2/20 Mickey amps 319 pmps 260 +2 283 +4 381

Status
Not open for further replies.

Peggy and Mickey (GA)

Member Since 2010
er, I am lost. I am wondering about all the insulin that is stored in this shed...when is it going to let go? Or -do I have it wrong. From what I understand, todays dose kicks in in 2 or so?

I am not impatient, just wondering. :mrgreen:

I am going to bed 9:15p I cannot get anymore + shots here tonight. We are going backwards.

Could this be from the reduced shots? confused_cat
 
Re: 2/19 Mickey amps 319

confused_cat Yeah that shed thing is confusing - mostly, I think the tern "shed" is not accurate. Don't think of it as a storage shed where you shove stuff for an indefinite amount of time. It's more like a "time-release" mechanism, but even that is not accurate.

It works by having the insulin molecules bind and unbind to albumin in the subcutaneous tissue where you shot it and then again in the the blood stream. The binding and unbinding is repeated until the insulin gets used. The bound state prevents it from being used "as insulin" and delays absorption.

See this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LrtiKvSd2r8&feature=related Its kind of long, but if you advance it to about 3:25 that is where a nice animation starts that explains it pretty well. The only thing that is missing is the explanation that the "signaling begins" means the cell is able to take up glucose. Hope that helps to explain it.

I think Mickey needs more insulin, but I would not increase until after your 12 hr shift and the schedule is reset. And then I would only increase to .6u. I want to see what Vicky says about this with the schedule changes, but I think she is at work today, so it may be awhile before she responds.
 
Shiela

I got the vet tech to come over on Wed. She will be here by 5 she is working, so shot maybe 1/2 later. Best I can do under the circumstances. :(

Thanks for the youtube video!!

I wonder if I should give 0.50 tomorrow am...
 
Re: 2/19 Mickey amps 319 pmps 260!! Better

This afternoon and tomorrow am are both +12 shots, right? (you are done moving him for this shift period?). Then it is probably OK to shoot .5u tomorrow.

Glad you got someone to come and give the pm shot so it isn't really late.
 
Re: 2/19 Mickey amps 319 pmps 260!! Better

Yes, we are back to #1 I believe. Ok, tomorrow at 5am I will give 0.50 Thank you. :-D
On a happy note, I had Mickey chasing the lazer light. He did not move off of the couch but he moved..Go big guy!!
I opened the B12 shot tonight, the needle is enormous!!! I may wait until my tech comes on Wed to let her give it to him. Very scary, it must be an inch or so.
 
Hi Peggy,
Sheila was right, I worked today, so am just now checking in. Am I correct that since the vet tech can come over, you won't have to change his shot time as drastically on Wednesday? I think I'm going to have to print out what I typed up for you so I can keep track! :lol:

Yes, I think the reduced dose would cause his numbers to increase somewhat, especially when you consider we probably are not quite there yet with a good dose. I am encouraged that he has not had any really high numbers and seems to be fairly steady without major dips either.

I haven't really paid much attention to what needles Gandalf's acupuncture vet uses to give his B12, but I'm really glad she does it! She also gives him his Adequan shots and those used to make me really nervous. If you are shooting under the skin, like insulin, with a longer needle the worst part is causing a through and through, where the needle comes back out of the skin. Hopefully the tech can show you a technique to prevent that.

Have we decided when you should try .6U?
 
Just jumping in to answer - no, we have not decided to try .6u yet. (is that the "committee" we? :lol: )

What do you think, Vicky, start with .6u Tuesday evening? I supposed she could do Tues am also, but I am thinking that Peggy comes off a 12 hrs shift and has to be back at work in less that 12 hrs, so might be a little frazzled and maybe not the best time to change doses. What do you think, Peggy?
 
I was supposed to work the 12 hrs Monday. But got out of it. I won't be messing any the shots up this week. Vet tech coming Wed. SO, shot will only be a half hr late.

So, I will give 0.6 u Tue pm. I really wish these needles came with .1 measurements.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top