re: 2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172PMPS335

WHAT IS GOING ON HERE? Four blues in a row and now way up. I don't get this at all. I was expecting something in the 100's.
This disease is crazy. Darn it!

Elise
 
Re: 2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172PMPS335Increase tomorrow?

Here's your last post: 2/20 Max

i think going back to 1.5u with his dose is a good idea.

i'm not sure how to explain his numbers. i'm puzzled a bit too, which is why i was asking about the hairball treats thinking they might be having an effect on the somewhat different cycles. today it looks like the insulin just didn't hold through the cycle. however, there are plenty of cycles that it does hold through, so it's not just that the insulin isn't lasting.

he was diagnosed in November, right? the ss starts in January - hold old is your insulin? i don't really think that's it because he got into the 40's just 4 days ago, so it looks effective to me, but i thought i'd ask. it helps if you put new insulin into the comments section of your ss when you do start a new pen or vial.

i wonder if he went lower last night and today was beginning a bounce. i wouldn't bother tonight now that he's high, but maybe the next time you get a blue in the pm cycle you could get another test later, just to see what he's doing in those early morning hours. Even a +11 might be revealing. Although when i see the 263 at pmps and a 168 at +4, that's not a very fast drop, so if it were me, i'd have gone to bed and not worried that he'd get low. i'm just thinking out loud here about what might be going on.

i'm trying to remember what your habits/techniques are in giving a shot. would you remind me, please? do you rotate locations or always shoot in the same general area? we know that absorption can vary as much as 50% - so that could be part of the picture.

if he's high again later this evening, i might think he was starting a bounce.

the bottom line is that he looked better on 1.5u, so maybe just increasing the dose will help overall. If you look at the cycles on 1.5u, he only had one pink number and overall he looked better. i think i'd try to give him more food around +4 to try to keep him from earning a reduction so that you can keep him at 1.5u a little longer this time.
 
Re: 2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172PMPS335Increase tomorrow?

Hi Julie. I have been rotating his insulin mostly in his side but sometimes belie the shoulders. Unfortunately I have not been keeping track of that. I will start now. Which is the best place keeping in mind Max has a lot of fur? I am using the same vial that I got on November 15th but like you said he dropped to green just a few days ago. I too wondered if he went lower last night but I've thought so before and been wrong. I thought it was interesting that from last night until tonight he was pretty steady and them back up before his shot. He ate right after his insulin this morning and again a little later but not for 2 hours before his other tests. I didn't give him any Vets Best today either. He is very hungry at 5-7 in the morning and then again at 1 in the afternoon and 6-7 at night. Indeed him again at 10 or 11. He eats all canned fancy feast pâté chicken, chicken/liver, or turkey. He eats about 2 1-2 cabs a day.

So should I test him at +5 tonight? If high and bouncing again do I still increase tomorrow? Where should I shoot?

This is so frustrating.

Thanks for the help.
 
Re: 2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172PMPS335Increase tomorrow?

i think i wouldn't worry about getting an extra late test tonight, just your usual before bed one. assuming he's still 300's, get your sleep. and i think if he's high in the morning go ahead and increase.

let's see how he does on the new dose.

the total volume of food is about what i fed punkin, who weighed 14ish lbs. i can't tell from those times what the + time is. Are you saying you fed him late in the cycle today? For some cats, feeding between +6 and the next shot can really make the next preshot higher. some cats graze and it doesn't seem to make a difference, but some cats are carb sensitive enough that it matters. i fed punkin at preshot and +3 and only gave him boiled chicken breast treats after pokes after +3.

You could try giving his food all in the first half of each cycle. The insulin is waning in the second half. maybe that would help.

i kinda think the bottom line is that he needs the additional insulin.

if you're consistent on where you shoot, and it's working for you, just stay with it. i know there can be significant absorption rate differences between the scruff and other areas, so i think it wouldn't be a great idea to switch back and forth between the scruff and the sides, for example. Since you're not doing that, keep on with what already works for you.

i can imagine it is frustrating. we'll just keep on til we get him there! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/21Max-AMPS173+4.5=187+6=172PMPS335Increase tomorrow?

That is interesting. Max seems to get really hungry between 5-7 in the morning when he can't eat as he gets insulin at 7. I have been feeding him at +6-7 after testing and again at +9-10. Maybe that is why his PMPS was high. Since pancreatitis I have been feeding 1/4 can at a time spread out throughout the day and night. He is used to eating when he wants. His after test treat is freeze dried chicken or turkey. Ill try to get him to eat less in the second 6 hours of the cycle to see if it helps. I will try anything to get this under control. Thanks Julie.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top