2/21 Baby G AMPS 288 PMPS 291 +6 306

Emailed Young Again to see if can get a sample first Concerned about some claims people have of it giving their cat awful poops. I already give my girl Fortiflora every day because she had issues with her poop from pancreatitis. I'd try Dr. Elsey's but sounds like they have been having shortages on and off and that makes me leery to get my cat used to a food and then I can't find it easily anymore.

Hoping to see some nicer numbers tonight. Today is the third day on 3.25, so assuming to go up to 3.5 tomorrow morning if nothing blue tonight? I think if/when she gets to 3.5, though, maybe it may be best to revert back to following SLGS at that point and hold for a week? Just because 3.75 seemed too potent on her last time she was on it, so hesitant to get to it too quickly. We have to be approaching a good dose fairly soon. I don't know...thinking out loud, and probably jumping ahead in my planning. I'll see what you guys think as we get there. Hopefully 3.25 or 3.5 will do the trick.
 
I buy Dr. Elsey’s chicken flavor. The shortages are in the Duck and Rabbit flavors. I have been consistently able to get the chicken version for my cats (who only get it for an occasional treat on top of their wet food.
 
I buy Dr. Elsey’s chicken flavor. The shortages are in the Duck and Rabbit flavors. I have been consistently able to get the chicken version for my cats (who only get it for an occasional treat on top of their wet food.
Oh ok, good to know, thanks. When I had gone on their site I was greeted with a pop-up warning people of shortages and I was like, oh no... I'll see if I can get a sample of that too then, and if not, buy the smallest bag I can for her to try.
 
Wow, Young Again emailed me back that fast that they're sending out a sample :joyful: can't wait to see what my picky girl thinks of it lol. Hopefully between that and the Dr Elseys we can find a better dry food for her.
 
Hoping to see some nicer numbers tonight. Today is the third day on 3.25, so assuming to go up to 3.5 tomorrow morning if nothing blue tonight? I think if/when she gets to 3.5, though, maybe it may be best to revert back to following SLGS at that point and hold for a week? Just because 3.75 seemed too potent on her last time she was on it, so hesitant to get to it too quickly. We have to be approaching a good dose fairly soon. I don't know...thinking out loud, and probably jumping ahead in my planning. I'll see what you guys think as we get there. Hopefully 3.25 or 3.5 will do the trick.
If you are talking about when she was at 3.75U in July 2022, she finally saw some good numbers on it. Even a high green nadir. Not sure why you decreased then because 92 does not earn a reduction even per SLGS. You are probably seeing some glucose toxicity now. What this means is that when a cat stays in high numbers for too long, it's body gets used to higher numbers and treats them as normal. It then requires much more insulin to break through to lower numbers. The best way to break through is to keep increasing till you get to a good dose.
 
Got 306 at +6. :( increasing to 3.5 in the morning. Just worry she's going to suddenly drop like a stone on me, whenever the insulin finally does break through.
 
Just worry she's going to suddenly drop like a stone on me, whenever the insulin finally does break through.
Some cats do race down the dosing ladder when they break through glucose toxicity. When that happens you can take larger reductions (if needed) to keep her safe. With a history of DKA, you want to get her to good numbers soon.

Do you test her for ketones?
 
Do you test her for ketones?
I haven't been because she's been eating really well, but I can try to get a sample to be sure. Can you believe she literally just went pee as I was responding and I ran but didn't get there in time :facepalm: I'm surprised how stubborn the glucose has been, considering we had a couple blues less than a month ago.
 
Back
Top