2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Status
Not open for further replies.

Laura and Harley (GA)

Very Active Member
Hi everyone, Harley and I are new to FDMB and I just introduced us in Health over the weekend. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=37170

We've been dosing 0.25u PZ since last Friday and his numbers have been all blue. I haven't had a chance to officially curve him yet (my vet said wait 3-5 days first for the dose to "take" but I work M-F so had planned to curve him this Saturday). I can't test much during the day due to working 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. but I do get a 1/2 hour lunch at Noon during which which I've been rushing home, testing him at +6, and then feeding him one of his 4 meals a day. So I have a couple of days worth of +6 numbers and then the evening numbers from last night.

Last night he gave a PMPS of 126 and like a dummy I shot the full 0.25u. At +2 he had already dropped to 110 and this after eating. So I cheated and gave him his dinner early to arrest the fall.

Tonight he gave me a PMPS of 116 after a +6 of 91 at Noon today. I don't want to repeat last night's mistake - please advise on what to do. I was thinking either 1) hold the shot and test to see if it goes up or 2) shoot a 0.10 as he has eaten dinner and will get 1 more meal tonight. I'm wondering if the dose of 0.25u is too high as the PMPS's seem mostly lower than the AMPS's.

Please advise, thank you!

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Hi Laura --
Looks to me like Harley wants to go OTJ (off the juice aka insulin)

these are some very nice BG numbers on a low dose of insulin.

most of us do curves on weekends / non-work days. On work days, we only test before shots and maybe at bed time

It is possible that the 0.25u is a bit too much -- it is hard to measure less consistently though.

Some practice using water with food color in it -- drawing up a small amount - say 0.25u and then dripping out tiny drips to get to a lower dose
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Phoebe_Tiggy_NortonGA said:
Hi Laura --
Looks to me like Harley wants to go OTJ (off the juice aka insulin)

these are some very nice BG numbers on a low dose of insulin.

most of us do curves on weekends / non-work days. On work days, we only test before shots and maybe at bed time

It is possible that the 0.25u is a bit too much -- it is hard to measure less consistently though.

Some practice using water with food color in it -- drawing up a small amount - say 0.25u and then dripping out tiny drips to get to a lower dose

Hi Phoebe & Co.

Thanks for being close at hand, er, I mean, at paw. :)

With these lovely blue numbers, I sure hope he will be OTJ. It's hard trying to train that pesky liver to do what we want it to do though...

I have the U100 syringes so measuring a lower dose shouldn't be an issue as long as I get out a magnifying glass!

Going to go get a +13 and report back.

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

+ 13 is 148, and this is also about 45 min. after food. Boy he sure likes to spike.

Now I'm thinking that 0.10u is a good idea.

Thoughts?

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

hi Laura,

I think your 0.10 sounds good. Agree he seems to be looking to be OTJ. Will you be around to test tonight?
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Hi Sue, Yes, I'll stay up and test tonight shot or no shot. Do you think I should attempt the 0.10u tonight? Or skip tonight, test to see what he does, and try at 0.10u tomorrow AM?

Thanks,

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

I am a big believer for going with your gut. What feels best? The low dose or skipping?

Also, I would be feeding him several small meals a day, and having food available overnight. Food will really support his pancreas as it is healing.
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

My gut says try 0.10u but then I don't want to take any unnecessary risks like I did last night either. <sheepish>

He currently eats 4 x a day: 6 am, Noon, 6 pm and between 9-10 pm. I shoudl proabbly make that last meal later at night. Of all those meals he's a natural grazer, seldom eating a whole meal at once which is why when he does I take notice. I leave his food bowl atop a high dresser that he can get to and my civie Princess a.k.a. Hoover, can't get to. So I know it's him eating and not her.

I guess I'll draw up the 0.10u (not more than a drop really) and get ready to shoot at +14.

Will you be around tonight?

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Yes, I should be around. But you can always go over to Health if you see numbers that scare you.

There tend to be more people there more often.

But if this feels too scary, don't do it. Give him a literal drop of insulin.
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Thanks Sue! I feel better after talking it over with someone who is experienced. Wondering if my rationale is logical or not. Hopefully he won't go too low as he has food in him now and he still has another meal to go.

If things get scary I'll post in Health.

Thanks for the paw-holding!

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Lots of us free feed. We leave the wet food out at all times, sometimes leaving some frozen food that slowly defrosts (to be fresh later). My cat always regulated herself by eating when her BG dropped.
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

That's exactly what Harley has been doing naturally during the whole time he was OTJ. And I think that's what has protected him during the time I was shooting 1u bid blind. Our fur babies are so smart!

In the spirit of better late than never, Judy, I'm so sorry for the loss of dear Squamee. It is never easy when one of our beloved kitties crosses the Rainbow bridge. May the many happy memories you have of her soften the pain until you see each other again.
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Hi & welcome!!!! Bet he is making all the other kitties jealous with those awesome #s and low dose, LOL. Very nice to see, I am sure he will do great!
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Thanks Joanna! Wow, your Bix looks like he could have been brother to my boy.

I feel sheepish, the drama of a 0.25 versus a 0.10. LOL
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Just wanted to stop by and say hi to you and Harley. Looks like my kitty Max and Harley were diagnosed around the same time in January. I am a total novice on what do on dosing and don't know what I would have done without FDMB. The advice and encouragement I received has made all the difference. Looks like Harley is already giving you some good numbers...yeah!
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

I checked your spreadsheet and looks like you are still in the nice safe 100s at +3. It looks like a good dose you decided on tonight. I'm off to bed- will check in on you in the am.
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

+ 3 = 115, I HAD to feed snack as Harley was dumping all the cans of food out of the cupboard. (His signal to feed their Royal Highnesses already!)
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

Sue and Oliver said:
I checked your spreadsheet and looks like you are still in the nice safe 100s at +6. It looks like a good dose you decided on tonight. I'm off to bed- will check in on you in the am.

Thanks Sue!!! For all your encouragement & help. I think he has one more test in him tonight - maybe.

Purrs,

Laura
 
Re: PLEASE HELP 2/21 Harley PMPS 116, 0.25u bid

hollyall said:
Just wanted to stop by and say hi to you and Harley. Looks like my kitty Max and Harley were diagnosed around the same time in January. I am a total novice on what do on dosing and don't know what I would have done without FDMB. The advice and encouragement I received has made all the difference. Looks like Harley is already giving you some good numbers...yeah!

Hi Holly & Max - Thanks for the welcome! Wow, Max has some great looking numbers too - and no juice in about 5 days. YEAH!! Praying it continues for him and he's OTJ for good.

This community is so amazing - I can only hope to be in a position someday to be able to give back too.

Laura
 
He does look a lot like Bixie, doesn't he? Bix had that little white tuft on his chest too, looks like almost in the same spot (unless that's a tag in the picture, can't quite tell). Cutie pie :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top