2/20 Jax- Cycle going up, down, up, down. What gives?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Jax

Member Since 2011
Good Morning Everyone! ~O)

Yesterday's cycle was...strange as it took a while for the insulin to move his numbers but I have a theory on that. Let me begin the recap!

PMPS 432(+11) 1.2u given and fed DM.
+3 407 At this point I'm thinking what the...?!? Muscle shot? Cause it sure as heck wasnt a fur shot.
+5 337 Ok. Not a fur shot but Jax must have traveled to Mars (way past the Moon at this point) at PMPS when fed because it has taken this long to bring down the BG. I have given up hope on this cycle as nadir is right around the corner.
+7 139 Hope resurfaces!
+9 135 Could shout for joy! Will he surf this out?
AMPS 271 1.2u given and back to FF fed.

Was hoping for a lower AMPS, Yes, I know... funny in light of yesterday, but I am pleased this cycle turned around as it did. Another lesson, do not muck around with the DM at feeding time when staring the 400's in the face. ohmygod_smile

Anyway, looking forward to what today will bring! Hope Jax does good work. :-D

(Anti Jinx and all that... :-D )
 
Re: 2/20 Jax- 271 AMPS

Morning Lisa!
Great cycle last night!
You and Jax are looking awesome
Great job! Hope you get to enjoy some of your day off today!
:mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/20 Jax- 271 AMPS

Good Afternoon everyone!

So far this cycle has been a bust. Very, very strange. I'd like some opinions because I'm my scratching my head over here. Recap so far:

AMPS 271 1.2u given and FF fed
+3 395 Wondering if a reverse curve is setting up.
+5 295 Ok. Not a fur shot but what the heck is going on?
+6 313 1.5oz snack given
+7 320

I've been using this vial for 11 days or so. It is possible that we now need to increase the dose? Someone here said their new vial is potent for 2 weeks then goes to normalcy. Dh says 1.4 tonight and he'll stay up to get the curve. My gut is telling me to also increase. It took a while for the dose to lower him last night, longer than normal, then he managed to coast along for a bit.

1.4 is on the table. Not looking forward to the PMPS if we are now at 320. 5 hours to go. Not good at all.
 
Re: 2/20 Jax- 271 AMPS

I think I would stay with 1.2 for one more cycle, but I tend to be conservative and you have good instincts with Jax.
 
Re: 2/20 Jax- 271 AMPS

I agree with Sue, Lisa, and even think more than one cycle may be needed at this dose. Jax has been going up and down on the same dose and hasn't settled.

The cycles on 1.2u - one morning he runs high, that evening low, next morning real low and got a reduced dose, ran low again that night, then high again this morning. I'm looking across the cycles - not just the high numbers. :smile:
 
Re: 2/20 Jax- 271 AMPS

Thanks for the input Sue and Teresa. These are dance moves that I don't know the steps to.

My eyes cannot believe this cycle..
AMPS 271
+3 395
+5 295
+6 313
+7 320
+9 419
+11 344

I just dont know what to think? Anyone ever have a cycle that goes up and down like this? What does this mean?
 
Okay, take this for what is worth!

I have always read and "heard" from some of the "old timers" here, that a much higher +9 or +10 than the next preshot means too much insulin. The thought being-- the body is fighting the excess insulin by dumping "sugar", and when the duration of the insulin, which is normally 9 to 10 hours runs out...the body quits fighting it and the BG comes back down. In essence, the body dumps sugar while the insulin is "strong" and then at the end of the cycle, when the insulin loses it's "punch", the body quits fighting it and the BG comes back down.

So, if that is true-- it looks like a food spike early in your first climb...the body fighting it and the bg holds flat..and then it comes back down when the insulin poops out.

Is that what it really means? I don't know! But, it is a thought process. Truly, normally when I have witnessed the higher +9 or +10, the cycle did not stay flat, but instead dropped--went up high and came back down.
 
Thanks Kim for the insight. In this case he bounced back (??!!??) to 423 PMPS. Not sure what gives but going to go with 1.4u and see what happens. Ugh. I hate this.
 
I was going back and reading some of the earlier post in the thread....and I am the one that said that the new vials "normally" seem to be more "potent" for about two weeks. With Kitty, I have to reduce for about 2 weeks when starting a new vial, and then after that I have to increase back to her "normal" dose to get the same results. I don't know if that is true of every cat or vial--but, it is what I have found to be true with Kitty.

Good Luck!
 
I am thinking that he was high all day from surfin the blues as long as he did
last night. I think I would old for another day or increase if Hubby promises to stay up and
do a curve for you (full night rest for you!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top