2/21 Jax- It wasn't the ProZinc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Active Member
Good Morning all! ~O)

Last night's cycle kept me up all night not because of what happened but because of what didn't happen.

As many of you know I recently switched my bottle of PZ (drama!) because the last few cycles were just going flat. His numbers didn't move when I raised the dose, reduced the food, etc so I thought the bottle had reached it's end. I was pretty convinced thinking that it had been left out of the fridge one too many times for too long a spell.

Fast forward... new vial. 1st cycles were wildly potent which resulted in hypo after hypo but that changed a bit yesterday.

For the 1st time the morning cycle stayed flat. It was odd and didn't make much sense. I gave him 1.2u and he rose on it then leveled out. Thinking the new vial was starting to reduce in potency after a week and a half (long story) I upped the dose to see some movement to 1.4u. This is a recap of last night:

PMPS 423
+2 326
+4 298
+6 310 1.oz snack given
+8 332
AMPS 325

No movement at all... Thinking it may be time to bring him into the vet for a curve, IDK. Any thoughts out there? Could not sleep fearful that his body is becoming resistant?

Thinking about going back to 1.2u this morning because I won't be home and I'm uncertain about this whole thing.
 
Sometimes the first cycle of a dose change can do that
his body needs time to adjust.
I have to look at your SS
BRB
 
BAck on 1.20 you raised the dose to 2.2 and you saw flat at first
and did not hypo until the 3rd cycle...
It seems Jax like to settle a bit into a dose
I understand your worry about not being home to watch
but I think the 1.4 would be safe and then you can test tonight...just my thoughts
It does seem that this vial is a bit more potent than the last so I do understand
your worries.
sometimes flat cycles mean more insulin
Hang in there! :mrgreen:
 
Thanks Denise, in this case I'm acting as if I never saw a flat cycle in my life. ;-)

Yes, I've been very unsettled since the hypo when I was at work. That was pretty terrifying since I wasn't in control of that situation (minor ? control freak here) and I think it now has me scrutinizing everything.

I need to...chill the blank out. :oops:
 
:lol: :lol:

Believe me I understand, I worry about that all the time too...
It is always better to raise on the weekend when you know you will be around for a
couple of cycles to make sure he settles into the new dose ok...
Hope you have a great day :mrgreen:
 
I hear ya on the worry Lisa. I am a pro at it. And once I start worrying it’s hard to stop.

I agree maybe Jax needs some time to settle in on a dose. We are kind of at the same point. I would like to settle in a dose, if I could just find one we like!!! :roll:

If you are going to be away all day and it makes you feel better, shoot the lower dose. Not worth you wringing your hands all day if you are worried about his safety.

As for the curve, can’t you do one at home over the weekend? Numbers would be more accurate b/c they’d be without stress on Jax. Just thinkin’ out loud.
 
I concur. Give him time to settle. Definitely do the curve at home and send the results to the vet. You want him to see accurate, not stress induced numbers, to consider.
 
Yes, NO curve at the vet-- do it at home! You will get more realistic BGs and you can take your money saved and go out to dinner---a NICE dinner!
 
I understand lisa. Patience. Agree don't go to the vet unless really needed, Too much stress on Jax.

I'm in the same boat too on the insulin. I think my new vial is not as strong either. So i'm having to go up some.

Hang in there!

lori
 
Thanks everyone for your input. PMPS was pretty ugly. 397. I just have to get more aggressive. It is so clear when Jax is in the 100's-low 200's. He is alert and up and about bullying Dooley around...these 300's and 400's are killing me. I noticed yesterday the urine output is increasing this has not happened since the DX. Not a good sign... and a significant amount of water is gone from the container today. If it were not for all of you, in this community, I really don't know what I would do. Who else can understand my worries and frustrations as well as unbridled joy at breakthroughs?

Thanks to all for weighing in. I really appreciate all of you.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top