2/20 larry-lantus day 2/ AMPS 354 +7 366 PMPS 355

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/20 larry-lantus day 2/ AMPS 354 +7 366

Give 'em a bit of time. This forum isn't nearly as active as Tight Regulation or Health.
 
Hi! I hope Larry has a nice evening and you have a good rest. He will take a few days to build up his depot effect on the Lantus, so its early days now.

Welcome
 
ty linda! nice to meet u. yes he has been mostly in 300s. lower than usually on ps, but higher in general. amazing how amps and pmps was identical except 1 point diff! wow. then the 1 bg at plus7 i think it was only varied what, like 15 points? very stable, tho not optimal, numbers.
 
Hi Pam and Larry. Looks like you're already starting to see some better pre-shots for Larry...yay! I'm sure others have already mentioned it, but it takes 3-5 days, sometimes 7, for a new dose to fully take affect, which means a lot of patience. Something I'm trying to learn. Me and my kitty Max are pretty new to Lantus too, starting in December.
 
Good morning Pam and Larry.

As others have said Lantus takes a little bit to build up and start working. Right now you're use to working with N (nasty stuff). It and Lantus work completely different. With N you give the shot and almost immediately it goes to work and Larry's BGs start dropping it quickly brings him down and is completely out of his system by the next shot.

With Lantus each shot builds on the next. Its like filling an unblocked funnel. You're looking for a dose the keeps the top of the water level with the top of the funnel. When you start filling that funnel, you add more than what runs out the bottom but if you are at the right amount pretty soon you are adding only what has run out the bottom.

The water left in the funnel is like the shed that Lantus builds up under Larry's skin and the water flowing out the bottom is the dose Larry is using to bring down his BGs.

But if you pour too fast or too much you get hypo and if you pour not enough you get high flat numbers.

Does that make sense? Any questions?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top