2/21 DAVIDSON +4 55 +4.5 48 +5 51 + 5.5 67

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shawna & Davidson (GA)

Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=114121

Well sort of got some sleep last night as the last test at 2:30am, was 80 however at 4:30 I was wide awake and ran downstairs to do a test and looked at my notes and realized he was safe and not dropping and then thought - oh, no wonder my alarm wasn't set - I didn't have to test, yet woke yup anyway. So, now I'm tired as no choice at this time to wake up as it's breakfast time and my guys are not about to change their schedule after 11 yrs.

Day 6 of low numbers so let's see what today brings.......

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 53 +3 58 +5 80

Looks like Davidson likes to earn his reductions the long, slow way, giving you a week of nice low normal numbers.

Do you need to borrow another pair of patience pants? What color?

Yes, kitties do like their routines and once you're up, you might as well feed them, the little beggars. :lol:
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 53 +3 58 +5 80

Hi Deb..........pink is my colour so keep it consistent just like Davidson's numbers.

QUESTION: do I reduce it on the 7th day at the pmps since this is when the initial reduction was made on Feb 15?

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51

HAHA........Can't get any closer to that "50" and Davidson is not in a hurry for anything!! Guess we see what today brings, and maybe - just maybe he'll hit 50 before Sat. reduction..........
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

YES!! Davidson just did a +3 42 - yippee...........reduction tonight!!

QUESTION: Should I monitor him each hour until I see the BG increase??

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42

Give him a little higher carb food, and test again in 1/2 hour - you don't want him lingering in the 40's. Keep testing every half hour until he's comfortably higher.

Congrats on the reduction the slightly faster way. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42 +3.5 65

+6 77 ............wondering how he would have tested if I didn't give him the HC food? Instead tested in 20-30 min to see where he was at then give HC food if needed?? Won't test again until the pmps to give his ear a rest and then do the 2.25u that he earned today

YEAH!!! Canada beat the USA in mens hockey............

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42 +3.5 65

Some people just have to give a little higher LC (8-9%) or medium carb instead of high carb when kitty is low. If Davidson gives you another chance, you can experiment. It's very much every cat is different when it comes to how carb sensitive they are. I'd still stick to HC food if he ever gives you a number in the 30's. We really don't want them there any length of time.

Great game. :cool:
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42 +3.5 65

Wasn't sure if you wanted a pair of green patience pants, to go along with Davidsons BG numbers.

Pink it is.

And some pink combat boots to kick it down in.
 

Attachments

  • pink panther pants.jpg
    pink panther pants.jpg
    2.7 KB · Views: 1,125
  • pink boots small.jpg
    pink boots small.jpg
    6.8 KB · Views: 1,126
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42 +3.5 65

haha........LOVE THE PINK........what about a shirt. I know it's legal to go topless in Ontario but that's not my style.

I guess the ideal number we want to hold at is around the 45-50 mark before getting to panicky and will have to look at the list for some MC food........I have so much food here that I am sure I can find some.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42 +3.5 65

WOOT! Davidson wasn't interested in waiting til Saturday, apparently. He gets 2.25u tonight. way to go, little guy! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON AMPS 51 +3 42 +3.5 65

PMPS 77

Same numbers as +6 and will be interesting to see how he does in the next few days with this new reduced dose. He doesn't usually drop that much in the night but will test before bed.

Guess we start our 7 day countdown again...........

Thanks for your encouragement..........must have worked!

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 HELP PLEASE

OH OH.......

Davidson's PMPS was 77, gave him the shot with the reduction at 2.25u and fed as usual..............just did a +2 - 49 which is low again.

Do I now reduce again tomorrow for the AMS another .25u as this was his first test after the reduction and he is under 50.

Also, gave him 2 tsp of HC food to spike it a bit as before I was asked to do this at +3 after AMS.

How often should I test - guess I may be up tonight and just when I thought I could get some sleep.

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 HELP PLEASE

decide about the dose in the morning, but this is most likely left-over depot action from the previous dose. however, given that he's shown us he's on a mission, you might need to go to plan B in the morning.

for right now, you did just right. test him every half hour. don't plan to go to bed anytime soon - this is pretty early in the cycle.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 HELP PLEASE

Thanks Julie..........best run out to the store to buy some PJ's since I don't own any and last time I did this I got cold having a party without the PJ's..........LOL. Yup - just like the Canadian's at the Olympics......on a mission. Best go turn the tv on and see who's going for gold other then Davidson.

If he starts to go up, guess I can then get some sleep.......boy, he's lucky I wuv him.

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 HELP PLEASE

do you feel comfortable handling the low numbers? or do you wane me to check in with you every 1/2 hr?

For tomorrow morning, you might want to consider doing a token dose, say 1/2 the usual, to let the depot drain a little bit. it depends on what happens tonight, if you're home in the morning and can monitor and have supplies, etc.

here's the post with the whole scoop on how to do this dance:

DON'T PANIC! or HOW TO HANDLE LOW NUMBERS

First, try to not panic. Post to the Lantus Insulin Support Group or on the Health Board. Make sure your subject line indicates you are concerned about a possible hypo and/or add the 911 icon to the first post in your condo. People who are experienced in dealing with low numbers will be there to help. After posting, remember to refresh your browser periodically to see if people have replied.

It’s important to recognize that just because your cat may be experiencing low BG numbers doesn’t mean that your kitty is critically hypoglycemic. Many cats will have low numbers and never have symptoms. It’s important, though, to bring those numbers up into a safe range. ALWAYS make sure you have a stock of test strips, high carb (HC) canned food that contains gravy and is over 15% carb such as Fancy Feast grilled, marinated, or Gravy Lovers varieties (see Dr. Lisa's Cat Food Nutritional Composition List for a full list of options), and/or a simple sugar solution such as Karo/corn syrup, honey, maple syrup, etc.

If your cat is experiencing symptoms, especially if those symptoms are severe, you need to rub Karo syrup, honey, or maple syrup on the gums or, if symptoms are very severe, administer rectally and get your cat to the nearest 24-hour emergency facility. Take the bottle of syrup with you to administer on the way if necessary. (Note that it is rare that we see episodes of symptomatic hypoglycemia with Lantus and even rarer to see severe symptoms. But, you need to know what to do should they occur.)

The symptoms to be concerned about include but are not limited to:
staggering, uncoordinated movements, 'drunken' walk, wobbling, balance problems
ataxia - usually lack of muscular coordination, but maybe changes in head and neck movements
disorientation (yowling, walking in circles, etc.)
twitching
stupor
convulsions or seizures
coma
If your cat is testing in low numbers and you are not getting a quick response to your post, there are several things you need to do. (Low numbers are under 50mg/dL or 2.8 mmol/L.)

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.

In the case of an accidental overdose or should there be symptoms of hypoglycemia, even if you have caught this in the early stages, you may need to monitor for literally 16 or more hours. Lantus and Levemir are long acting types of insulin. This means if your cat is over dose, you will need to stay alert for hours in order to closely monitor and to keep your cat safe.

Please post your numbers. Those people who are helping you will not abandon you. In fact, they are staying up with you. The experienced people will even work in shifts to make sure your cat is safe and you have the support you need. Remember to refresh your browser to see new posts and keep posting so we know all is well.

~ written by Sienne and Gabby
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 HELP PLEASE

+ 2.5 - 55

seems like the food gave him a spike. I'm good with low numbers and testing. He is running around with Harley playing and both are wrestling and he'snot showing any signs of anything other then his normal self. I have all the supplies and just need to know a few things........

- how often should I test? assume until he gets back into safe numbers
- when it is safe for me to go to sleep - after how many tests
- come morning how will I know to give him a dose - and by doing a half the usual do you mean half of the 2.25 dose I just gave him - so it would be 1.12u?

Thanks
Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 HELP PLEASE

i think these low numbers tonight are the last dose talking. so i suspect you would be ok shooting the 2.25u in the morning if you're going to be home and feel up to dealing with the low numbers if they come.

however, if tonight is difficult and long, i'm just saying you have the option of giving a small dose of a unit or so, just to keep some insulin in there, while you wait for the depot to drain some so you're not fighting low numbers cycle after cycle.

it looks like he mostly nadirs before +5ish. you should look at his ss and see if that's what you think too. You want him to be past his normal nadir and holding his blood sugar up on his own without you needing to give carbs. the guidelines below are good:

Depending on how carbohydrate sensitive your cat is, feed approximately a teaspoon or less of gravy from high carb food or high carb food only.
(If you have a cat with GI issues, using a couple of drops of syrup plus low carb food is an alternative.)
Test again in 15 – 20 min. Depending on the numbers, give more HC food.
Repeat the above steps every 15 – 20 min. until your cat tests in the 50 mg/dL (2.8 mmol/L) or above range for 2 consecutive tests. Continue to feed in small amounts to keep numbers in a safe range.
Test in 30 - 40 min. and repeat the test and feed process until there are 2 consecutive tests where numbers are stable or rising.
Test in an hour and follow the same steps.
DO NOT become complacent. If number have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 HELP PLEASE

almost forgot - please update your subject line with every test. it makes it easier for people to see if you need help or if you are doing fine.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 HELP PLEASE

+3 59 ...........seems to be rising nicely, has not been given HC food since + 2

I'm always home as don't work much since sort of retired, and Davidson comes first (along with Harley) so I'm here. Is it normal to have to empty the depot? I've been good up to now and see no problem with anything as long as I get the explanations so I can educate myself.

yes - he is always lowest around +5 on average for nadir which will be 02:30am here (ouch) but for some reason his nadir is during the day and at night he seems higher for his nadir, not sure why.

If it's best to give him the 2.25u tomorrow at AMS then I will and can monitor him all day with HC food or whatever has to be done..........in the same manner if half the dose is better then I can do that.

Just let me know what the best procedure is for the next 9 hrs and consider it done. I am good with the testing every 20-30 min and checking, that's easy..........just wondering more about which dose to give.

** assuming he stabilizes at +5 then I will get some sleep and up again at +9 to retest.

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

i'm trying to say that i would decide on the am dose based upon how tonight goes.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

Question for dose tomorrow.........

He got a reduction tonight PMS to now be 2.25u and then at +2 he was at 49.........so does that mean tomorrow morning the dose is 2.0 u??? If he has earned another reduction right away is it normal to reduce again so quickly after having one shot? He has insulin in his depot with if combines with a lower dose is almost the same as giving him too much, so a reduction would sound right as then when combined with the depot would work out to be a higher dose.........make sense?

Not clear on whether or not he gets another reduction for tomorrow since he posted <50 at +2 after his new reduction.

Thanks

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

Julie.......understand what you are saying but how am I to know what to give him in the morning? If his BG stays for example 50-60 as it has been over night then what do you suggest the dose be? See my post above as still unclear if all is in the normal range if he still has earned the reduction to now be 2.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

usually when low numbers happen like tonight, right after a dose reduction, we would not reduce again in the next shot. the 2.50 dose will still affect numbers for a few cycles. Back to back reductions often backfire, because the newly reduced dose (to 2.25) isn't too much. It's the 2.50 dose that is too much and it's still working on his body for a bit longer.

so you would call 2.25u his dose for a while.

We'll call that Plan A.

Now if Davidson has neglected to read our Plan A, and his pancreas has kicked on, he may need less than that. It's hard to know - when you go down the dosing scale, sometimes it's by inches and sometimes it's by yards. or meters, for our Canadian friends. ;-) We have to watch what he does and make Plan B's if necessary. I can't tell you exactly what that would be tonight.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

if he skates along tonight in the 60-100 or more range like he has been, and you're home tomorrow like usual, i'd give him 2.25 in the morning.

it looks like that's what he's going to do. you're not giving him carbs with all these tests, right, just the 49?
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

Shawna - we wouldn't normally take another reduction so soon after another one, unless Davidson decides to be difficult tonight and visit the 30's. As Julie mentioned, this is likely the depot from his old dose still hanging around. It can take a couple of days for the old depot to completely drain. So, unless Davidson goes even lower tonight, stick to tonight's dose as dose in the morning, to help speed up reducing the depot of the old dose. If you do chose to do a smaller dose tomorrow morning, you'd go back to 2.25 tomorrow night.

If you aren't sure by the morning what to do, take a +11 or +11.5 test and post asking for help. It's hard to predict at his point of the cycle what he'll do for the rest of it, so we can't give you an answer now what to do in the morning.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON PMPS 77 +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 HELP PLEASE

THANKS...........fully understand now.

+ 3.5 55

No - only gave the HC food with the + 2 49

HOWEVER, maybe it wasn't HC food as just been reading the food chart and the food I gave is only 13% carbs (FF chicken feast in gravy)

I do have on hand some LC food by Fancy Feast which is all 6/7/8 % carbs, then Merrick 96% salmon which is 2%2, some Hills w/d 25% carb which is what the old vet gave me..........so maybe I'm giving him the MC food??

1
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 +3.55

13% carb food would be considered medium carb. Good to know it can do the job if Davidson is in the 40's. Save the 25% carb in case he ever gets into the 30's.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 +3.5 55

Good idea............just tore labels off each of the food types I have (FF and Friskies) and looked up the carb % from the list and wrote it on the label, taped the labels to the cabinet door so now I know which food has the ideal carb % when I need it............
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 +3.5 55

it's great that he's just come up a bit and is surfing. that's ideal.

if you aren't sure what to do in the morning, Wendy's suggestion to get a +11 or so and post for help in the morning is a good one.
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON +2 49 +2.5 55 + 3 59 +3.5 55

okay, I will also get a +9, +10 as well since I'm up and here........

update: +4 55

Davidson seems to be surfing,,,,,,,,,,,do you think it's okay to sleep a bit or continue testing every 30 min? or 1 hr?

He's happy and playing with Harley as must be on a dried chicken treat high from all the test. Harley thinks it's great too, since each time I shake the test strip container they both come running as know they get treats. Very funny!

Thanks Wendy and Julie...........appreciate your help!

Shawna
 
Re: 2/21 DAVIDSON +3.5 55 +4 55 +4.5 48

Geesh.........no sleep tonight

+4.5 48
+5 51

time for some MC food again - should I switch and use some higher carb food or keep on the same MC food?

Shawna
 
+ 5.5 67

finally raising a bit...........boring olympics with repeats of today........will test again in 30 min and see if he is still higher then will get some sleep. haha, I'll be up before 6am as I always am no matter what time I go to bed.

Thanks

Shawna
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top