? 2/20- Sammy setting up human meter

Sarah and Sammy

Member Since 2020
So tonight I bought a human meter I got the relion premier blue and as I thought the numbers from my alpha trak 2 to the human meter were completely different the human meter read 185 and the alpha trak 2 read 268.. how do I know how to set up the human meter to read accurately for a cat?
 
How do I know which numbers are correct???

read that post - it explains a lot
both are " correct" there is technically some variance in meters
We use human meters as the standard for setting dosing methods here because at one time ...there really weren't any pet specific meters.
You are fine with using the numbers from the human meter for dosing here
 
There is apparently more of a range in the two meters ( human vs. pet) in the higher numbers- say above 200....and much less of a range in the lower, normal BG range.
People here who are using the AT2 pet meter like I am , have to make adjustments for the reduction numbers to be in line with the dosing methods TR and SLGS since the AT2 read a bit higher- not much - under 100... you won't need to do that
I makes things easier in the long run...
You aren't doing anything wrong , so don't worry
 
There is apparently more of a range in the two meters ( human vs. pet) in the higher numbers- say above 200....and much less of a range in the lower, normal BG range.
People here who are using the AT2 pet meter like I am , have to make adjustments for the reduction numbers to be in line with the dosing methods TR and SLGS since the AT2 read a bit higher- not much - under 100... you won't need to do that
I makes things easier in the long run...
You aren't doing anything wrong , so don't worry

I guess I really dont understand.. even though he has been diagnosed since late sept I still feel super new at everything (I thought I was doing ok for the majority of the time but turns out we were just doing meh) I'm really trying to get him into remission but I doubt everything and I dont feel any confidence in any of this.
 
I guess I really dont understand.. even though he has been diagnosed since late sept I still feel super new at everything (I thought I was doing ok for the majority of the time but turns out we were just doing meh) I'm really trying to get him into remission but I doubt everything and I dont feel any confidence in any of this.


can you tell me what you don't understand? I want to help :)
did you read some of those discussion post I posted....

Human meters used to be all that was available , so the dosing method that FDMB borrows from used those meters to set up the parameters. Since that is that case...they usually recommend folks use the human meters because that is what the data is based off of.
While it is not " wrong" to use a pet specific meter, because human blood and cat blood are different- you will get some difference in the higher BG ranges, but those differences become less and less as the BGs decrease.
Once into the normal BG range, 50-80- even let's say 60-100...the range of difference between the human meter and the specific pet meters will be less of a large range...not nearly as obvious.

You are fine and it is suggested to use the human meter so that the numbers you are getting are lining up more closely with the numbers used to set the dosing methods of TR and SLGS.
 
Managing FD is a long process...if you focus too much on remission you will burn out.

I try to focus on understanding the dosing methods, getting more data so I know how to handle the BG numbers I get, and keeping my cat happy. All you can do- it the best you can do.
 
I'm not understanding because people are giving me dosing advice still while I'm still using a pet meter so I'm question is what I have been told what I truley be doing? And also I'm wondering if the dosage I have been giving him is enough or not. I was still questioning a little bit if the dose I have him on is correct but now I'm even more confused.
 
Managing FD is a long process...if you focus too much on remission you will burn out.

I try to focus on understanding the dosing methods, getting more data so I know how to handle the BG numbers I get, and keeping my cat happy. All you can do- it the best you can do.

I'm already burnt out to be honest. I'm drowning in the debt of having to take him to emergency hospital months back and I would keep using the alpha trak because I feel comfortable with it but the strips are way too expensive.
 
I'm not understanding because people are giving me dosing advice still while I'm still using a pet meter so I'm question is what I have been told what I truley be doing? And also I'm wondering if the dosage I have been giving him is enough or not. I was still questioning a little bit if the dose I have him on is correct but now I'm even more confused.

People are aware that you are using the pet meter since it is on your profile...and like I said, the difference really don't matter as much until you get into reduction territory on TR in my option.
In these higher than normal ranges, it does not change the advised dosing.

It will just be much easier for you to manage moving forward and as the BG numbers start to move down.. you will be better able to read follow the dosing methods and not make adjustments based on the AT2 numbers being a little higher than human meters are
 
People are aware that you are using the pet meter since it is on your profile...and like I said, the difference really don't matter as much until you get into reduction territory on TR in my option.
In these higher than normal ranges, it does not change the advised dosing.

It will just be much easier for you to manage moving forward and as the BG numbers start to move down.. you will be better able to read follow the dosing methods and not make adjustments based on the AT2 numbers being a little higher than human meters are

So at this time I have him on .25 units of insulin can I keep doing that? Or do I need to adjust? I think this transition is going to be very hard for me because I'm so used to using the AT and the numbers its giving me.
 
I am not sure about dosing since I don't know how long you have been on this dose...
Have you updated the SS recently?

I think change is always a bit unnerving in the beginning, but it might be easier to dose with the same meters that most folks on here are using .
 
Hmmm...it " looks" like you have some room to increase, but ideally on SLGS - you perform a BG curve and then assess the dose after a week. ( I just did mine today)
You want to know how low this current dose is taking your pet and I am not so sure we know that for sure. You also don't want to hold a dose for too long but after that skipped shot this in only the 11th cycle...
Are you able to grab more test tonight- maybe a +6 and +8 at least? If not, could you at any point during the day tomorrow?
Have you become more comfortable shooting some of those lower 100s that it looks like you skipped before ? Maybe shooting anything above 150 and stalling without feeding to post and ask for help if it is not would be a good place to start.
What do you think?
 
So at this time I have him on .25 units of insulin can I keep doing that? Or do I need to adjust? I
Why don't you do a curve with the human meter at your soonest convenience. Then if the nadirs are between 90 and 149, you will keep this dose. You did spot a 96 several days ago, so I suspect you'll be holding this dose. But a few more data point in the middle of the cycle will help with the decision.
 
Hmmm...it " looks" like you have some room to increase, but ideally on SLGS - you perform a BG curve and then assess the dose after a week. ( I just did mine today)
You want to know how low this current dose is taking your pet and I am not so sure we know that for sure. You also don't want to hold a dose for too long but after that skipped shot this in only the 11th cycle...
Are you able to grab more test tonight- maybe a +6 and +8 at least? If not, could you at any point during the day tomorrow?
Have you become more comfortable shooting some of those lower 100s that it looks like you skipped before ? Maybe shooting anything above 150 and stalling without feeding to post and ask for help if it is not would be a good place to start.
What do you think?
I'm sorry I wasnt able to get any more data last night and I wont be able to during the day today. And I feel comfortable shooting anything over 150 at the dose he is at not sure I would feel the same if I was to up the dose.
 
I
Why don't you do a curve with the human meter at your soonest convenience. Then if the nadirs are between 90 and 149, you will keep this dose. You did spot a 96 several days ago, so I suspect you'll be holding this dose. But a few more data point in the middle of the cycle will help with the decision.
I will plan to do curve tomorrow on the human meter and post my numbers, thank you
 
Congratulations on the switch! I've used a human meter since Day 1 - after reading a little about both - since it's more of a trend that we're looking for a human meter works well...low is still low, high is still high...just the numbers are a little different that's all.

Please be sure to put a big line in your SS to indicate that you're using a human meter - several people here have switched and use that method, just to let everyone know why the numbers seem different from one time block to another. And your signature of course.

I think you'll love the new meter - especially when you're buying more strips. You've gotten some great advice and support today :)

Have a great evening Sarah :)
 
I didn't see a post for today, but I checked you SS and saw beautiful blue PMPS number that you skipped.:cool:
You can always, stall- don't feed and post to ask for help. The insulin is doing what it is supposed to do and we have to try and adjust your no shoot number so that you can take advantage of great numbers. I know it can be extremely overwhelming, but you can get advice/help.
You have shot a (167) , (150) and a (147) and have data showing what Sammy does afterwards... You can always stall and see if he is on his way up - that way you know he would be at a higher number when the insulin kicks in, post and ask if you can shoot, shoot a token or half dose or just shoot a full dose and then offer some higher carb food to help Sammy stay steady until the insulin kicks in after +4 ( usually) ....


Just for reference- from the sticky on SLGS:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers :

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.



Since you skipped- the countdown to stay at this dose (0.25) technically starts over I believe- hold for a week and then assess. Since you did skip...sometimes this is a nice opportunity to grab some test and see what your cat would do if you were stalling ( didn't give insulin) so, the next time ...you can look back at these numbers and see where he went with no insulin...
Don't be hesitant to post and ask. :)
 
I didn't see a post for today, but I checked you SS and saw beautiful blue PMPS number that you skipped.:cool:
You can always, stall- don't feed and post to ask for help. The insulin is doing what it is supposed to do and we have to try and adjust your no shoot number so that you can take advantage of great numbers. I know it can be extremely overwhelming, but you can get advice/help.
You have shot a (167) , (150) and a (147) and have data showing what Sammy does afterwards... You can always stall and see if he is on his way up - that way you know he would be at a higher number when the insulin kicks in, post and ask if you can shoot, shoot a token or half dose or just shoot a full dose and then offer some higher carb food to help Sammy stay steady until the insulin kicks in after +4 ( usually) ....


Just for reference- from the sticky on SLGS:
How to handle a lower than normal preshot number:

If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers :

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.



Since you skipped- the countdown to stay at this dose (0.25) technically starts over I believe- hold for a week and then assess. Since you did skip...sometimes this is a nice opportunity to grab some test and see what your cat would do if you were stalling ( didn't give insulin) so, the next time ...you can look back at these numbers and see where he went with no insulin...
Don't be hesitant to post and ask. :)
So should I not do a curve today? Since i skipped?
 
good stuff....tonight can you start a new post for today so we can check in on ya and see how things are looking :)

I will likely be looking in on your SS again anyway, but I want you to be set up to post for help if you need to for the PMPS later. Remember, you can always stall and see if the BG is coming up instead of skipping shots- not to overwhelm you just letting you know you do have some wiggle room with the shot time. You are shooting the number your cat will be when the insulin kicks in - not that preshot/ test number. And at 0.25, if you have supplies and MC food- you should be able to shoot some of these numbers. Especially with the depot from the previous dose being depleted a bit with the no shots. Sound okay?
 
looks good to shoot !!! :)

that's a nice flat cycle for no insulin given ...
I think you should hold at this dose, try the new meter and give yourself time to adjust to the idea of shooting number that are above 90-100 maybe and then increase? How does that sound?
 
looks good to shoot !!! :)

that's a nice flat cycle for no insulin given ...
I think you should hold at this dose, try the new meter and give yourself time to adjust to the idea of shooting number that are above 90-100 maybe and then increase? How does that sound?

Sorry for such a late response it's been a busy week. So far so good on the new human meter tonight sammy was at 116 when I tested so I stalled for 30 minutes tested again and he was up to 136 gave him his .25 units and tonight at 10:15 he was at 85! :) I dont plan on changing his insulin but still testing how low I can shoot him.
 
Still looking good....if you can monitor and offer food- I wouldn't skip those preshots in the 100s. SLGS, after awhile- you can shoot anything over 90 if you have supplies and can offer food around +2 maybe to help them ride out the onset of insulin.
85 is a good safe number for a mid cycle BG ...
There's not much difference between the 130 you shot and the 125 you skipped ....or the 116 vs. the 114. Same range

Remember, you can always stall- don't feed and see if Sammy's BG is rising, then you will know he will likely continue to rise even after you give the insulin.
You are dosing based on how the .25 takes him- not the preshot numbers :)

He looks great
 
Still looking good....if you can monitor and offer food- I wouldn't skip those preshots in the 100s. SLGS, after awhile- you can shoot anything over 90 if you have supplies and can offer food around +2 maybe to help them ride out the onset of insulin.
85 is a good safe number for a mid cycle BG ...
There's not much difference between the 130 you shot and the 125 you skipped ....or the 116 vs. the 114. Same range

Remember, you can always stall- don't feed and see if Sammy's BG is rising, then you will know he will likely continue to rise even after you give the insulin.
You are dosing based on how the .25 takes him- not the preshot numbers :)

He looks great

I try to have food availible to him throughout the day just nervous about what the lowest number is I should be ok to shoot at. I feel like I should do a curve its just been very busy. :/
 
I try to have food availible to him throughout the day just nervous about what the lowest number is I should be ok to shoot at. I feel like I should do a curve its just been very busy. :/



Try a curve when you can and you can always grab spot checks whenever just to have more information. You are doing good !
I will say that technically under SLGS , he would have already earned a reduction with those BGs under 90...
 
Try a curve when you can and you can always grab spot checks whenever just to have more information. You are doing good !
I will say that technically under SLGS , he would have already earned a reduction with those BGs under 90...

Should I wait to change anything until I have a curve?
 
Back
Top