Laura and Harley (GA)
Member Since 2011
Hi everyone, Harley and I are new to FDMB and I just introduced us in Health over the weekend. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=37170
We've been dosing 0.25u PZ since last Friday and his numbers have been all blue. I haven't had a chance to officially curve him yet (my vet said wait 3-5 days first for the dose to "take" but I work M-F so had planned to curve him this Saturday). I can't test much during the day due to working 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. but I do get a 1/2 hour lunch at Noon during which which I've been rushing home, testing him at +6, and then feeding him one of his 4 meals a day. So I have a couple of days worth of +6 numbers and then the evening numbers from last night.
Last night he gave a PMPS of 126 and like a dummy I shot the full 0.25u. At +2 he had already dropped to 110 and this after eating. So I cheated and gave him his dinner early to arrest the fall.
Tonight he gave me a PMPS of 116 after a +6 of 91 at Noon today. I don't want to repeat last night's mistake - please advise on what to do. I was thinking either 1) hold the shot and test to see if it goes up or 2) shoot a 0.10 as he has eaten dinner and will get 1 more meal tonight. I'm wondering if the dose of 0.25u is too high as the PMPS's seem mostly lower than the AMPS's.
Please advise, thank you!
Laura
We've been dosing 0.25u PZ since last Friday and his numbers have been all blue. I haven't had a chance to officially curve him yet (my vet said wait 3-5 days first for the dose to "take" but I work M-F so had planned to curve him this Saturday). I can't test much during the day due to working 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. but I do get a 1/2 hour lunch at Noon during which which I've been rushing home, testing him at +6, and then feeding him one of his 4 meals a day. So I have a couple of days worth of +6 numbers and then the evening numbers from last night.
Last night he gave a PMPS of 126 and like a dummy I shot the full 0.25u. At +2 he had already dropped to 110 and this after eating. So I cheated and gave him his dinner early to arrest the fall.
Tonight he gave me a PMPS of 116 after a +6 of 91 at Noon today. I don't want to repeat last night's mistake - please advise on what to do. I was thinking either 1) hold the shot and test to see if it goes up or 2) shoot a 0.10 as he has eaten dinner and will get 1 more meal tonight. I'm wondering if the dose of 0.25u is too high as the PMPS's seem mostly lower than the AMPS's.
Please advise, thank you!
Laura
