2/21 Choco +3 52, +4 66, +5 70, + 6 66, +8.5 71, +10.5 95

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/21 Choco amps 63 HELP

Couple questions:

Have you fed yet? If not, don't we want to see if the number is rising.

If you haven't shot yet...then the 63 is not your AMPS it is a +12.

Can you stall?

Will you be around later at +1, +2, etc. to test if you do shoot later...

You do have the option to skip this shot...
 
Re: 2/21 Choco amps 63 HELP

Hi Blue,

I have not fed him yet. I tested him the first time and it said 65. I thought maybe it tested wrong and then it was 63.

I will be around today because I am off from work but don't want to get too far off of schedule because I have to stay on a 6am and 6pm program. I'm gonna go test again. Thank you for responding and I will change by subject.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63 HELP

We've got an ice storm going on here and my lights just started flickering. If you lose me it is due to a power outage. I linked the low preshot guideline just in case.

Don't feed. And let's see which way the numbers are going. Good job on retesting to check for a wonky number.

Looking at your SS you're new to lantus and unless someone else with more dosing experience comes along...I would tend to tell you to skip the shot. Your other option would be to shoot a BCS at a reduced dose of 0.25 to 0.5u. since you will be home to monitor.

But lets see which way the numbers are headed first.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63 HELP

It has gone up to +12.5 82 so I think I'm ok. His normal numbers when I test him in the morning have been closer to the mid 100's so 63 kinda freaked me out. I will test him again at 12.75. Thanks again Blue.

Ah...I found your post! It looks like you are on the rise. Very good. If he is in numbers your comfortable with go ahead and shoot.


BUT BE SURE TO GET A +1, +2. It looks like you are getting a very nice response on the lantus.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82 HELP

He seems to be going up so I will check him again at 12.75. I don't want to get too off schedule because I have to get back to testing him at 6am and 6pm due to my work schedule. I'm worried about not giving him any at all because he was just in DKA a couple weeks ago. This is just so stressful. Thanks again for your help Blue. Hope the ice storm doesn't get too bad.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97

Well, shooting late is like shooting a reduced dose.

It looks like you are rising and if the +13 is above 100 how would you feel about shooting at that number? I don't want to delay too long either at this point, because you want to catch the overlap on the insulin. That's how lantus should work.

Plus you are going to be home to monitor him today...


BUT BE SURE TO GET A +1, +2. It looks like you are getting a very nice response on the lantus.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97

I went ahead and shot him at +13 with 1 unit because he had gotten up to 101. My normal routine is to test at 6am/6pm, feed and by the time he gets his shot, it is usually around +.5 so at this point, he is about 45min. behind his normal shot. Not sure how that is going to work into tonights routine. I had to deal with something like this a week or so ago so I'm going to go searching for what we did then. I also am not sure how I was supposed to note this on my ss so if you get a minute, could you take a look at it and tell me what I did wrong. Thank you!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97

Right there with you, this morning, Maria. :) Choco is looking great! If Choco is above 100 at +13, I'd go ahead and shoot because you will be around to test today. You're doing great... hang in there!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97

marleesan71 said:
I went ahead and shot him at +13 with 1 unit because he had gotten up to 101. My normal routine is to test at 6am/6pm, feed and by the time he gets his shot, it is usually around +.5 so at this point, he is about 45min. behind his normal shot. Not sure how that is going to work into tonights routine. I had to deal with something like this a week or so ago so I'm going to go searching for what we did then. I also am not sure how I was supposed to note this on my ss so if you get a minute, could you take a look at it and tell me what I did wrong. Thank you!


You are doing great and you now have some great data for the next time. I would have shot the regular dose, but we all have to do what our experience and guts tell us. Shooting late is like shooting a reduced dose. To get back on schedule you will need to shoot only 15-30 minutes earlier. Shooting too early is like a dose increase, so it will take several cycles to get back on schedule.

On your spreadsheet the 101 is your AMPS and the delay can be noted over in the comments section or in the +11 block separated by commas.

You did great this morning! :-D
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97, amps 101

Mornimg Maria. You know the drill, get a +1, and see where he is headed. Mimi meals. You are doing great. Choco seems to be continuing his mission. He has great numbers. Did he have food overnight?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97, amps 101

Looking at the ss and seeing the last time I shot at +13, I ended up shooting at +11.5 for his pmps. I gotta say, the way this Lantus works is like algebra in my head, it just doesn't click. ;O/ Morning Barbara, he did eat early this morning (after 1am) but he didn't have anything a couple hours prior to his testing.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97, amps, 101, +1 12

Good suggestions from Beth (Blue). I agree that when you saw the rising numbers, you would have been safe to shoot the full dose, especially since you were going to be home. If you were leaving for work, I might have been more conservative. Providing there are no big surprises, you can shoot a half an hour early this evening to get back on schedule.

The other thing to keep in mind is that given Choco's history of DKA, you want to do whatever you can to avoid skipping a shot.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +12 63, +12.5 82, +12.75 97, amps, 101, +1 12

Good morning guys .. good advice going on here in this condo but just wanted to add that choco is looking very nice in these numbers .. I hope it continues! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco amps, 101, +1 122, +2 81, +3 74, +4 58, +6 73

Sienne, I should have thought about it a little more and being that I was going to be here, I could have shot his normal dose. I was just really freaked out by his number this morning so I'll use that as my excuse for not thinking straight. ;O/ I will plan on shooting him at +11.5 and I will definitely try my best to not ever skip a shot. My job is pretty flexible and my boss is really great so if another one of these episodes comes up, I should be able to stall a little. Do you know why his numbers might have dropped so low when they had been staying in the mid 100's for his amps? Thanks!

Hi Mocha! Thanks for stopping by and checking on Choco. I hope you are having a great day!!!

Thanks again Blue (Beth:)!!!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco amps, 101, +1 122, +2 81, +3 74, +4 58, +6 73

I would guess his pancreas is healing and you may be getting some action from it. It's a good thing
 
Re: 2/21 Choco amps, 101, +1 122, +2 81, +3 74, +4 58, +6 73

That does sound like a good thing Dian. So, the pancreas stops producing insulin for whatever reason and the cat becomes diabetic. Then they are put on insulin and their pancreas (sometimes) heals to where it starts producing insulin and they can go OTJ? It seems so strange to me. I've always thought that once you were a diabetic, you were like that the rest of your life. Is it different in people? I know my Grandma was a diabetic and I just remember her always testing and shooting herself. I appreciate everyone here so much because if it weren't for you all, I'm not really sure how Choco would be doing today. My vet was going to put him on 2 units of Prozinc and that's what I would have been giving him not knowing anything about what his numbers should be and reducing etc. My vet is a good vet but there is just so much more to this disease and it alarms me that a lot of people give there kitties two shots a day and do no more. I have a co-worker who has a diabetic cat and that's what he does. I think he's interested in testing now that I've talked to him. I also had a kitty a couple years ago diagnosed with diabetes among other things that ultimately took him to Rainbow Bridge in a short time so I never really got that involved in learing about it. At that time, Honey Boy was on PZI twice a day. No testing, just a certain dose and that was it. Even though a tumor and surgery is what took his life, I now think back and wish I had known about this group. Knoweledge is power and there is so much knowledge here. Thank you all so much!!!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +1 122, +2 81, +3 74, +4 58, +6 73, +7 80

a cats pancreas has the ability to heal itself where as humans do not. dunno why,. just they way it is. the key to a chance of getting OTJ is the right insulin, right food, testing, and starting treatment in a timely manner, and last but most importantly, listening to a bunch of people you do not even know.
wheezer went OTJ1 time and flurted a few more times. ended up with some very bad teeth, no insulin (long story there) and have not been able to get him OTJ for 2 years now.
I think you are doing a fantastic job of stepping up and doing what needs to be done
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +1 122, +2 81, +3 74, +4 58, +6 73, +7 80, +8

Thanks Celi. :O)

That is interesting isn't it? Intersting and awesome that cats can heal themselves. Looks like Choco is really sticking to his numbers these past two hours. I think it's time for a snack. Thanks for the schooling Dian. :O)
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83

Choco had his shot this morning at +13 because his numbers were so low. I'm supposed to get his pmps +11.5 to get back on schedule for when I go back to work tomorrow. His numbers are still low and I need to know if I should still give him his full dose of 1.25 since I will be here to watch him tonight or do the 1 unit. I'm not sure if the dose I shoot him tonight will affect him tomorrow when I'm not here to watch him so I'm trying to be super careful. Thanks!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

I'm thinking I should feed him and shoot 1unit. Aaaah, this is so stressful. Anybody?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

but Im also wondering if he's gonna drop a bit more, so with that, I would suggest a retest in 15min IF you can spare another stall...
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

He's at 85. I can't stall any longer. I'm gonna shoot 1 unit. Is that ok?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

If you can get another test 15 minutes. Yes, I would go with 1u. He did not earn a dosecrease but you may be up all night otherwise. Sound good?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

Okay, I cannot believe what I just did!!!!!!!!!! I pulled 1.25 in case that is what was needed and forgot to push the .25 out before I just shot him. I guess I AM going to be up all night. I am freaking out!!!
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

Don't get upset. Get a +1, see what it is. You have HC? You can use it early in the cycle to try and keep him up. Maybe he will earn a reduction tonight. LOL We'll be watching.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

yea, that's ok, I like Barbara's suggestion, a bit of HC on board to slow the diving - if any, hopefully not too much diving.
ditto to the +1
you got enough supplies and fuds?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

relax and breath. you know what to do. test and feed as needed. happens to all of us. My foster was down to .1u and the other was at 2 u. yep. mixed up the shots. was a long night indeed.
you will be OK
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

marleesan71 said:
Okay, I cannot believe what I just did!!!!!!!!!! I pulled 1.25 in case that is what was needed and forgot to push the .25 out before I just shot him. I guess I AM going to be up all night. I am freaking out!!!


Don't freak out. You are doing great!!! He hadn't earned the reduction yet.

But we will award you some BOS!

The lantus is working exactly like it should! Staying green and staying fairly flat. You are shooting the overlap...Congratulations!

We'll see you at the plus one reading.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83 HE

Barbara, why are you laughing at me? :lol: :lol: :lol: Oh my gosh, all I was thinking after I shot him and realized what I had just done was, I just killed my cat!!! Well, if we can make it through the night, I'm actually still on schedule. Good thing I bought a Red Bull shot today. :-D Geeeeeeeeeeezzzzzz. Oh, I do have HC food, do you think I should give him some now or wait?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83

no HC food now.. just test and see what happens and when and IF you need to feed, remember it is small amounts and mostly gravy part first.
you will do fine
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83

Okay, gotcha. Thanks guys. Whoopsie, got to be more careful. :lol:
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83

i SEE IT WAS SUGGESTED TO FEED SOME hc NOW. i HAVE NEVER DONE IT THIS EARLY IN CYCLE BUT i SUPPOSE IT IS YOUR CALL sorry for caps and too lazy to type over
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83

I'm actually glad you shot the 1.25u. What you were probably seeing today was some shed action from last night's shot. Reducing a dose doesn't always effect the present cycle. It can take one, or sometimes even 2 cycles for a change in dose (either increase or decrease) to take effect.

So, deep breath. You didn't hurt Choco. You would have had to shoot a lot more insulin to cause a major league hypo. (Ask Nicole/Baby about her first day here -- or look at Baby's SS. THAT was a long night.)
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +9 83, +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +11.5 83

Well that makes me feel better Sienne. :O) He was doing so good staying pretty consistent with his numbers and then this morning he just messed me all up. ;O/
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +PMPS (11.5) 83, +

Sienne, I forgot to ask you if this will affect him negatively tomorrow while I'm at work. Should I be worried he might drop too low? Also, if he is in the low numbers like he was this morning, I plan to shoot only 1 unit but want to run that by you and see what you think.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, +PMPS (11.5) 83, +

First, don't get ahead of yourself. The only reason I say that is that you have to remember that we're dealing with cats. Whatever plans you make, Choco will read his condo and do something to befuddle you.

Shooting a BCS dose is fine on occasion. What you don't want to do is get into a pattern of shooting different doses in the morning and evening. It will end up making a mess of Choco's shed. The more consistent you can be with dose, the better. If we're seeing that numbers are uncomfortably low for you, we can reconsider overall dose -- for example, shooting a skinny 1.25 (i.e., a dose between 1.0 and 1.25u) at AM and PM. However, there is the added complication of Choco being ketone prone. It may be more prudent to shoot the 1.25u and leave MC/HC for him in the morning. These are possibilities. We take it one shot at a time. Let's see how Choco does. He did great last night when you shot the full dose. I realize it can be counterintuitive, but often when you're starting at lower numbers, the curve stays flat vs. numbers dropping.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, PMPS (11.5) 83, +1

Thank you Natalia. :O) I goofed tonight but that'll teach me to not panic and be more careful. I'm gald Enana is ok. Any chance she would fall asleep on some plastic wrap? Just thought it might be easier to syringe the mystery liquid that way.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco +10 86, +11 82, +11.25 88, PMPS (11.5) 83, +1

I understand what your saying Sienne. I just have a limited amount of time in the morning and am trying to be somewhat prepared in case there is nobody around to help me in my time of panic. :O) Are you saying that it would be okay to shoot 1.25 if he tests around 63 again but leave out HC food?
 
Re: 2/21 Choco PMPS (11.5) 83, +1 87, +2 52, +3 52

Fed a little HC food at +2 and will feed a little more now that he is still the same at +3.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco PMPS (11.5) 83, +1 87, +2 52, +3 52

At a 63, it's probably not a good idea to shoot and leave the house. You've not shot that low before. Right now, you're accumulating experience with shooting lower numbers -- and look at how pretty Choco's SS looks!! A lot depends on how much time you have before you need to leave. If you have a couple of hours, then you will know where the cycle is going. If you don't have much time, it's more difficult.

Also, the 101 at AMPS should be blue -- not green -- on your SS.
 
Re: 2/21 Choco PMPS (11.5) 83, +1 87, +2 52, +3 52

Thanks for catching that. I changed it to blue. That's the whole problem, I don't have much time in the morning. I guess I'll just have to see how it goes and hope for the best. Thanks for your help once again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top