bobjoh
Member Since 2021
Hello!
My girl, Alphyne, has had some weird numbers lately. She's typically in the 300s, but spiked to 400+ yesterday PMPS, and then tonight PMPS was at 195. My vet said not to shoot under 200, but per some other advice I received from this group, that may not be the best course of action. I shot tonight, but I lowered the dose to 1.5U (she's normally at 2.25U).
I'm hoping that was ok, and I will monitor her throughout the evening.
I asked my vet about when to shoot and not to shoot for both of my girls, and she sent me a 21-page veterinary paper outlining the protocol she's following, but never did really answer me as to when to shoot or not. She's been pretty adamant not to shoot under 200 any other time I've contacted her.
Based on the curves we've done, and the nadirs, my vet did not increase any dosing recently. We've been on Lantus for almost a month for both cats.
In any case, what are the thoughts on shooting under 200? I know I need to get over my fear of it, and I felt better giving a partial dose, but I'm hoping I did not mess anything up? I'm not really getting the clarity I need from the vet, so looking for advice from the experts here, which have given me wonderful advice so far!
Thank you!
My girl, Alphyne, has had some weird numbers lately. She's typically in the 300s, but spiked to 400+ yesterday PMPS, and then tonight PMPS was at 195. My vet said not to shoot under 200, but per some other advice I received from this group, that may not be the best course of action. I shot tonight, but I lowered the dose to 1.5U (she's normally at 2.25U).
I'm hoping that was ok, and I will monitor her throughout the evening.
I asked my vet about when to shoot and not to shoot for both of my girls, and she sent me a 21-page veterinary paper outlining the protocol she's following, but never did really answer me as to when to shoot or not. She's been pretty adamant not to shoot under 200 any other time I've contacted her.
Based on the curves we've done, and the nadirs, my vet did not increase any dosing recently. We've been on Lantus for almost a month for both cats.
In any case, what are the thoughts on shooting under 200? I know I need to get over my fear of it, and I felt better giving a partial dose, but I'm hoping I did not mess anything up? I'm not really getting the clarity I need from the vet, so looking for advice from the experts here, which have given me wonderful advice so far!
Thank you!

Especially if the client is willing to do so. The number of emergencies we get from new people landing here when their cat is hypoing is reason enough to test.
Unfortunately, she also works only part time. I can contact her outside of working hours, and she normally responds, but not always. Dosing isn't really something that can 'wait', and me interpreting veterinary documents is iffy at best.