2/20 Joe PMPS 100, +1 62, +2 48, +2.75 52 +3.25 63

Status
Not open for further replies.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6763

Shot .25 last night and fed and monitored closely. His dose has been reduced quickly, seems like I've had to hover over him for the last 5 cycles. I'm worried about what could happen if I'm not able to. Today's schedule I'll be away for +1 and possibly +2. DH will be around but not testing and he's planning to work on the basement so not really watching him either.

Yesterday
PMPS 62
Shot .25
+1 53
LC w/ gravy
+1.5 47
gravy
+1.75 55
gravy
2.25 56
2.75 63
3.5 63
Left food
+8 fed no test
+10 89
+11 74
+11.5 89

AMPS 89
Fed LC
+1 106
+1.5 87
+2.5 66
+3 59
+3.5 60
+6 139
+7 132
+8 100

PMPS 100
0.1
+1 62
+2 48
Gave HC
+2.75 52
More HC
+3.25 63
 
Re: 2/20 Joe +10 89, +11 74, +11.5 89

ohh...going up a bit at +11.5...

lets see what +12 says, and how soon after +12 do u leave?
 
Re: 2/20 Joe +10 89, +11 74, +11.5 89

wow! what a difference no dry has made! Lookin' beautifullllllll - So.. can you shoot late and then back your schedule up 1/2 hr ea cycle over the weekend?
 
Re: 2/20 Joe +10 89, +11 74, +11.5 89

I can push my AM appt back so I'll be home another 2 hours and I don't "have" to leave if things aren't going well.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe +10 89, +11 74, +11.5 89

if your appt is only an hour or so, go now.. you can catch him when you get back.. either or, but if you go later, you may have to dump HC before you go.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe +10 89, +11 74, +11.5 89

Jill and I were talking last night - how about ANOTHER dose reduction? Can you shoot 0.1 units? Then monitor when you can - he shouldn't drop too low on this dose. It would be nice to hold the 0.1 dose for a few cycles before trying OTJ, but we'll have to let Joe take the lead.

Here is a picture of 0.1: http://www.flickr.com/photos/29764149@N ... otostream/
 
Re: 2/20 Joe +10 89, +11 74, +11.5 89

I already did the .25 but it was probably pretty close to that picture. Closer to .1 than .5.

I'm not going to leave until I know he's ok today and then I'll plan on the lower dose tonight but post early to be sure.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106

+1 106

Not surprising since he ate after his shot instead of before. Is that the right order for feeding and shots?
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106

looking good,, testing first is the norm, then feed and shoot - shoot and eat is ok too, all within 15 minutes or so..some kitties will graze the breakfast within the first hour and thats ok, as long as there's food going in.

you're doing great Mel!
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106

I test, feed, then shoot. Well, I shoot while Gabby is eating so it's pretty much simultaneous. She puts her face in her bowl, has a few mouthfuls and I'm shooting. The issue is more that you test before you feed so you are getting a test that's not influenced by food. For some beans who have cats that are picky eaters, they want to be sure their kitty has some food on board before they shoot. As long as Joe eats a little something and then will graze over the next hour or so, you're generally good.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106, +1.5 87

87 @ 1.5

I'm headed out the door in 15 minutes but will probably be gone for less than an hour and he has food.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106, +1.5 87

+3 59

Mixed a little HC with his LC. We have a vet appt at +5.5. Hope he has some nice numbers to show her.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106, +1.5 87, +2.5 66, +3 59 +3.5 60

I would stick with LC to keep Joe surfing in this range. I think he's doing great --you too! If you're comfortable with it, you can probably drop back to testing in an hour.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106, +1.5 87, +2.5 66, +3 59 +3.5 60

+6 139

Showing signs of vet stress and maybe a little too much high carb. He definitely wasn't happy to be there or in the car. He's acting calmer but I'll give him a break before testing again. Let things settle down.

The vet visit went well. She attended a conference on feline diabetes this week that evidently touched on a lot of the things I had planned to talk to her about. She brought up higher numbers from office testing before I did.

She was quickly noticed how much better his coat looks and that he wasn't quite as docile as last time we were there. I gave her my spreadsheet and her recommendation was to stop insulin, keep testing and call mid next week with numbers.

I know the board suggested going to .1 before trying OTJ. Is this to give a chance for the body to adjust to the dose after making such a quick drop?

+7 132
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +1 106, +1.5 87, +2.5 66, +3 59 +3.5 60

happy to hear the vet visit went well!

i figured your vet would tell you to withhold insulin. overall, vets aren't used to seeing the kind of numbers we see at home. i'll be honest, withholding insulin at this point could work out just fine for joe. he's obviously one of those kitties who responded well to a change in diet and a few weeks on insulin. however (you knew there would be a however, right? :-D ), a week ago joe was still in high (very diabetic) numbers. experience has shown us cats have a better chance of going into remission and staying in remission if we gradually reduce the dose to just a drop of insulin (0.1u)... holding that dose for 5 - 7 days if possible. because of the rapid reductions we've taken with joe, my personal feeling (based on his ss and what i've seen and learned here since i arrived in 2006) is to go ahead with the 0.1u dose for now. call it "insurance". if 0.1u is too much insulin, he'll show us either by dropping below 50 or throwing inverted curves. an example of an inverted curve right before stopping insulin can be seen on alex's 2006 lantus ss (link in my signature).

to shoot or not to shoot... it's really up to you.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +6 139, +7 132 (Vet visit)

ps to my last post:
an example of the weaning process can be seen on alex's 2009 levemir spreadsheet (link in my signature).
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +6 139, +7 132 (Vet visit)

Thanks Jill. I knew there would be a good reason. It was obvious he couldn't safely stay where he was but I also know it should take some time to see the results of a change. We don't "really" know how much action is coming from each new shot or if he's using up some of the storage from previous shots.

Love the pics on your ss :).

He's back down to 100 now.
 
Re: 2/20 Joe AMPS 89, +6 139, (Vet visit) +8 100

good luck with whatever you decide. Joe is doing fantastic, it's not really a matter of whether he'll go OTJ, just when, and figuring out what the best way is to get him there. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/20 Joe PMPS 100, +1 62

good choice. :smile:

I hope Joe will let us keep this dose for a little while, for the reasons Jill outlined. At this point I think it is totally his decision, so we're just along for the ride!
 
Re: 2/20 Joe PMPS 100, +1 62, +2 48, +2.75 52

you can feed a little more HC gravy here to try to get a little more of a bump. Then check again in 30 minutes.

Joe is really something!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top