2/21 Ming 18 hour cycle

Can you wait another 15 minutes from the last test? Hopefully he will be over 50 and you can shoot.. provided your mom can monitor. At what + will you be home?
 
Ok while I was driving: my mom tested about 6 minutes ago and it was 49. He got a tsp of LC

I’m about to test him in 10 minutes.
 
I’m not on very often but there is extra momentum this morning as it appears Ming is breaking a bounce. With an 8.5u depot unless Ming sky rockets I'd be inclined to skip and reduce at PMPS. The other option would be to shoot at +18 (from PMPS last night) skip the PMPS and shoot on time tomorrow morning. I realize there is history of DKA but with that large of a depot and based on other times you have shot or given a NS in this situation, that's my 2 cents.
 
Also with stalling this long with only a little food that could be a factor. Next time only stall once or twice and if Ming doesn't come up give some LC so you're not so far off schedule and hopefully it will stop the "dropping". If Ming hadn't eaten in a while it's likely the numbers will continue to drop like they did this morning.
 
The 18 hour cycle isn't a bad idea if you want to go that way. But ideally, Ming will be above 50 when you test again so you can go ahead and shoot and work the shot times back to the normal times.
 
I’m not on very often but there is extra momentum this morning as it appears Ming is breaking a bounce. With an 8.5u depot unless Ming sky rockets I'd be inclined to skip and reduce at PMPS. The other option would be to shoot at +18 (from PMPS last night) skip the PMPS and shoot on time tomorrow morning. I realize there is history of DKA but with that large of a depot and based on other times you have shot or given a NS in this situation, that's my 2 cents.

I understand. I tried all those methods in the past but never tried shooting despite everything (going lower than 50, stalls). So I’m eager to try this. I also have the advantage of bringing him to work and being able to monitor closely for the next week and half.

But I’m always going to do what’s safest for Ming

Also with stalling this long with only a little food that could be a factor. Next time only stall once or twice and if Ming doesn't come up give some LC so you're not so far off schedule and hopefully it will stop the "dropping". If Ming hadn't eaten in a while it's likely the numbers will continue to drop like they did this morning.

Interesting. That’s my gut reaction: to feed despite dropping numbers. Perhaps we can try that next time if the circumstnaces works out
 
So I’m eager to try this. I also have the advantage of bringing him to work and being able to monitor closely for the next week and half.
As long as you're prepared to monitor and can be off schedule. I'm not on enough to realize you have this flexibility.

That’s my gut reaction: to feed despite dropping numbers. Perhaps we can try that next time if the circumstnaces works out
Exactly. As long as it's LC and you test enough. Just wanted to give you another option.
 
So you will shoot 8.5u tonight? Tonight as in his normal PMPS time or the 18 hour cycle?

Did anyone feed Ming during the PM cycle to encourage him to level out so he wouldn't drop so far?

Oh oops, yes I mean 18 hour cycle.

I need some time before I can sit down and fix my SS so I apologize for now because of how weird it looks.

We usually feed him at +6 to +7. I’ll double check with my mom. She’s driving so gotta wait.

Next time I’ll set up the automatic feeder so he gets something at +10 or some time later in the cycle.
 
And yes 8.5 units at +18 because we’re trying out the 3x under 50 reduction rule. We didn’t get under 40 this time.
 
My mom fed him at +5 but didn’t feed him at +3 which I usually do because he’ll ask for food. But I guess he didn’t ask for anything last night. We usually feed him whenever he asks unless it’s almost shot time.
 
My mom fed him at +5 but didn’t feed him at +3 which I usually do because he’ll ask for food. But I guess he didn’t ask for anything last night. We usually feed him whenever he asks unless it’s almost shot time.
That could be why he dropped so much. I think it's a good idea you are going to set up the autofeeder. The latest to feed should be +9. :)
 
@Giomax I’m glad you’re here to witness this haha! Hopefully this will prepare you somewhat if Max pulls any stunts. Ming’s done this a few times now and each time I still need lots of hand holding :oops:

Thanks everyone for the help :bighug: I’ll be testing Ming hourly unless he’s trending up or in safe numbers then I’ll sleep. I have one more night shift tonight and then I’m free until Tuesday night.
 
I see all the action is south of Vancouver this morning! :eek:

Good plan on the three times under 50 for reductions. It seems to be all or nothing for this boy. :rolleyes:
 
@Giomax I’m glad you’re here to witness this haha! Hopefully this will prepare you somewhat if Max pulls any stunts. Ming’s done this a few times now and each time I still need lots of hand holding :oops:

Thanks everyone for the help :bighug: I’ll be testing Ming hourly unless he’s trending up or in safe numbers then I’ll sleep. I have one more night shift tonight and then I’m free until Tuesday night.
Sad thing is if Max does this while I'm out I won't know it because I don't have anyone to look after him :arghh::arghh:
 
Sad thing is if Max does this while I'm out I won't know it because I don't have anyone to look after him :arghh::arghh:

I'm sure if this happens and you can't stay, another course of action will be recommended. Maybe feeding despite still dropping numbers and skipping the shot, etc. But I think doing SLGS was a good choice for you and Max :)

Ming is so spoiled to have a whole crew at his beck and call. I don't know what I would do without my mom and my sister being able to watch him when I can't.
 
Back
Top