2/21 Joe - PMBG 101, +25 84, +26 53

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92

Hi Mel

nice number this morning...this would be actually called an AMBG since there is no juice involved

Hope u have a good day, enjoy your Sunday, no worrying and stressing with no juice! :lol:
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104

Thanks Ronnie. I changed it.

A little higher than I'd like but definately not as stressful as the lows the last few nights!
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104

u grabbing the odd check in today?

May I recommend +3 or +4, +6 and/or +9...Joe's numbers were impressive with juice, and now without, should be interesting! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111

can you do this: feed him a small meal now, then test again in about 3 hours. We want to see if the number is lower or higher.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111

GAve 1/2 can lc. Ate about 1/4 then went to go watch the snow. Food is still out for him.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111

Just some random thoughts. I know we need to get something he can stick with for a few days.

Could the vet stress from yesterday and all the HC I gave him yesterday still be having an effect? Although he still went low last night. . .

Is 12 hours too early for his evening shot? In the morning we see a rise at +1. In the evening it's a fast drop. Although I have no idea what that would do for the time of his am shot.

Is it unheard of to have one shot per day?
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84

if you're around, can you please mark on your spreadsheet when in today's cycle Joe was fed? I assume you fed at AMPS and I know you fed at +6, any other times? Or does he free-feed?

One shot a day is a possibility. It is rare, but this would be the kind of time we might use it (a cat that is about to go OTJ). Let's see what his PMPS is and we can talk about it (or you can post a +11 if you want, to give us more time).
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84

There's always food available today I know he ate immediately following AMBG and after +6. Fairly certain he didn't eat for a couple hours prior to AMBG and hasn't had more than a bite since +6.

I'll get a +11. and pick up the food that's out now.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84 +11 97

hmmm, post your +12 when you get it. What are you thinking you would be comfortable with?
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84 +11 97

+12 101

As to what I'm comfortable with I think we may be changing things too quickly. He was getting scary low numbers so we had to bring the doseage down. But, the low numbers led to extra feedings and food he wouldn't normally get. Those curves are all messed up.

What would you normally do if you were reducing from let's say 1.0 to .75 instead of .10 to 0.0? Make the reduction and then wait a few days before raising it back up if the numbers don't turn out as expected?

I think that would be the best course of action here too. Skip the shot tonight, start noting feeding times, get some more realistic numbers and then consider going back up in a few days.

I know that means we could ultimately be on insulin longer but I think we'll have better information for making dosing decisions.

--edit--

Haven't fed yet.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84 +11 97

well, I think the drop last night was partly due to shed action from the 0.25 in the morning. It could be that 0.1 would be ok now without that behind it. My inclination would be to shoot the 0.1 tonight and in the morning (he doesn't drop as quickly in the mornings, for some reason). I'd like to try to support his pancreas a little longer.

However, when I was talking with Jill earlier she suggested if Joe was green tonight we could suggest that you skip tonight, and shoot 0.1 tomorrow if he's blue (and maybe consider trying SID - once a day dosing - after that). He's really close to green, so that sort of counts.

His numbers aren't quite looking like strong OTJ numbers at this point. He did bring himself down this afternoon, which was good. Maybe multiple small meals spread throughout the day would help keep those numbers down.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84 +11 97 +12 101

I do agree that he doesn't look like he's ready to completely stop and the shed action makes sense.

I'm going to skip tonight mostly because of the time. I'll get a couple more readings tonight and note feeding times. Then I can either start tomorrow morning or tomorrow evening. I'm thinking evening primarily because I'll be home to watch him but morning may be better because he's typically higher in the morning. . .

I'm also going to move his shot times up an hour. That will give me more time both in the morning and the evening to monitor him after the shots.

I've noticed he doesn't eat much during the day unless I put him in front of the food dish. When we're not home I don't think he eats at all. Do you have experience using a feeder with multiple cats? Do you have to get two feeders?
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - AMBG 92, +2.5 104 +6 111 +9 84 +11 97 +12 101

Mell -

Put a note in your subject line for feeder input. I don't use the 5 compartment type since I have only 2 cats and Gabby will shove Gizmo out of the way.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - PMBG 101, +1 84 - Input on automatic feeders?

Back down to 84 after eating.

We leave food out but it seems like both cats stop eating it after it's been out for awhile. An automatic feeder might let us leave fresh food midday. Just not sure how to handle 2 cats. We generally feed from 2 bowls.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - PMBG 101, +1 84 - Input on automatic feeders?

I had this same problem over a month ago with Luna especially,, it's not fresh, has been out too long, I dont want it

well, ya know what? cats can be trained. lol
I have been debating buying a feeder for months, especially for the early morning snacks and away from home feedings...
If I do get a feeder, it would be the Pet Safe 5...and I would have to buy two of them, these two dont share very well, but both have gotten use to eating leftover food, as long as it has some water to it to keep it moist for a few hours.
Since I dont have a feeder yet, I do the couple of bowls out.

If u consider 2 feeders, you can set one feeder for the odd hours, and the other for the even hours, kinda like leap frogging, u know?
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - PMBG 101, +1 84 - Input on automatic feeders?

hmmm 53 @ +2 with no insulin

Feeding again, he's asking for more food.
 
Re: 2/21 Joe - PMBG 101, +1 84, +2 53

ok, so I was wrong in suggesting that you shoot tonight. :lol: That's ok, that's something I don't mind being wrong about.

This is really his +26, not +2 (better to label it that way so it doesn't look like you shot). You don't need to worry about hypo, he hasn't had insulin in over 24 hours.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top