2/21 Leo PMPS 171, +2 202

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracy & Leo

Member Since 2011
our last condo

Good Morning LL,

Sigh.....Leo is still high, we are still searching for his magic breakthrough dose. My dad raised Leo's dose this morning to 4.50u. I am really worried about how high we might have to go, he shows blues on occasion and then bounces to high heaven for a few cycles afterwards. There are a million things going thru my mind when i think about him and insulin, but i'm trying not to stress myself out too much. Please tell me everything will be ok with my boy, and that i'm being a worrywart, i need some reminding today. Please send Leo some green vibes, we need all the help we can get.

I talked to Leo's grandpa yesterday, Leo is a very happy boy and other than these numbers is acting very normal. DGpa has been taking him on daily walks at least 2 kilometers a day! GO LEO! (Leo worries about not being able to fit into his speedo this summer) and Leo for the most part has been spending his entire day outside. I gave DGpa crap for not testing Leo more the other day when he was in blues and his answer was "i couldn't find him, he was outside ALL day". He comes in for a bite to eat and goes right back outside. That's my boy, on the hunt for mousies i suppose.

Work is going well, back to full duties and back to ski doing. Its been incredibly beautiful and very mild here, we are worried mother nature will make us pay for this gorgeous weather with some horribly cold weather. I've attached a picture i took on Saturday, we were sampling a creek that day and i took a few minutes to appreciate the scenery.....enjoy!
 

Attachments

  • Collins Creek.jpeg
    Collins Creek.jpeg
    95.4 KB · Views: 916
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Hi Tracy, before I forget, beautiful scenery pic of the creek. And as for Leo, sending some "please come down green vibes". Could he be getting into some contraband while he's outside hunting, by any chance! Maybe a neighbor's cat bowl sitting outside or something? It's great to hear how he's feeling so good and enjoying the outdoors. I bet soon he comes home with a gift for DGpa! :-D Have a nice day, Tracy, and try not to worry, easier said than done. Hugs.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Morning Tracy!

Hang in there - sometimes they just throw us these curve balls and all we can do is keep at it, keep following their lead, keep giving them what they need. I hope you will find that break though dose - it is there. All will be OK with your boy. I went through a phase like this with Mannie sometime ago. We were so full of reds and blacks back then, but he did get through it, did find the better numbers again. I know it will be the same with Leo. Leo: think :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

He sounds like he is one happy kitty kat - all that outdoor stuff and mousie hunting. Go Leo! Wow on the two KM walks - sheshhh - that is awesome! Mannie could use some of that. He will not fit into his speedo this summer.... :?

Your photo is wonderful!!! and so very very pretty. What a beautiful place. Does this mean you are back out in the field? Awesome if that is the case. YAY!
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Tracy, I see in Jan., Leo started having a lot of yellow preshot numbers and you changed to a new pen, but the numbers kept climbing. I wonder if that new pen was wonky from the beginning. Or maybe Michelle is on to something.

Beautiful pic! No wonder you were eager to get back to your outdoor position.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Thanks ladies for the words of encouragement, i really appreciate them.

Linda, we use vials and pens and i've always got a back up stash of both the pens and vials, we use them interchangeably to make sure whichever we are using is working properly. So at the moment at my parents place they have both a vial and a pen (both a couple weeks old) as well as a brand new never opened pen.

Ann, my parents live on an acreage with no neighbours around for a few kilometers, so no chance of Leo eating contraband!

Michelle, its good to hear that Mannie bounced back (in a good way) to better numbers, and thanks for being our cheerleader ;-)
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Leo, please stop worrying your MamabBean!

Yet another thought....have you tried a different meter? Maybe something is up with the one DGp has?

Beautiful picture - but it looks so cold...brrrrr! I defnitely prefer such scenery in photographs! Winter has been oddly mild here, too....

I hope you're enjoying being back on full duty - have a great day!

Amy
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

What a beautiful picture Tracy! You are a lucky person to get to do what you love and be outside in the fresh air.

I know you are very frustrated. Believe me. We went through the same exact thing with Tarragon after his DKA. I was soooo confused about whether he was getting too much insulin, not enough, what the heck was going on? I would cry many nights because I had no idea what was going on. Finally I bit the bullet and just kept raising the dose until he had a breakthrough. We went way higher than he had ever been before. Leo is feeling good and that is really all that matters. He will breakthrough in time. Just keep with it and know that you are doing everything you can. Hugs to you my dear friend.

Yay for Leo and his new workout. He will be looking good for the ladies this summer. :lol:

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

I also went through this with Blackie, too. I think we got up to 4.75u before we finally got a breakthrough. Just remember, though, every cat is different (ECID). What may work for one kitty may or may not work the same for another. I am wishing for him to break through you very soon. He'll tell you. :-D Just hang in there, ok? {{{{{HUGS}}}}}
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: We can all tell you things will get better, but they are words and it is so hard to believe them when staring at a SS. But just look at Leo, he is happy, active and still a mighty hunter! :-D The amount of insulin doesn't matter, it is the whole cat that matters.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Hi Tracy & Leo,

Tracy, that photo is fantastic. You can practically see that there may have been an aurora that evening, after that low sun went down. Was there?
I know how worrisome it is when nothing seems to be budging and the dose gets progressively higher. Rusty's dose had never been as high as Leo's as far as I know, but I worried about his rather small dose getting higher. When he came to live with us in Nov. 2010 his dose was 0.25, and I kept having to raise it (worrying all the time and also not raising it fast enough--I was in denial). Finally, last fall, when I bit the bullet and took him up to 2 units he hit his breakthrough and we started to go down the ladder. We are now at a "somewhat skinny" 1.5 and I will keep him there as long as possible before trying to reduce further. As everyone says, it's the whole cat that matters, not however many units you are shooting. Leo is happy and active.

Hope you're enjoying being back in the field. Have a great day!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

I'm starting to feel less stressed out! :-D LL is working its magic on me, now work some magic on Leo!!

Amy, i switched out the batteries on the meter last week and my dad has the exact same meter as Leo and we get pretty much the same numbers.

I guess this happens at one point or another with most kitties, it sounds like anyway, maybe i just haven't paid enough attention to notice dosages or stared at enough SS's. It really sucks but it does happen.

When we went to the vetty last week Dr. John told me he's not too worried that Leo's dose was over 4.0u, he said considering how big Leo is a 4.0 unit dose isn't that much. When i asked about acro he told me "now if Leo gets up to 10 units then i would start running some tests to try and figure out what's going on" I guess we'll just keep pluggin away and hope he decides to come down soon.

Ella, yes there were some amazing northern lights that night. I happened to wander outside after dark and they were amazing, i wished i could take pictures to try to capture them but they never show up on my camera.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

Yes, it does seem to happen to all of us! As you saw, Trix is suddenly going for some higher numbers, too. We are all so very lucky to have each other here in LL, for both emotional support,the amazing knowledge and generosity that helps us help our kitties!
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

Hi guys .. beautiful picture, thanks for sharing! No answers from me as to why leo might be this high .. I'm sure it is just FD and nothing more .. sometimes you have to go up, up and up before you can come back down .. Hang in there, leo sounds like all is well in his little world and these numbers don't mean anything to him :YMHUG: have a great day!
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427

how's the rest of him? is he grooming still?

you've gotten a ton of great ideas - i'm kinda surprised at how many possibilities there are for what might make his numbers higher.

any possibility he needs a dental?

and i agree, it's not about the size of the dose, it's about the numbers. i'd keep going up and do it aggressively. i've dinked around too long at doses, thinking the high numbers were bounces or ? i think it's more important to keep the numbers down.

it's nerve-wracking! sending you calming thoughts and leo "GET DOWN FROM THERE" vibes. :lol:
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427, +3 311, +7 155

Julie, yes he's grooming, that's one thing i look for all the time. When Leo is in plain ol high numbers he starts getting all dandruffy, and if he's bouncing he's still his handsome self. He's a very clean kitty, always grooming and bathing.

The last time i looked in his mouth i got some sense slapped into me, but as far as i could tell he's still got nice white teeth and no red inflammed gums.

Keep those green vibes comin' he's almost there!!!
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427, +3 311, +7 155

I love that +7! Hoping he'll surf nicely in those #s for you for the rest of the day, and hoping that his PMPS isn't as high as this morning's.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427, +3 311, +7 155, +9 140

WOOHOO LEO!! :-D Makin' your momma proud!

Just talked to DGpa, they were on their way to buy Leo strips, they had none left! nailbite_smile He told me he's cut back on Leo's fuds today, he said "i've had enough of these numbers so i cut back on his food and have been feeding him a teaspoon of food at a time" OMG how freaking long have i been trying to tell him he feeds Leo too much! DGpa said he had a very frank discussion with Leo this afternoon about not eating so much food, i said "is Leo going to listen to you?" :lol: He said "well he was looking at me and paying attention" :lol: I'm sure all Leo heard was "blah blah blah, food" I asked him what he's planning on doing if Leo is low-ish for his PMPS tonight, he says he's going to shoot the full dose and feed Leo MC or HC fuds if he needs to. Fingers crossed he doesn't bounce too hard tonight.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427, +3 311, +7 155, +9 140

Way to go Leo!!! Paws crossed here for no terrible b. Way to go DGP. Finally putting his foot down. Have a great night!
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427, +3 311, +7 155, +9 140

wonderful numbers!

leo decided to ease your mind himself :-D :-D :-D

regarding his Speedo...

cats-in-bikinis1.jpg
 
Re: 2/21 Leo AMPS 427, +3 311, +7 155, +9 140

Wow, what a turnaound for Leo! I just love the way Leo's DGpa cares for Leo. I'm sure Leo is listening and taking every word in from DGpa. :-D
 
Re: 2/21 Leo PMPS 171

I don't see any pattern to Leo's numbers. It's not like he's got better numbers when you're feeding him less food and his numbers rise when he's with DGP. It does sound like he's been to the vet so there are no underlying health issues.

Have you changed his food -- brand or variety -- any time around the beginning/middle of January? Or is there any chance the formulation in what you're feeding changed.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo PMPS 171

Sienne, nope no changes to his food, he's still eating FF, Friskies and Sophisticat just like he always has. I give him some Wellness and Merrick BG but he's not a huge fan of either food so he gets those a few times a week. From what i can tell is he is bouncing off blues, but i won't claim to know much about SS's and patterns.
 
Re: 2/21 Leo PMPS 171

Now that i think about it i ordered Leo a bunch of cases of FF beef & chicken and FF beef, its american food that we don't get here in Canada and its the only thing that's changed in Leo's diet in the last few months. He polished off the beef and chicken which he absolutely loves but we've still got some beef cans that he's been eating. Could it be that?
 
Re: 2/21 Leo PMPS 171

Much better Leo!!!

Fat Tuesday (aka Mardi Gras) is the day before Ash Wednesday where all us good Catholics party up before we give everything up until Easter. :lol: :lol: :lol: I just need to figure out what to give up now.

Hang in there Tracy! It will get better. Love you much!

Oh and just remember which Tupperware container you used. :-D I have a feeling it won't be the last time. We have one saved back that DH marked kitty pee with a sharpie. Your not the only crazy cat lady. :lol:
 
These crazy cats! I hope Leo gets a chance to visit with Teri this week and gets to share, maybe that will have an effect on his numbers. You may be on to something with the food. You may want to post a food? in your subject line to get more attention. Sometimes questions can get lost in a lengthy condo. Glad to see Leo is having some better numbers today! :razz:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top