? 2/21 Lila AMPS 502, +4 400

Amanda Wenger

Member Since 2020
Hello! Lila has been on 1U of Basaglar for a week now. I've tried really hard to be patient and let the depot build. She started off in a good place but her numbers are all over the place now and higher than I'd like. I have a feeling the pancreatitis isn't helping things - but she is acting so much better now that she is being treated for it and eating like a horse. Her ketones have been none/trace but her BG numbers aren't coming down like I think they would be if this was the right dose. Is it time for a dose increase or should I hold out longer at 1U?

Thank you!
Amanda
 
You test more than enough for TR and she's eating LC canned food. TR will help you be more aggressive with dosing and get her to a good dose faster. You can also keep her at a dose where she can spend more time in normal numbers.
 
Thank you for the reminder about the date!

I goes I chose SLGS since Lila has gone through so much change from foster home to hospital to vet clinic to me and I’m sure she is still stressed sage’s only been with me a short time. I didn’t want the stress cause me to make any knee-jerk changes to her dosing when her numbers may come down as she gets more comfortable with our family.

That being said, I am not opposed to trying tight regulation - I feel like that could help her pancreatitis and reduce her chances of repeat DKA.
 
Thank you for the reminder about the date!

I guess I chose SLGS since Lila has gone through so much change from foster home to hospital to vet clinic to me and I’m sure she is still stressed sage’s only been with me a short time. I didn’t want the stress cause me to make any knee-jerk changes to her dosing when her numbers may come down as she gets more comfortable with our family.

That being said, I am not opposed to trying tight regulation - I feel like that could help her pancreatitis and reduce her chances of repeat DKA.
 
Like Elise said, right now, with both protocols, she is due an increase to 1.25u. With TR, you would treat stock after 3 days on 1.25U.
 
Max had chronic pancreatitis before becoming diabetic and possibly is why he became diabetic. Since you have the Libre you won’t need to be doing a lot of poking. Take the .25 increase and evaluate in 3-5 days as to whether you want to switch. No rush. No pressure. All you wrote is true re dka and hopefully pancreatitis.
 
I have done 3 cycles on the 1.25 dose. I saw some movement the first cycle and maybe I need to give it more time but today she has been high all day with no real downward curve in her numbers. It's making me second guess myself - am I even injecting the insulin? But her fur isn't wet or anything that would indicate she's not getting the insulin. I'm just so confused by this.
 
She is bouncing from the low 200s she saw last night. In bounce cycles, numbers will be flat and high. Hang in there! :bighug:
You would hold this dose 6 cycles and then look at whether to increase. So let's do that in the AM of 2/24 :)
 
Just wanted to update everyone in case you haven’t seen on the FB page, Lila was hospitalized on 2/24 for DKA and dehydration. She fortunately made it through the ordeal and will be discharged tomorrow afternoon. They resumed her Basaglar yesterday and her dose will likely be 2U when she comes home. She will still have the Libre. I’ll be sure to post and update on her numbers.
 
Sorry to hear she was so sick but glad she’s on the mend. Make sure you have nausea medication and possibly sub-q fluids for home.
 
Back
Top