We have a food breakthrough! Regan just decided she'd rather eat the Friskies Turkey and Giblets pate than her beloved dry food! This will make the food issue so much easier to deal with - we can get rid of the dry completely.
It really is - I've been keeping it away from Rosa successfully, but of course I've been worried about Regan insisting on some dry food since Rosa was diagnosed in case I finished up with both of them having problems from it. Today, I offered her both at the same time - usually she goes for the bit of dry first and won't touch the wet food until she's done with it. Today, she piled into the wet food and left the dry completely alone!!
And of course now she won't get the chance to go back either - now I know she'll eat it happily, that's all she's getting from now on!!
Though one of our housemate's cats just came in, went to where the dry food usually is, sniffed the wet food and demanded to go into our housemate's room for the dry food he keeps there - I guess I can't fix all of them while he's making dry food and huge amounts of treats readily available.
Look at Rosa go! And you're doing a phenomenal job with her, April! You are shooting those green pre-shots like a pro! Congrats on Reagan's successful conversion. We had two civie dry food junkies when Eddie was first diagnosed. It took a few months, but they eventually decided that the wet food was acceptable - although one of them will still kill to get his paws on some crunchies if he's given the chance.
Thank you Somehow I've managed to get used to seeing the green pre-shots without even noticing I've done it! We had an 'interesting' conversation here last night when hubby asked me what her pre-shot had been and I told him 80 (and he'd already seen me give her the shot)!!
I'm sure Regan will still have her moments where she wants a little dry food, but I'll feel a bit more relaxed about maybe letting her have just one or two crunchy treats now and then now that she won't be getting dry food all the time. One of the biggest fears I've had since Rosa's diagnosis and finding out just how bad the dry food is has been that Regan will end up the same way as they're twins, so any genetic link would almost certainly be there. Now of course I'm hoping I got her off the dry food in time, but as she's shown no signs at all of any sort of illness in all her 11 years, I think we've got a good chance of her being just fine!