2/20 Hendrick PMPS 412 +2 298 +4 291

Hendrick Cuddleclaw

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Last night's evening dose, I overdrew the 2u by just a hair, probably somewhere around 2.125-2.25, like I always do. Then I NORMALLY withdraw the needle, tap for air bubbles, and meter it down to 2u like I was taught. But last night I had the bright idea to go to the shot spot first, and then meter it down. Never before have I done this. But I wanted to use the readers that I keep there to make sure I got it right at 2u.

I get my wife and we go to the shot spot, call Hendrick over, shoot the dose. And then and only then do I realize I never metered down to 2u so he got more than 2u, not sure how much more probably .125-.25u.

We gave him some extra MC snacks to offset any potential immediate action/dive from the increase, and that seemed to work well. Kept a close eye on him for the evening, extra mc at +1, +2 and at +3 he was 277, no dive.

so, in summary, I suck and screwed up, does it impact my TR schedule? Like does it reset the number of days I hold 2u or something like that? Any other concerns?

@FrostD @tiffmaxee @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Diane Tyler's Mom or any other resident expert please advise and thanks :)
 
Good morning…
You now know the importance of being mindful that you are fully present when preparing the syringe. I’ve been here since 2008 and there have been a few very scary and sobering situations. Everyone should make it a habit to cross check before shooting.

As far as the dose, all things considered, particularly his potential for ketone development, I lean towards it being time to increase but definitely see what other folks think.

I do think it’s time to sprinkle a test or two here and there in the PM+6 through PM+11 zone. It’s 1/4 of the picture that you are missing. Ideally when you step back a bit so that you see the whole ss there should not be any wide open white spaces.
 
Good morning…
You now know the importance of being mindful that you are fully present when preparing the syringe. I’ve been here since 2008 and there have been a few very scary and sobering situations. Everyone should make it a habit to cross check before shooting.

OMG this so much, I said the same thing to my wife immediately afterwards -- ok, from here on we ALWAYS take one last look at the syringe before shooting, no matter how many times we looked at it before or think we checked it already. Just make it a thing that is part of the routine.

Of course, feel super dumb that we didn't already do that. Seems obvious in hindsight. "Experience...it's that thing you get, just after you needed it"

As far as the dose, all things considered, particularly his potential for ketone development, I lean towards it being time to increase but definitely see what other folks think.

I do think it’s time to sprinkle a test or two here and there in the PM+6 through PM+11 zone. It’s 1/4 of the picture that you are missing. Ideally when you step back a bit so that you see the whole ss there should not be any wide open white spaces.


Regarding an increase, as I understand it since we saw nadirs in the blues on this dose I am to hold it from that point forward for 10 cycles? But maybe that is shortened due to his ketone history, is that what you're saying?

I have been thinking the same about the testing. Have never tested him between 11:30 PM and 5:45 AM, not once. Have to get on that.

Thank you for the response and taking the time out of your day and life to look at his SS. Always makes me emotional lol, when complete strangers help another person by spending life's most precious commodity: TIME
 
Being a nurse in my other life,I always check drugs, injections 3 times……before I draw up I check I have the correct the dose that I am going to draw up, then I check after I draw up and finally the last thing I do before I give the dose is to say aloud the dose and check the syringe.
Another good habit to get into is to put out 2 syringes into a glass before the first dose in the morning. And use those two syringes for that day. Then, if for some reason, you can’t remember if you gave the dose or not (and this does happen) you can look at the syringes in the glass and see how many are left. Also always record somewhere as soon as you give the dose…that’s another safely measure.
 
Being a nurse in my other life,I always check drugs, injections 3 times……before I draw up I check I have the correct the dose that I am going to draw up, then I check after I draw up and finally the last thing I do before I give the dose is to say aloud the dose and check the syringe.
Another good habit to get into is to put out 2 syringes into a glass before the first dose in the morning. And use those two syringes for that day. Then, if for some reason, you can’t remember if you gave the dose or not (and this does happen) you can look at the syringes in the glass and see how many are left. Also always record somewhere as soon as you give the dose…that’s another safely measure.

good morning and ty, great tips. Happy Monday :)
 
plan is to test every 2 hours tonight for the whole cycle

gonna be a wild night....just gotta pretend I'm on vacation in Mackay, QLD where my wife is from
 
Back
Top