? 2/21 Binx AMPS 65, +1 92

Briana + Binx

Member Since 2024
Last post

Happy Friday All!

I don't post everyday and I've been putting this off because I didn't want to jinx Binx's progress, but after two nice cycles yesterday, I thought it was time.

We had two back to back reductions last weekend (the first of which I was kicking myself for not being home sooner to test). Now, he's been sitting relatively pretty at 3.00 units. I'm truly so surprised after how bouncy he would be. That being said, I still can't figure out his nadir... they seem to be somewhere around +10 - PS, which is a bit stressful.

I'm also new to flatter numbers, so I'm still worried when his PS number is in the 50/60/70's and I have the desire to test him constantly, but most days I work full time in office and I know this post talks about some great tips for doing that with TR. Wondering how other members deal with low PS? Probably a difficult question and one that ultimately requires knowing your cat.

Hope everyone has a lovely day! Safe surfing! :bighug:
 
Last post

I'm also new to flatter numbers, so I'm still worried when his PS number is in the 50/60/70's and I have the desire to test him constantly, but most days I work full time in office and I know this post talks about some great tips for doing that with TR. Wondering how other members deal with low PS? Probably a difficult question and one that ultimately requires knowing your cat.

Hi Briana, You're going to get some experts weighing in on this question that will truly offer solid advice, but I just came to say that I can relate to your concerns (and my response will bump up your question--and you might want to put your question mark flag up to get some others weighing in). I work full time outside the home, and I can tell you what I do when I get lower PS numbers: I take Jude to work with me :confused: Not ideal and not everyone can do that, and unfortunately it's not really working for us any longer because Jude refuses to eat in my office (I assume it's stress), so I can't really carb manipulate him in the office if he continues to slide down from his lower PS number rather than go flat. So, it's a problem that we've yet to work out. The good news for you is that Binx is responding consistently well to the insulin and remaining flat through the cycle, which is great (Jude isn't quite in that boat). My GUESS is that you're correct when you say it ultimately requires knowing your cat, and you're getting some great data as you test which is showing you some consistency in his response, and you're knowing how he is managing those lower numbers. I'm ALWAYS nervous shooting greens. It helps me to study other's spreadsheets--they give me confidence (even though ECID, there is some consistency among insulin responses). Congratulations (ANTI-JINX!!) on these new numbers for Binx! I hope they continue and remain flat and beautiful for you!
 
Hi Briana, You're going to get some experts weighing in on this question that will truly offer solid advice, but I just came to say that I can relate to your concerns (and my response will bump up your question--and you might want to put your question mark flag up to get some others weighing in). I work full time outside the home, and I can tell you what I do when I get lower PS numbers: I take Jude to work with me :confused: Not ideal and not everyone can do that, and unfortunately it's not really working for us any longer because Jude refuses to eat in my office (I assume it's stress), so I can't really carb manipulate him in the office if he continues to slide down from his lower PS number rather than go flat. So, it's a problem that we've yet to work out. The good news for you is that Binx is responding consistently well to the insulin and remaining flat through the cycle, which is great (Jude isn't quite in that boat). My GUESS is that you're correct when you say it ultimately requires knowing your cat, and you're getting some great data as you test which is showing you some consistency in his response, and you're knowing how he is managing those lower numbers. I'm ALWAYS nervous shooting greens. It helps me to study other's spreadsheets--they give me confidence (even though ECID, there is some consistency among insulin responses). Congratulations (ANTI-JINX!!) on these new numbers for Binx! I hope they continue and remain flat and beautiful for you!

Thank you, Marielle! Always comforting to hear we're not alone with what we're experiencing. I've never thought of bringing Binx into work as I was worried the stress would impact his numbers, do you ever see that with Jude? I used to be able to pop home during the day because our office was nearby, but of course, right when Binx starts giving me these green PS, we moved further away (last week)! So perhaps that's an option to consider. I'm sorry to hear though that Jude isn't taking to your office trips as much anymore, I hope he comes back around - and I hope both Jude and Binx hold steady with those nice greens today :D

I'll keep plugging away at data for now!
 
I've never thought of bringing Binx into work as I was worried the stress would impact his numbers, do you ever see that with Jude?
I'll keep plugging away at data for now!

Oh, I'm sure it stresses him out and raises his numbers. Sometimes, though, I was fine with that because he was low at his PS, and I knew he would probably go lower (we've gone through a weird dosing issue where he kept nose-diving on his doses--I think we've about got that worked out), so a little boost of adrenaline to get the bg up wasn't too unwelcome. I just couldn't leave him alone at home worrying that he might be having a hypo event. What I've had to resort to most recently, since he stopped eating at work, is using honey when he would nose-dive. Binx's consistency and flatness is such a gift for you. I hope he maintains that.
 
I just couldn't leave him alone at home worrying that he might be having a hypo event. What I've had to resort to most recently, since he stopped eating at work, is using honey when he would nose-dive. Binx's consistency and flatness is such a gift for you. I hope he maintains that.

I do feel very lucky Binx is starting to flatten out. And the worry is so consuming, just counting down the hours until you can go home and check. Jude is very lucky to have you watching over him.
 
Such great news!! :bighug::D:bighug: I'm thankful I can be home for Petey. I have been thinking the libre and our autofeeder will be our go to if that should change. I would have to have some peace of mind.

Thanks, Laurie :bighug: The libre is lovely for that!! I've been thinking about using one for just a two week period. I know the numbers would be different than the Freestyle Lite, so I'd keep manually testing, but just the thought of being able to understand fully when his lows and highs are hitting. I wish it lasted longer than 2 weeks (at best)!
 
Back
Top