2/21 Doodles AMPS 259 +2 323 +5 263 +8.5 253 PMPS 250 +5 258

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doodles & Karen

Member Since 2015
Doodles 2/20 Increased to 3u last night so lets see if he does anything with this doseo_O All P's in place but minimal playing. He does do bird watching and was supervising the contractors building the shop out back. For a scardy cat he was pretty entertained by the heavy machines and workers.

DH plans to drag me out on the bikes this afternoon for lunch. It's going to be another 86 degree day. Of course if Doodles decides to work the juice that will change but unfortunately I don't see it happening today.

Hope everyone enjoys their Sunday and the kitties are all doing well.
 
Maybe you should tell Doodles to stay high today since you have plans - sometimes, a little reverse psychology can work wonders and this might just be the day where he decides to slide down. :cat:
 
So when he eats does he chow down or does he get to free feed throughout the day?
He's a slow eater but has been doing good at finishing his food with toppers. This morning at AMPS he ate 2oz plus some stella & chewy's and I just gave him another 1oz at +2. The poor guy won't eat on his own. I leave civie Moo's unfinished wet food out and he doesn't go near it...just waits for me to feed him.
 
Some cats just like to have their food presented by the bean :cat:. Rusty is the same way. Whatever it takes! I'm heading downstairs right now to hold the bowl for him. :p

Have a good day, Karen. Enjoy your bike ride. I wish our road conditions were good enough so that I could ride my bike in the winter. As it is, I have to make do with the bike on a wind-trainer in the basement.

Ella & Rusty
 
Hi Karen,
This is where my brother took Farrah and they were wonderful-no pushy vaccine tactics--I think they examine on the floor no tables -(pretty sure they a a combo of conventional and holistic medicine--I would ask)
I hope it may be helpful. I know it may be a distance for you but may be worth a call. If too far maybe they can recommend someone in your area?

http://www.benardavet.com
 
BTW - to add insult to injury our plumbing is backed up in the whole house. We had the house built 1.5 yrs ago and nothing but septic/ plumbing problems. DH is really not happy.
 
Some of us have been talking about Doodles . . . Sandy (&BK) brought up a question about the Stella and Chewy's. The timing of him getting what looks like it might be a significant amount of S & C's seems to be about the same time his BGs and dose started to rise significantly. Have you noticed that? Do you think he would eat without that? What do you think about trying to cut back or eliminate that? Is Doodles getting the cat food or the freeze dried meats?

While cats are "supposed" to not have increased blood sugar with just meat, which in theory is 0% carb, I've heard more than one story about a cat's BGs rising with them just eating plain cooked chicken.

If you do want to try to change the food, make the change gradually so if it is the cause of his higher #s, you don't end up with him heading for hypo numbers upon withdrawing the S & C's.

Somewhere there is an answer here to what's going on with Doodles, so let's just keep looking.

Have you tried all of the other "tricks" to get him eating?

And by the way, no one experienced is going to give you a hard time about feeding dry food. Everyone gets it that cats can be finicky and you have to keep them eating. His BGs were better on the YA than on the S & C's. People will always suggest to newbies to get the cat off of dry food if possible, but if you've tried and can't, then it's fine - just move on.
 
Stella and Chewy's
@Wendy&Neko and a few others also made this observation. He's so finicky and this was the first "approved" food he actually goes nuts for. For a few days that's about all he ate but once this happened we started cutting back and only using it as a topper when he stops eating the wet at the end of his meals. It's the freeze dried S &C that you add water to. I can continue to drop it back and have been using Orijen freeze Wild Boar treats as toppers instead at some meals. Historically when I used pure bites or other freeze dried treats as toppers or a treat it actually made him vomit.

I have tried every trick in the book since May, have bought every brand, every flavor etc. Fortiflora was a big break through at one time but now he won't touch it. We'll keep plugging along and appreciate you taking the time to look it over.
 
"""Karen""
I know your getting tons of info --sorry but here is another suggestion-

As you know Drevon was very difficult to get to eat for a long time-I was force feeding often.
He has turned the corner and is eating pretty well (anti jinx) for a while now-

I have been giving him Herbsmith Microflora 2x a day (I open the capsule and mix 1/2 capsule in baby food or something he likes) I syringe (about 1cc in a 3 cc syringe) it in his mouth quickly because the enzymes work quickly and the food "melts"- which in turn helps his food digest much easier.
it has a pre and pro biotic enzymes and herbs to soothe the tummy (ginger etc)
Drevon pretty much always wants to eat shortly after getting these 2 things.
He gets standard process pancreatrophin just before the Herbsmith-(I just break that is 4 pieces he gets 1/4 2x a day
I know it sounds like a lot but he is eating and he is pooping.....it literally takes me 10 minutes to give this -feed and shoot
he also gets stella and chewys for his "mid" snack and he will not eat it if I add water....he loves the dog beef the best!
:bighug:
 
Hi Karen,
This is where my brother took Farrah and they were wonderful-no pushy vaccine tactics--I think they examine on the floor no tables -(pretty sure they a a combo of conventional and holistic medicine--I would ask)
I hope it may be helpful. I know it may be a distance for you but may be worth a call. If too far maybe they can recommend someone in your area?

http://www.benardavet.com
I know of both these vets. Dr. Daroowalla is very highly thought of around here in the holistic community.

But heck....if you are going to drive to Tucson, you might want to see my Dr. B. She does nutrition response testing. She is the only vet that was able to successfully diagnose and treat Gracie’s sterile interstitial cystitis when she was a young un before FD. And she did not use allopathic medicines either. I wish I’d found her oh so much sooner. And she’s very cool about FD; thinks the board is awesome.

I've never been so happy to see yellow in my entire life lol.
Boy have I ever been there. Let’s all keep praying for blue. You can do it, Doodles.

I hope you got that bike ride. Gorgeous day today.
 
Come on Doodles- Hope you find your groove here! And also hope you had a great ride today- sounds like so much fun!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top