2/21 Autumn amps-350, +3-352, +6-274, +10-223pmps-159

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Well after her dental yesterday and having to withhold her morning shot before hand, plus the fact that her pain meds have probably worn off by today she is starting out pretty high, but I know once we get her shed rebuilt she will come on down again.

I'm also going to call her vet on Monday to question their choice of antibiotics for her...They have her on 1cc of Amoxicillian twice a day, I had a tiny bit get on my finger and noticed they didn't give her the unsweetened version...this stuff is sickenly sweet, it is the same bubblegum flavor that human doctors give children, so I can't think that is the best choice for a diabetic, so to work around it until I can see if we can switch it to something without sugar I upped her dose to 1u this am.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350

Poor baby, I know she's in pain with everything she had done yesterday.

You can't get a hold of them before Monday? it's only Thursday. :sad:

Did they recommend a stool softener for her, after her anal gland work? You would think so.
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350

Well there is a chance I can get a hold of them tomorrow but today EVERYTHING is closed since it is still snowing here, got about 4 inches last night but the main part of the storm and the heaviest snow isn't suppose to hit until around noon today, we still have another 8-12 inches coming. Plus then there is the wait until the city decides to get around to digging us out, and well they are less than.....prompt at that. :roll:

Nope they didn't give her a stool softener, but then again they know I already have miralax here....After 6 years and multiple cats and a dog they know me pretty well...lol Might say I don't even have to give my name when I call for an appointment they already know my voice on the phone...lol

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350

Geez, I forgot about the storm. Hope you can reach someone soon. Calling for ice here this weekend, I think it's the leftovers from your storm.

I'm online looking for work. I have to get Lucian stable since I may have to leave him to work and at his pace, that's not going well.
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350, +3-352

Well its still in the pink but happy to see she hasn't spiked much off both food and her antibiotic, hope she will come down at least a little today as we start to refill her shed and at least surf the yellows today.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350, +3-352

I'm continuing to 'steer' Lucian and give him a bit of a break today, will catch him @+6. I just won't stop steering until +5 this time, maybe it will help, rather than +3 like yesterday.
I don't know what else to do, but I'm sure my time home is limited, so I have to try anything and everything to get him stable. I'm amazed at cats dx'd after him, that are OTJ now. WTH?
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350, +3-352

One thing I learned after adopting two additional sugarcats after Maxwell spoiled me rotten...is no two dance exactly the same way...nope not ever...Maxwell change his diet, give him two weeks of insulin, throw his shaved nekkid hiney on an airplane and flying him to NE from MA, two more shots of insulin and bang OTJ for over 2 years and going strong.

Then came Musette....bounce, bounce, bounce, nothing worked with her, we went up in dose, we went down, we changed insulins and finally it wasn't until she just gave up and stopped eating, went into DKA and fatty liver and finally passed away that we found that she probably had way more wrong with her than just diabetes, yet unlike Maxwell who wasn't treated, Musette had been, not right and not consistantly but still treated, yet for love nor money could I get her regulated.

Now its Autumn who again went 10+ months after dx to even start treatment of any kind, she didn't do well on Lantus, she bounced everywhere plus she was cranky and tense on Lantus, switch to Levemir, more months of dancing and we are finally getting somewhere, now the dental and no insulin for 24 hours and a sugary antibiotic and we are back to square one again, but hopefully now we will get somewhere further once everything clears her system.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350, +3-352

Ya know, nothing else in my life has ever gone according to the 'rules', I can't expect Lucian to. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 2/21 Autumn amps-350, +3-352

Girl....Ain't you ever heard that animals resemble their humans....

Well look at who you and I both are?...Now just why would you expect your cat to follow the rules? :lol: When was the last time we've actually followed the rules to a tee? First off didn't we get here by questioning the "expert" advice of our vets?

Also stop and think why you chose a cat for a companion in the first place? And since I know that like me you have also had some really great dogs as well what did you like about the cats that was different than what you liked about the dog, and why you chose large breeds over small breeds? Also try to remember what makes Lucian, Lucian the cat instead of Lucian the diabetic.

Also when I used to ask my same thing about why did Maxwell go OTJ so fast and I can't even get Musette anywhere close to tight regulation in nearly a year? I would stop and step back and look at the civies in the household, none of them were the same in personality, breed mix, length of coat, or markings...every one of them are individuals, who I can tell apart in the dark, without even touching them by the way they move, how they approach me, or where they settle on the bed and basically just the energy they give off. Therefore if that is true about civies, then that also has to be true for sugarcats, they are all different there is no one formula or time frame that works for all of them. If it was that simple then every single cat that comes here, was started on the right dose of insulin while at the vet's, was tested at home from the beginning, had their diet changed to a low carb/high protein canned or raw diet, and followed all the rules for tight regulation for their type of insulin, then all of them would go OTJ in a few weeks....but reality is they just don't. This dance is as individual as the cat you dance with, and just when you think you have it all figured out, they are going to change the steps... :lol: Then they will go OTJ and you will at some point loose your mind...think you have it all figured out because if you could get this train wreck of a cat OTJ surely the next one won't be that hard...and you see someone posted for rehoming that tugs at your heartstrings...and you will eiter foster and fail or outright adopt them...and be a newbie all over again, because this one has completely different footwork than the last one.. ohmygod_smile

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Hey Mel:
My vet gave Cedric a shot of Convenia and Clindamycin. Both on his bill as antibiotics and are supposed to be long lasting. The buprenorphine is starting to wear off now.
Maybe your vet can give Autumn some?
 
The clindamycin I might see about, I won't give any of my cats Convenia, especially for dentals since it doesn't work on those it is for skin issues, and there have been lots of problems with it in cats. All of my charts are marked no Metacam, No Covenia.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top