2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104, +6.5 42, PMPS 86

Status
Not open for further replies.

Melissa and Bailey

Member Since 2011
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=64096

Good morning LL! ~O) ~O) ~O)

Baileygirl has had a big fondness for hanging out in the 40s lately! We had a missed shot a couple of nights ago, and she hit 41 on the next cycle, so I went ahead and reduced her again, to a skinny 0.25. Hopefully she can hold that for a while... the 40s make me nervous! But she stays so calm! :lol: :lol:

I have been somewhat absent from the board lately... dealing with some health issues of my own. When I last saw my primary care doc I told him I had been having some palpitations - I thought it was probably anxiety. He had me wear a heart monitor for a couple of days to make sure. They got the results back and referred me to a cardiologist... which kinda freaked me out. I saw him yesterday and the good news is I am going to be fine. I have an abnormal heart rhythm that is usually not dangerous... he is putting me on metoprolol to hopefully smooth things out though. I am not excited about taking medication for the rest of my life, but of course it could have been a lot worse.

Have a great day everyone!
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98

Hi guys .. beautiful start to the day! I hope she can hold this reduction for you as well .. Sorry to hear about the heart meds .. I take meds for high blood pressure, which is from my high anxiety level .. I can actually put myself into a seizure if I stress out to much .. we like to keep things very calm around here :lol: have a great day!
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98

Melissa, I am sorry to hear about your health issues. Medications, as you well know, are sometimes just what is needed. I have been kicking around for a very long time on several meds a day and so I always feel thankful that there are so many meds that are available for various issues. I am glad your cardiologist is being proactive with you. My cousin is a cardiologist and he always tells me about the meds available for all sorts of issues and how successful they are in treating the heart. Prevention and being proactive is the way to go. My thoughts are with you.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104

Hi Melissa and Bailey, sorry for your health issue, I to have many, and on many meds. I hate to take them, but they make me function. I don't know about you, but when I test, I can feel my heart race a bit, especially a day like today, a 49! I haven't been to your condo since I have to take it easy, but I wanted to just stop in to say hi.

Have a good surf today Bailey, so your mom can stay calm.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104

Nice day for Bailey! yay!

At least there are meds for it and that is all it takes. That's what I tell myself when I take mine. It could be much much worse. Have a great night Melissa!
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104

Nothing like being referred to a cardiologist to make your heart skip a beat! I hope the abnormal rhythm isn't caused by stress, because FD isn't exactly a stress-free space. ;-) I hope the new med resolves the discomfort and keeps you healthy. :YMHUG: Today Bailey is doing her part to make you, and us all, smile.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104

Have you been listening to all this Bailey it's time for you to help your Mamabean out by hanging around in the 50s and 60s instead of the 40s for a while ok, nice flat green cycles thank you!

Glad to hear that it's realatively good news as far as heart issues go although I hear you on taking the meds I wouldn't like that at all. If you don't mind me being nosey - I am curious as to whether this is something you would always have had and only just discovered now or whether it would only have developed recently? If it's something that would only have developed recently then I wonder how and why it can't be 'undeveloped'.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104

Hey guys, thanks for all the good wishes! I was pretty freaked out at first but now I am feeling a bit calmer about the whole situation.

Serryn, it was not very clear to me what possible causes could be, or if this can just spontaneously happen. They did offer me an ablation, which I declined for the moment. They thread a catheter from the groin, up through the aorta, and basically burn off the little section of the heart that's causing the problem - it has an 80% chance of getting rid of it completely. Ummm, no thanks, I will take the meds in that case! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104

Oh, OUCH on the catheter! :shock:

glad you have a treatment plan, girl :smile:

and lil miss bailey may just be heading to a calm place for you...The Falls are VERY relaxing!!! (anti-jinx)
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104, +6.5 42 dose?

OK Bailey, what's with the 40s? Should I hold the dose since I just reduced last night? DH is feeding gravy & retesting soon.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104, +6.5 42 dose?

A lot of Bailey's numbers are not in the green/normal zone. How about using the 3 drops below 50 criteria for a reduction for now? I think Bailey's pancreas needs to have some support for a while longer.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104, +6.5 42 dose?

Bailey, oh my, another greenie! :mrgreen:
We see some of the same with Zener, and he has a hard time holding reductions. We are likely to go back to the three times below 50 before reducing too.

Liz had some heart issues this summer and she'll check in with you via PM.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104, +6.5 42

Thanks for the advice Sienne, I think that is a good idea. She needs to hold this dose longer.

Thanks Anne & Liz, I would be interested to hear about Liz's experience!

Back in a few with our PMPS.
 
Re: 2/21 Bailey AMPS 98, +2 104, +6.5 42

The way she's going, it might not take long for her to go below 50 three times!!

Hope the meds help out and you feel better, Melissa. At least you are familiar with the meds and side effects. (((Melissa)))
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top