2/20 Stela PMPS @ +14 115

Gabi & Stela

Member Since 2023
Hi guys,

sorry if the post ends up sounding unfriendly, I'm posting in a rush as I'm supposed to shoot right now. It's the first time I've gotten such a low PS number, should I shoot? It doesn't feel right and I think I don't have enough data yet to comfortably make the decision.

I know the sheet is a mess, trying to put things in order best I can, had a not so great experience with the vet so decided to solve things myself starting this February.

Thanks!
 
With TR you can shoot any number above 50. She's at 91 US numbers, that's safe to shoot if you can check her tonight, at least at +2 and +4 to see if she gets lower.
You can also decide to shoot a smaller dose.
You can also re-test in 30 minutes without feeding her to see if she's going down or starting to go up.
 
Are you using a pet meter or a human one? Your SS is that of a pet meter.

Has she been fed? Can you monitor if you shoot?
Can you get another test to see if that was a bad strip/not enough blood?

It's close to midnight for me, so I'm going to tag @tiffmaxee and @Angela & Cleo to help you out.
 
I'm using a human meter, was using a pet one before

I already did two test in case there wasn't enough blood but both read a similar number (4.7, then 5.1). Will test in 30 mins.

I haven't fed yet.

I can monitor if I shoot, yes.
 
I'm using a human meter, was using a pet one before

I already did two test in case there wasn't enough blood but both read a similar number (4.7, then 5.1). Will test in 30 mins.

I haven't fed yet.
That’s exactly what you should do…great instincts. Once the BG rises, you should shoot the full dose. Then feed and test in one hour.
 
Are you using a pet meter or a human one? Your SS is that of a pet meter.

Has she been fed? Can you monitor if you shoot?
Can you get another test to see if that was a bad strip/not enough blood?

It's close to midnight for me, so I'm going to tag @tiffmaxee and @Angela & Cleo to help you out.

I believe that mmol/L is unit used for both human and pet meters where I live as that is what the default setting on my meter was. I think I can switch between the units though, might start measuring in US units so it's easier to read my SS also for the people abroad.
 
I believe that mmol/L is unit used for both human and pet meters where I live as that is what the default setting on my meter was. I think I can switch between the units though, might start measuring in US units so it's easier to read my SS also for the people abroad.
I sent you a PM and I’ll help you sort out the SS once you get Stela settled.
 
That’s exactly what you should do…great instincts. Once the BG rises, you should shoot the full dose. Then feed and test in one hour.

Thanks :bighug: I've been having a not so great time doing this on my own so it's great to hear it from someone so experienced!

What would you say the safe number is? I understand it technically is safe to shoot dark green numbers on TR protocol, but I don't feel like she's predictable (for the lack of better word) enough yet, especially with all the recent furshots :banghead:

Also, any advice on what is the latest I should shoot? If she doesn't rise in like an hour, do I skip the shot?
 
Thanks :bighug: I've been having a not so great time doing this on my own so it's great to hear it from someone so experienced!
You’re welcome but I’m sorry you feel you’ve been doing this on your own. If you can post every day, you will get much more support.

What would you say the safe number is? I understand it technically is safe to shoot dark green numbers on TR protocol, but I don't feel like she's predictable (for the lack of better word) enough yet, especially with all the recent furshots
Normally, for a member without much data, we would not want them to shoot below 150. If she heads up above 120, you should go ahead and shoot as that is a good amount of increase in the BG. You should not stall without feeding more than two hours. At that point, just skip and feed her.

I would continue to test every 30 minutes, though, just so you can catch the rise. Also, when stalling, we shoot the full dose because stalling acts like a dose reduction.
 
You’re welcome but I’m sorry you feel you’ve been doing this on your own. If you can post every day, you will get much more support.

I didn't mean to blame you guys! I've found so much support here even without posting much yet, it's more like trying to handle everything living alone and the feeling I should be way more capable to do this at this point.

Normally, for a member without much data, we would not want them to shoot below 150. If she heads up above 120, you should go ahead and shoot as that is a good amount of increase in the BG. You should not stall without feeding more than two hours. At that point, just skip and feed her.

I would continue to test every 30 minutes, though, just so you can catch the rise. Also, when stalling, we shoot the full dose because stalling acts like a dose reduction.

Thank you for the numbers, I'll keep testing for the next hour.
 
I didn't mean to blame you guys!
I know :D It’s a steep learning curve and posting here daily will help alleviate all the stress of trying to figure it out on your own.

I'm glad she’s headed up. Can you please take the “?” down from your subject line now that we have eyes on you all? Thank you.
 
We're at 5.3 (95.4) now
That’s within 20% meter variance but I’d like to see her a bit higher since you haven’t shot this low before. I believe you are at +13, correct? It’s best to add these tests to her SS as you go. They will go into the +11 column stacked. If you shoot, it will go in the PMPS column along with the + hours from last shot and if you don’t, you will enter it the same way but put “NS” in Units column.
 
I added the tests to the SS (I only put them in the comment before). Were at 5.1 (roughly 90). I'll do one more test in 30 mins and skip if the number is still this low, correct?
 
Ok, we are at 6.4 (115). Do I shoot and stay up with her?
Normally, for someone with not a lot of data, we would have you skip at this point even though she’s headed up a bit. But she is clearing a bounce and often, they head back up once they have hit these lower numbers just like she bounced after the loss the other night.

if you can stay up and test/feed, it would be best if you shoot because I believe she will bounce again sometime during the cycle especially because she won’t onset for two hours. But it’s your decision. Just let me know so I know when to check on you.

If you shoot, feed her higher LC food (6-10%) but nothing more so she goes up a bit more since it’s late there.
 
Ok, I did the shot. It's 9:21PM here, I'll try to stay up as long as I can + set up a couple of alarms for when I can't. I believe I will be able to handle a mild hypo if it occurs and there's a 24/7 vet ambulance literally around the corner.

Thank you!
 
Ok, I did the shot. It's 9:21PM here, I'll try to stay up as long as I can + set up a couple of alarms for when I can't. I believe I will be able to handle a mild hypo if it occurs and there's a 24/7 vet ambulance literally around the corner.

Thank you!
Ok. See you at +1. Once you’ve fed her, please edit the subject line so it’s:
2/20 Stela PMPS @ +14 115

then you can add to it as you get the BGs.
 
+1 138, will keep testing throughout the night.

If stalling acts as a dose reduction, I shouldn't be reducing her AM dose tomorrow, right? I should be ready for some overlapping during the day though?
 
+1 138, will keep testing throughout the night.

If stalling acts as a dose reduction, I shouldn't be reducing her AM dose tomorrow, right? I should be ready for some overlapping during the day though?
Correct. Don’t reduce her dose tomorrow unless she drops below 50 tonight. Whether she gets overlap depends on if she bounces or not.
 
Back
Top