2/20 Tonka - AMPS 104 So far so good at 1 unit - +9 112, PMPS 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmalasiuk

Member Since 2014
Feb 18 post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...uced-shot-11-25-65-12-58.133322/#post-1374833

Tonka seems to be liking the level he's at right now. Staying nice and flat. Hoping that he's going to stick with these numbers for a while.
His vet is pleased with the levels that he's at right now, but is concerned with his active dropping in dose requirements when he has a surgery scheduled (understandably). We're going to see what happens over the weekend. If he keeps dropping lower, I'll have to reschedule his dental, to be safe, until he stabilizes. But it's looking more promising at 1 unit.
And I finally finished my report! No more late nights for work - now just for my cat :blackeye:
 
Tonka seems to be doing well on 1.0 unit. Sometimes when kitties pancreas starts to heal, it can heal quickly!

No need to reschedule the dental. People will just skip the insulin the morning of the dental if they are worried about the blood sugar. For Neko's last dental, I gave a 1/2 dose in the AM, but that's because she had for some reason gone high on me that morning. The time before than she got 1/4 dose.

Thank goodness the report is done! Looks like an all nighter last night. o_O
 
Tonka seems to be doing well on 1.0 unit. Sometimes when kitties pancreas starts to heal, it can heal quickly!

No need to reschedule the dental. People will just skip the insulin the morning of the dental if they are worried about the blood sugar. For Neko's last dental, I gave a 1/2 dose in the AM, but that's because she had for some reason gone high on me that morning. The time before than she got 1/4 dose.

Thank goodness the report is done! Looks like an all nighter last night. o_O
I don't think it's his lower levels in general that's worrying her so much as the fact that he seemed to be just continuously heading down ward for the past week and doesn't want to risk him dropping unexpectedly while he's fasting the night before, or if he has trouble eating afterward. I'm going to curve him through the weekend and send the results to her for Monday. If' he' settled down to a more constant level or curve by then (and it's looking like he might be), I suspect we'll just go ahead with the dental next week and do an insulin reduction until he's eating properly again.

And yes - done done done! (till the next one is due, in any case) - got to bed at 5:30 this morning (4:30 am the night before), up at 6:30 and then off to an all day meeting. At least I got home nice and early. Now I just have to stay awake for another 4 hours or so (I want to get Tonka's BG at +2, since that's she he seems to start to dive on the days that he does go down instead of up after eating). If he's being nice to me, he'll stick with those nice low blue levels and let me collapse shortly after that.
 
Stinker! TGIF. On the bright side, it looks like Tonka would be OK with a couple of reduced dose cycles.
 
Not until he earns a reduction. But if you had to reduce the dose for the dental, you could do a reduced dose the night before, perhaps no insulin the morning of the dental, and a reduced dose at night when he comes home. It'd be interesting to hear what anesthetic drug your vet plans to use. The newer one doesn't impact the BG the way that the traditional ones do.
 
Ah, got it. Future tense. Sorry - running on empty right now. 1.0 units and an hourly alarm it is.
 
So much for getting the +2. Passed out and only just woke up again. Fortunately Tonka is feeling fine at 6.5 (117) at +3.5. I just don't know whether he's on his way up of down from here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top