2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +53-88,+57-97, +60-112,+61-123

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda and Scooter & Jack

Member Since 2012
Hi Folks:

yesterday

So as I write we are entering +49 without insulin. I must say the hours are beginning to get hard to keep straight. :smile: Scooter is doing terrific this morning. In fact he seems to have more energy which is great to see. He goes up if he gets some food and then back down but his numbers have remained in the 100's. I called his Vet this morning but MN is pretty much snowed in so I left a message. I have her cell but I reserve using it for emergencies. With 13 kitties there are often emergencies. :-D

I think we have become the poster children for the damage dry kibble can do to a cat. I had no idea Scooter was getting into the kibble. In fact I was sure he wasn't getting any kibble. :roll: :lol:

I got a 3 hr nap after the game and then 8 hrs of uninterrupted sleep! :-D I learned that something happened on my way to 50 yrs old. I no longer have a stay up for days at a time gene. :lol:

I still need to tell you all how much support I felt from you all. This place is truly heaven for diabetic kitties and their beans. I am not just talking about the last couple of days but from the moment Scooter and I arrived in December. I felt like I was taking a university course in diabetes at times. The patience and tolerance you all have is humbling to me. Most of all I love that you all love cats too! :-D

So as I have learned here I need a plan. My plan so far is to not give him insulin unless his numbers change up. I know if they do he needs a new dose. His depot must be empty now so it would be like starting all over again. So my idea is to start him at .5U if I have to.
I am open to any ideas and suggestions you all have. My spreadsheet is up to date because some smart women suggested it over the whole 2 days. :RAHCAT

Again, I am humbled by all your kindness ladies. :YMHUG:

Thank You!

Linda
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136

Linda ---

As good as most of these numbers are and as much as I hate to say it, Scooter's numbers aren't typically what we would consider for a cat that's ready for an OTJ trial. I'd like to see lots more green. Take a look at Kim's Twice's SS as an example.

You'll also notice that we put a cat on an OTJ "trial" for a 2 week period to insure that the numbers stay in the normal range. Scooter has been kibble free for two days -- it's not enough time to be sure that his pancreas doesn't need any additional support from insulin. You're welcome to start an OTJ trial. I just don't want you to be caught off guard if Scooter still needs a little help.
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136

Morning Linda ~O) ~O) ~O) Glad to hear you got some catch up sleep yesterday.

As Sienne says, cats ready for OTJ normally show mostly green. We consider numbers above 120 to be above normal numbers. Scooter has made great progress, but the depot effects can be seen for 6 cycles, so there might still be a bit of it influencing the numbers. We don't want him to get much higher. Let's see how the numbers play out in the next bit but your idea of starting again a WAY smaller dose seems good if he does need to go back on insulin. There are even some kitties for which .25U is a good dose.

BTW: I've seen this FD dance referred to as a grad school level course. @-) This really is the best place you never wanted to be.
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136

...ladies and Peter
Just an FYI, it's actually Devon that's posting. I don't think I've ever seen Devon's DH, Peter, post. (It is confusing with her user name, though.) Clearly, Mocha is the cat!
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88

Well we are +52 and green. Scooter is really really happy today but is very food focused. He actually jumped up on the breakfast table to get at our food. Very unusual for him. I imagine he is looking for carbs. We are all adjusting. I have reminder alarms that go off to check his bg and when it goes off I smile because there is nothing to do.

Today is busy around here with snow removal. Most of the state is closed as it was a big dump even for us but there are a few who call in stuck so my phones are busy with rescuing them. :lol:

So I have no idea what to do with Scooter now. I don't want to give him any insulin at these numbers and go thru the last two days all over again. I am still recovering.

I just now noticed Scooter has diarrhea. :roll: I will keep watch. Could be the food change or something else.

Anyway still waiting for the Vet to call.

Linda
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88

I think it's a sound idea to start Scooter, when/if the time comes, on a low dose and follow the protocol. .5 unit might be where to start, but wait until whatever happens or seems to be happening before making a decision. For now, watch closely and don't let those numbers climb.
You and Scooter are doing great. It's remarkable to read how energetic he is. The kibble and all that insulin counteracting the kibble were holding him "on the mat" (as it were).

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88

Somebodies pancreas is seriously working. :cool: :cool: :cool: For the next few days, test at your normal PS time. If he is green, that's it for the testing that cycle. If he's blue, test a few hours after food and see if the pancreas brought down the numbers. You might want to try encouraging him to eat a few hours before your PS times to see if the pancreas can bring the numbers down in time for the PS test. Multiple smaller meals is easier on the healing pancreas. I think you said he's a grazer anyway. So for now, we watch, and you get more sleep. :-D Keep posting with the results each day and we can help you if it looks like he might need a little juice.

A change in food can cause diarrhea. I think you mentioned you have Fortiflora or some other probiotic around? Might want to add a bit of that to his food.

Yikes on the snow! It must be bad if it's causing problems there.
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88

Wow Linda. The removal of the dry food was really good for Scooter. His numbers are looking good.
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88

Nice going, Scooter. We don't need no stinkin' juice! :mrgreen:

I agree that the change in food is probably the culprit on the diarrhea. Probiotics are a good idea.

Keep up the good work, Linda, and enjoy that sleep! :-D
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88

Going for a nap now ! LOL

I gave Scooter a little snack and added fortiflora to it. I wonder if that has carbs in it? I just have the pouches and there aren't any numbers on it.

I can't believe how tired I am still! :lol:
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88,+56-97

Still green. I fed 9% carb by accident (didn't have my glasses on). I am so glad I have the really HC in another cupboard. I learned a lot from Rebekah and Ole's incident the other day with the R.

Anyway Scooter is almost like a different cat today. Lots and lots of energy, complaining to any human coming in the door that he needs carbs. My fedex driver even asked what's up with him. :lol:

Linda
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88,+56-97

If it's any easier than counting the hours until the last shot, you can always post the numbers as AMBG and PMBG with # days without insulin. For example, today is Day 2 - AMBG. Although, I think it's kind of cool seeing how many hours without insulin. :cool: :-D

Go Scooter!!!
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88,+56-97

well well well. SCOOTER! Way to go little buddy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

cat_pet_icon

can i say how thrilled i am? we all are. i would've guessed, as Sienne did, that he still might need insulin - but as we can see, Scooter is in charge here. i wouldn't shoot any insulin just yet either.

Keep posting please! i'm curious and probably others are too. we get attached to each other's kitties and gotta keep up on what's going on. The Scooter Show is pretty interesting! :lol:

Fortiflora should help with the diarrhea.
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88,+56-97

Wow, way to go Scooter! I hope that he continues to stay in the low blue/greens all by himself :mrgreen: . Woo hoo!
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +52-88,+56-97

Nice :mrgreen: !!! Concerning the diarrhea, I was thinking about it after reading your condo earlier, and when you consider all the food you gave him, all the syrup and gravy, is it any wonder his digestive system is revolting? Plus, remember moist food has a lot more liquid in it than his system is used to. I'll bet once he adjusts to the new food you'll see normal poos again.

Goooo, Scooter! :-D
 
Re: 2/21 Scooter AMBG 136 (+47), +53-88,+57-97, +60-112,+61-

OH Tricia I bet your right about the diarrhea and the karo and the food. Never even crossed my mind how much stuff he got that day. My focus was keeping him above 40. :lol:

Julie it is my intention to keep Scooter active here! I would miss you folks and your kitties too! :-D ;-)

Wendy it is kind of fun seeing the running numbers :lol: but this bean is having trouble with the numbering on my SS. Maybe Marje has an idea on how to change it. I don't know though I think it should be easier after one more night of sleep!

Thank you to everyone who posts all the encouragement it makes such a great difference in my life. :-D

I am so happy Blackie is okay today! :-D

Linda
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top