2/20MaxAMPS343+4:45=286+6.5=246PMPS263+4=168

Status
Not open for further replies.

tiffmaxee

Member Since 2013
As usual I am confused. Did he go lower last night or is this not his dose? How long do we hold here and give the decrease time? Thanks.
 
Re: 2/20MaxAMPS343+4:45=286

I found Max's first curve the day after he was diagnosed.
+2 429
+4 252
+6 327
+7 329

Then is Nadirs were on 11/20/13 +6=114, 12/6/13+6=70, 12/11/13+7=194. Those were with reductions from .1 unit to .75 to .5. From what I have seen since home testing and reading on this site he never should have gone off insulin. I wasn't home testing and my mom was in the hospital so my vet was cautious. I sure hope that isn't why it's so hard to regulate Max now.

Elise
 
Re: 2/20MaxAMPS343+4:45=286+6.5=246

Hi elise!

saw your post about the hairball med having 0.4g of carbs - thanks so much for checking on that. i had wondered about that because his cycles are a little odd, and i was thinking that if it had some carbs in it, it might be increasing him. I wonder if that 0.4g is "as fed" or if that's dry matter. Sometimes those numbers aren't exactly the same. Even with that info, could you go a couple of days without giving him any and see if that makes any difference in his numbers? maybe just give him plain butter if you think he has a hairball?

hard to know if anything done in the past has made a difference now. you can't beat yourself up over it though - if you had to take care of your mom, that's a priority. we can't do everything!

if he doesn't come back down into low blues or greens by morning, i think i would call it a "failed reduction" and increase back up to 1.5u. But if you want to try going without the hairball meds, just to see if that makes a difference, maybe wait another day to increase.

what do you think about it?
 
Re: 2/20MaxAMPS343+4:45=286+6.5=246

Julie, the treats are really small and he hasn't gotten them every day. When he went so low he did get at least one "I think" but I will record when I give any for now. My gut says that isn't the issue. He did get one today but I won't give him one tonight. Yesterday I realized he hadn't had any for a few days and that is when he started trying to cough one up. I used to put a little Gerber's baby food squash or pumpkin in his food as well and I think it is low glycemic. How about that? I will write the company again now since they respond so quickly.

Maybe I'm not getting so same .25 every time??? Then again if so it's always been the case. He definitely isn't making this easy for us that much is clear.
 
Julie, the rep from Vet's Best doesn't have a clue what dry matter is. I'll call later and see if there is anywhere working there that does. :lol:
Elise
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top