2/21 Eddie AMPS 77, +5/67, PMPS/93, +5/76

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 2/7 Condo

Recap from the last couple days:

2/17: AMPS/91, +2/65, +3/83, +6/88, +9/109, PMPS/79, +2/70, +3/74, +4/69, +5/72, +6/61, +8/98, +9/92
2/18: AMPS/104, +4.5/88, +6.5/109, +8/71, PMPS/89, +1/82, +2/60, +3/66, +4/84, +6/89, +7/108, +8/99, +9/105
2/19: AMPS/139, +4.5/90, +7/89, +11/76, PMPS/84, +1/99, +2/112, +3/95, +5/93, +6/88, +7/100, +9/99, +10/95
2/20: AMPS/87, +2/80, +3/90, +7/96, +10/111, +11/112, PMPS/64, +1/112, +2/93, +3/83, +4/83, +6/84, +9/94, +10/106
TODAY: AMPS/77, +1/91, +2/84, +3/78, +5/67, +6/72, +9/72, +11/91, PMPS/93, +2/98, +3/94, +5/76, +6/79, +8/89

Happy Caturday LL!!

How the heck did two weeks go by since the last time I posted an Eddie condo?! :oops:

Eddie's been doing really good the last two weeks. Last time I posted, we had decided to raise his dose back up to 0.375 as I thought it looked like his pre-shots were trending up a bit. After that, his numbers looked pretty much the same, until about a week ago, when Eddie decided that green pre-shots were more fun than blue pre-shots. :D In the last week, we've shot some of the lowest pre-shots we've had in months, and he's surfing like a pro! In the last week, he's had three stray numbers in the 130's but has been otherwise been in numbers below 120, and mostly below 100. There's a definite improvement in his pre-shots, and he's lower overall. I'm pleased as punch. :D I'm holding out hope that he may just earn a reduction yet for normal numbers for a week. Looking back 6 months ago, I would never have thought that would be possible with Eddie.

In addition to the green pre-shots lately, Eddie's got some other interesting stuff going on in his cycles. He's having peaks mid-cycle rather than at pre-shot. I speculate that it's 1) double-dipping, 2) his late cycle snack is really doing a good job in bringing him down, or 3) a little inverse. Since this dose is working magic on his pre-shots, I have no intention of doing anything different for the time being. :D

Eddie's also feeling great! Today, for example, we went cat food shopping and picked up a new cat bed/toy bin and several toys, including a Yeowww!Catnip Pumpkin, made by the same company as the bananas. Eddie sniffed it, rubbed it, then grabbed it, sat back on his haunches, holding the pumpkin in his two front paws, and set to trying to rip it apart. He was snorting he was so worked up! He then blasted around the apartment for a while and ambushed some of the civies. He's been having at least one good blast-around every day. :joyful:We still have yet to get his dental scheduled, but aiming to do that in the next week or two.

I'm slowly but surely starting to feel better post-surgery. About a week and a half out, I was feeling pretty miserable, but things are getting better. I started back at work a few hours a day last Tuesday, and am intending to return to half-time hours this Monday. Eddie's loving having me home. We get lots of snuggles in every day. :joyful::cat:

OT, I'm wondering if anyone has ever put together a database of OTJ cats with links to their spreadsheets? I know I've studied hundreds of SS's during our time here, and I'll go through the list of OTJ kitties and just search for their names. If this hasn't been done, I'm kind of tempted to do that, including not just LL kitties, but any other kitties that I can find...

Prayers and vines for all those in need. Sending special wishes and green vines for Angela and Blackie! :D Happy Caturday everyone!
 
Last edited:
What a wonderful Eddie report! I'm so happy for you Sounds like all your hard work is paying off big time. What company makes those toys? Maybe I can find one that Max will enjoy and get him moving a little. I hope your recovery continues to go well.
 
Hi Elise! Thanks for stopping in!

I forgot to add to Eddie's condo that we started a new pen from Marks Marine this morning. It took seven days for our order to arrive, but our management office didn't alert us to its arrival until the morning after it arrived, so it sat overnight unrefrigerated, unfortunately. The ice pack was melted, but the insulin was still cool. I'm not overly worried about it, but a little annoyed at our management office for not alerting us sooner. That's an ongoing issue with management at our complex....

The toys are made by Ducky World. I think you can find them at most pet supply retailers. All their catnip toys are branded Yeowww! We have dozens of bananas, cigars, rainbows, hearts, fishes, and now a pumpkin. Their catnip is extra potent, and the cats all absolutely go nuts for both their toys and their catnip.
 
Those yeowww toys are great. Love the visual of Eddie with the pumpkin. Punkin loved their nanners. Anya chews one end til it's green with catnip juice and looks kinda moldy. Hahaha
 
Anya chews one end til it's green with catnip juice and looks kinda moldy

Hahah! Yep, we've got lots of greenish bananas around here, too. Blueberry had a stretch where he'd go around and gather up all the bananas and put them in a pile. One of our civies likes to gnaw on them till he's worked a hole into them to get at the catnip, so we regularly find empty banana "peels" surrounded by a pile of catnip. Hahah!
 
Thanks Jen. It took 10 days for me to get the insulin from Marks. The ice was no longer cold. I started using the first pen last week and it is just fine.
 
Look at Mr. Eddie - all decked out in his finest green clothes. :D Good to hear you are feeling better Jen.

Neko's partial to the Cosmic Catnip toys - she really likes the carrot cause there are feathers on top. :)

Were you looking for anything particular in the OTJ kitty SS? Just wondering if my memory could help shorten the list of who to look for.
 
Hi Wendy! Thanks for stopping by. :bighug:

If you ever get the chance, I'd love to see a video of Neko nomming on her nanners. I almost got a video of Eddie with his pumpkin, but wasn't quite fast enough.

On the OTJ kitties - at this point, I think I've studied every OTJ kitty on the LL list - some several times over - but I do occasionally revisit them and see new interesting things. I'm always on the lookout for kitties whose patterns resemble Eddie's. But, currently, I'm not really looking for anything in particular...just thinking that it could be helpful for data-hungry (obsessed?) folks like myself to be able to locate relevant spreadsheets if the list of kitties and links to their SS's were in one centralized location. :) I like making lists, so might be a spare-time project I might decide to do. :)

I was sort of pondering this today with Blackie starting her OTJ trial....I wonder how many kitties that have been on the juice for over a year have subsequently gone off? I can think of a handful off the top of my head. One thing that I've always had mixed feelings about is the 6 month reference for getting on TR as increasing the chances of remission. On the one hand, I think for new beans, it's absolutely critical to stress that remission is much more likely if TR is started within 6 months of diagnosis. However, I think it can be really disheartening (I know it was for myself), for caregivers whose kitties hit that 6 month mark, and then the year mark...and feeling like that window is closing. I know for me, after about 6 months, seeing kitties go off the juice after more than a year helped brighten my spirits sometimes when I was feeling disheartened. Might be a nice morale boost to be able to have a list of long-termers that have gone off the juice. :)
 
I always think the harder-won the OTJ is, the more everyone celebrates. It's awesome that new members can sometimes get their cats off in a couple of weeks, but we all know how much work it can take to get a cat regulated, and it's a Very Big Deal in my world (and I know I'm not the only one!) when one of those longer-term kitties goes off.

Here are a few - pretty much everyone that i can find that was on for about a year or more:
Tina's Rocky took about 11 months
Amy's Trixie took 3 years - sometimes an illness shocks the pancreas back into gear, which was what happened with her
Jill's Charlie took 15 months
Tena's Curry was on the juice for about 1 year
Sandy's BK was about 16 months
Kathy's Kitty was on for 15 months
 
I always think the harder-won the OTJ is, the more everyone celebrates. It's awesome that new members can sometimes get their cats off in a couple of weeks, but we all know how much work it can take to get a cat regulated, and it's a Very Big Deal in my world (and I know I'm not the only one!) when one of those longer-term kitties goes off.

Yes. I totally agree! Thanks for looking these kitties up! I've got Mocha's SS pulled up. LOL! I've kept that SS up as inspiration and for study for a long time. I don't think Devon's posted since the board switch. I hope things are going OK for them.
 
I have a link to an old list that Jill gave me in our early days. Here's the condo where she posted it, see post #16. And here is the link. It's quite out of date now. I don't think it has any kitties after 2012. There used to be something called "Roll Call", where the list was updated with contact info in case it was needed. But the person who maintained that hasn't been around for a number of years.
 
Thank you for that link for the roll call, Wendy! Seems like it would be incredibly time consuming to do a new roll call, but it would be really cool that have that info. Seems like the new board for some reason limits the number of search results, so it's a little tougher to dig out really old stuff. It's also too bad there isn't some version of the "old" board floating around out there.

I was just looking at Libby's Lucy's SS a few days ago. Thanks for the link! :D
 
Thanks Wendy! I meant the REALLY old board, LOL. I think the search function on the more recent "old" board may dig a little deeper than the current board.
 
I always think the harder-won the OTJ is, the more everyone celebrates. It's awesome that new members can sometimes get their cats off in a couple of weeks, but we all know how much work it can take to get a cat regulated, and it's a Very Big Deal in my world (and I know I'm not the only one!) when one of those longer-term kitties goes off.

Here are a few - pretty much everyone that i can find that was on for about a year or more:
Tina's Rocky took about 11 months
Amy's Trixie took 3 years - sometimes an illness shocks the pancreas back into gear, which was what happened with her
Jill's Charlie took 15 months
Tena's Curry was on the juice for about 1 year
Sandy's BK was about 16 months
Kathy's Kitty was on for 15 months


I wanted to point out that Trix is a very non-traditional OTJ kitty. As Julie said, a nasty bout with pancreatitis is what threw her into remission. Because of the p-titis, we abruptly stopped shooting (she wasn't eating, and her BGs were steadily green - shooting would have been too dangerous), rather than tapering down and doing a formal trial the way we really prefer to see an OTJ kitty get there. Once she started recovering from the p-titis, she really kept up the OTJ thing - however, again, in her own style. If you look at her SS, you'll see I still test her regularly, and that's because her "PS" numbers are always up there, yet after she eats, her pancreas really kicks in and brings her down into the normal range. She's had some pretty impressive dives without the use of "outside" insulin! Jill has commented that she thinks Trix is bouncing off her own insulin, and that her OTJ status remains intact. Even though she is OTJ, I continue to test her because of the bouncing, just to be sure her pancreas is still working after eating. It's unusual for sure, but Trix is proof that anything is possible.
 
Look at all those gorgeous numbers :D go Eddie :D I'm sorry you missed getting a video with the new pumpkin toy, sounds like he was really going for it, I love seeing kitties going nuts, but hearing about it is almost as good :joyful:
Very glad to hear you're coming good, most unfortunate that means getting back to tbp though!
I'm a compulsive spreadsheet studier too, I think it's a great idea to have a database of the OTJ spreadsheets for study purposes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top