2/20 Poopy AMPS 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Teresa and Poopy

Very Active Member
If it's not one thing it's another, eh? :lol:

Between both kitties, only 1/4 the PM food was eaten all night (and most of that at PMPS time). Both kitties did get a few bites of cooked chicken around +3, but nothing since.

I'll test Poopy again after the 20 minutes (about 10 minutes from now) but seriously doubt I'll see a rise.

Edited to remove question mark.
 
Nope..i'm off today.

Thoughts?

It's not as if I can't feed them to keep the number nice and low. ohmygod_smile

I may need to start dosing AFTER Poopy eats - to be sure he's eating.
 
30 minutes later....131.

Not much of a change (and within the 20% variance). Will test again in 20-30 minutes to decide what to do.
 
133...again, not much of a change.

Here are my thoughts -

Feed a higher carb food (Tuna has 7%) and shoot 1.2-1.3u (according to what would be on the sliding scale - if it went that low)
Feed a lower carb food (Turkey & Giblets has 0% carbs) and forego the shot

Thoughts?
 
I went back to your SS and you dont have that many blue preshots
but you shot 1.0 1.2 and 1.4 into low numbers but ususally dont have a nadir
I think if it were me, the 131 is too low to shoot, I wouldnt even shoot that low...
I would feed the 0% carb and chance the high number,
even though you will be home today,
unless you want to maybe feed 7% and shoot token dose of maybe .50
Sorry but the 131 and surfin scares me...
 
yes, it's +13 now (15 minutes past the last test). Poopy has had a raw chicken chunk (about 1/2" square) after each test.

Am thinking of going with the 0% carb food and forego the shot.

The thing is, he didn't really eat last night (have a feeling they are burned out on the 4% selections). I'm still somewhat surprised at the lower AMPS, though.
 
If he really didnt eat, I agree 100%, forego shot and see what happens today
you never know! :mrgreen:

Good luck
 
Okey dokey. Going with the 0% carb food and no shot. I'll test him again in a couple hours just to see where he's at - even though he won't have any insulin in him.

Will be interesting to see no matter what the outcome. :-D
 
Talk about some hungry kitties! Had all kinds of help opening the can and mashing the food in the bowl! You do know I couldn't have managed on my own, right? ohmygod_smile
 
Great problem Teresa, just that it complicates things later. Dancing shoes? Check. :lol:
We usually have “help” getting the food ready too, esp in the mornings.
Hope things go well for you today. :-D
~O)
 
Thanks, Donna. :-D

Normally, Poopy sits in the food area, waiting for me to bring his food to him (I'm staff, remember! :lol: ) and Mia watches from wherever she can hide (usually under a chair). Not this morning! Had both under foot, with Poopy reaching up, mauling my butt and the counter ledge, as if to hurry me along. :lol:

Silly kitties.

They still only ate about 1/4 the food. Will keep an eye on it as I test Poopy this morning.
 
+2 = 184, no additional food gone. What is up with this? Litter box action hasn't changed.

Will test again in about an hour.

Edited to correct times.
 
Fed at 6:00, times are after food (since no shot)

AMPS (time fed) 133
+2 184
+3 295

No additional food eaten, just the raw chicken chunks at test time. (1/4 13 oz, can has been eaten between both kitties.)

Will test again in an hour or so to see how handling food/BG.
 
Glad you skipped the shot.
Its looking to be an interesting day with Poopy. Good your'e home today and can get some data.
 
Wow! What a surf. So glad you are home to monitor and didn't shoot the poopster. How is he doing now? What is up with our kitties these days/

Lori
 
I am giggling at Poopy helping with the food prep. :) I get a lot of help here too. Nipper meows constantly from the time I go downstairs to when I put the bowl down in front of her. Scout gets underfoot and whines and brrrps.

I'm excited for your low numbers this morning. Maybe Mr. P is sputtering again?

Lori
 
+4 after breakfast 299 - not much change from +3.

Both Poop and Mia have been very laid back since breakfast, snoozing in their favorite spots. Me thinks it's Laser Time! :lol:
 
+8 caught Poopy nibbling a bit (finally!) so thought I'd grab a quick poke. 320. Not much different than the +3 & +4, given the 20% variance stuff, and not surprising with no insulin.

I wonder what is up with the decreased eating? And it's not just the one kitty but both. Tonight I'll feed another flavor (Tuna 7% carbs) and see how they eat. confused_cat
 
+10 275

Whatever Poopy's +11 is, I'm going to go ahead with his shot. I'm thinking I need to drop his sliding scale back down .1u each level.

Thoughts?
 
Are you thinking about scaling back to get a shootable AMPS just in case he goes too low? Youve held The Poopster steady on the 1.6 to great results!
 
No, scaling back for better over all numbers. When the sliding scale was 1.5u for the 250-300 range (which is now 1.6u) he seemed to get better over all numbers. No greens, but also no pinks at PS.

I firmly believe this mornings AMPS was due to the decrease in food intake. They only ate a total of 3-4 oz. in the PMPS cycle - that's two kitties at 1.5-2 oz each. Unreal. Today has been better as now half the 13 oz. is gone but still not like they used to do. (Used to eat 13 oz in a 12 hour cycle with an occasional added 5.5 oz.)

It's been a rainy, laid back day today, with both of them snoozing like Rip Van Winkle. Litter box has seen a bit of action (but no poops) since +4.

This not eating thing is really starting to bother me.
 
I was thinking about the Poopster all day wishing he would keep surfin,
oh well, Is it new food that you are feeding them, maybe they dont like it?
Is it a specific food?
What are you shootin tonight?
 
My civvie Alby won’t eat new food sometimes, and we never change the brand or flavor we use, I am just talking about getting a new case, sometimes he won’t eat it. I coax him with chicken or shrimp in it or catnip on top.

That being said, Asher really needed less insulin when we cut his food by 1/3 so he can loose some weight. So if your kitty is food sensitive, surly that would make a difference in his numbers/dose.
 
I was feeding a mix of Special Kitty and Sophisticat.
Then, a couple of weeks ago, I trialed feeding one food (and the results were great! See SS from 2/5-2/10).
Then I upped the scale by .1u for each range and they started a mutiny over having the same food.
2/11 AM 1/2 food remaining
2/11 ate most of PM food
2/12 AM ate 1/2 food
2/12 PM only ate the 5.5 oz Sophisticat food, none of the Special Kitty food
2/13 AM ate all food (Mixed Grill)
2/13 PM ate all food (Mixed grill)
2/14 AM all but 1/3C eaten (Super Supper)
2/14 PM all food eaten (Sophisticats Country Style)
2/15 AM resumed eating all food until 2/18 (mostly NOT Super Supper)
2/18 AM ate 1/2 food (Super Supper)
2/18 PM all food eaten (Mixed Grill)
2/19 AM ate 2/3 food (Mixed Grill)
2/19 PM ate 1/4 food (Super Supper)
2/20 AM ate 1/2 food (Sophisticats Turkey & Giblets)
I then fed what I had until I could buy more 4% carb food so they could have a variety but stick with 4% carbs.
Now it doesn't seem to matter what I offer - they just aren't eating.

Now that I've gone back and added what they ate when, and how much they ate...it seems they really are burned out on the Super Supper. But what's the deal about the Turkey and Giblets? confused_cat
 
+4 209
1/3 PM food gone. Added water and Poopy is eating again.

Litter box had two more urine deposits...normal in size...but no poop.

Could both cats become obstructed at the same time? Neither are eating much and neither have pooped since this morning. Both have been lazy butts all day.

Will see what happens tomorrow.
 
So glad to see poopy doing so good. Copper was getting a little stopped up and having a hard time getting it out. Dr. Lisa wrote in a thread that i should try 1/8-1/4 tsp of miralax 2x/day. I started doing that and the next day he had a huge poop with no straining. So i give him now 1/8tsp 2x/day. It keeps him going great. Might want to try that if things don't move. But probably just that they are moving slower today.

Hope the poopster does well tonight. Copper is just staying high and flat these days. Don't know what to think anymore.

Have a great day tomorrow. Looking foward to seeing a good amps
 
Teresa and Poopy said:
Litter box had two more urine deposits...normal in size...but no poop.
No poop? What’s wrong with that picture? It's kind of like calling a 300 lb. guy...tiny. Tell Poopy he needs to live-up to his namesake. :-D

I've dabbled with Miralax with Marilyn too. Right now I'm not using it, but when I did, it was 1/16 tsp BID. I guess everything with these sweet little furry people is all about finding the right dose.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top