? 2/20 Dosing advice. Caninsulin to Lantus

Sebastian & Lila

Member Since 2024
Hi Everyone!!:bighug::bighug:
I'm Sebastian's mom! He was recently diagnosed here is the link from my first post. I'm planning to change from Caninsulin to Lantus tomorrow. I need advice if I should keep the same dose (1 unit) or if I should lower the dose.
Sebastian has improved and looks more cheerful (although he is still very hungry:rolleyes:)
 
Hello and welcome to LBL. I think you'll be fine sticking with the same Lantus dose (1 unit). The only reason we'd lower it is if Sebastian was see low 100's or under on his Caninsulin dose. And you've been doing a great job testing so far.
 
Hello and welcome to LBL. I think you'll be fine sticking with the same Lantus dose (1 unit). The only reason we'd lower it is if Sebastian was see low 100's or under on his Caninsulin dose. And you've been doing a great job testing so far.
Thank you very much, sometimes I get paranoid with all the numbers and info:confused: Just making sure I don't mess up:nailbiting:
 
Don't worry, you'll be what we call a testaholic in no time. :) Getting data and figuring out how Sebastian uses the insulin will help you in the long term. You'll be better able to predict what his cycles look like and when he might go low.

One thing that can help us, could you put a blank line after today in the spreadsheet, and label that line "Start Lantus" so we an easily see when the switch happened.

How he's going to respond to Lantus the first couple days is hard to guess, so it's good you are testing. The Lantus onset (when it starts to take effect) is typically 2-3 hours after the shot. The nadir, or low point, is usually later than you've seen with Caninsulin. And one last thing, it might take a few days to start seeing how the Lantus is doing, as the depot builds. Or not, cat's don't like being predictable.

If you have any questions, please ask. We love to help here. You also might want to look at other people's spreadsheets, especially when they were new. Or read threads from other people who are fairly new. They may ask questions you are thinking of. I found it a great way to learn when I was new. Neko took a long time to get into good numbers, I had plenty of time to read.
 
Hi Lila, welcome!! Sebastian is absolutely adorable!! Wishing you luck with your sweet baby.
Wendy has given you great advice. Just read lots of good information here. Poke around. There’s tons of information to help you. And post with a question when you need an answer.
Have a great day :cat::cat:
 
How he's going to respond to Lantus the first couple days is hard to guess, so it's good you are testing. The Lantus onset (when it starts to take effect) is typically 2-3 hours after the shot. The nadir, or low point, is usually later than you've seen with Caninsulin. And one last thing, it might take a few days to start seeing how the Lantus is doing, as the depot builds. Or not, cat's don't like being predictable.

If you have any questions, please ask. We love to help here. You also might want to look at other people's spreadsheets, especially when they were new. Or read threads from other people who are fairly new. They may ask questions you are thinking of. I found it a great way to learn when I was new. Neko took a long time to get into good numbers, I had plenty of time to read.

Thank you! I'm going to take advantage of the weekend and do as many tests as necessary. I have found the "forum search" function very useful, I'm really grateful for all the information and nice people in this forum :bighug:
 
Hi Lila, welcome!! Sebastian is absolutely adorable!! Wishing you luck with your sweet baby.
Wendy has given you great advice. Just read lots of good information here. Poke around. There’s tons of information to help you. And post with a question when you need an answer.
Have a great day :cat::cat:

He really likes to show of his sweaters :rolleyes:
Thanks for all the help :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi!
I didn't know if I should post another thread, but today we got a low number at Preshot 66, 15 minutes later 72. His BG is raising but not too much, honestly I don't feel comfortable with shooting low numbers since I had got 200-300 at Preshot so far :confused:
 
Hi!
I didn't know if I should post another thread, but today we got a low number at Preshot 66, 15 minutes later 72. His BG is raising but not too much, honestly I don't feel comfortable with shooting low numbers since I had got 200-300 at Preshot so far :confused:
Hi. You should start another thread for today.
Absolutely don’t shoot a 66.!!!
Way too low!!
 
Below is information about what to do if you see a low preshot like you did today.

Great job posting for help!!


The following guidelines are suggested for Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars users following the Start Low Go Slow approach:

If the preshot number is far below usual preshot numbers:
  • Do you need to stay on schedule? Then skip the shot.
  • Do you have some flexibility with your schedule? Then stalling to wait for the number to rise might be a good option. Don't feed, retest after 30-60 minutes, and decide if the number is shootable.
  • Repeat until the cat either reaches a number at which you are comfortable shooting, or enough time has passed that skipping the shot is necessary.
If the preshot number is near kitty's usual preshot numbers:

Look at your data to see what numbers you have shot in the past and decide what would be a safe, shootable number for your cat. Don't feed. Stall until kitty reaches the preshot number you've decided on and then shoot.
We usually don't suggest or recommend shooting a preshot number less than 90 mg/dL when following the SLGS Method. Remember that with SLGS, generally speaking, your goal is to achieve flat numbers that are greater than 90 mg/dL. However, let experience, data collected, knowledge of your cat, and availability to monitor help in making the best decisions for your cat.

If kitty is dropping faster or lower than you'd like, please see "Don't Panic! or How to Handle Low Numbers" and post for help or suggestions.
 
That's really helpful. I will wait for the dosing advice :bighug:
I’m hoping someone with lots of experience will hop on to give you good advice on how to handle that very low number. You did great by posting for help.
Every day you will want to start a new thread and if you have a problem, use the question mark and write something like LOW PRESHOT STALLING OR HELP WITH DOSE URGENT. You want to get attention to help making a decision. :)
 
I’m hoping someone with lots of experience will hop on to give you good advice on how to handle that very low number. You did great by posting for help.
Every day you will want to start a new thread and if you have a problem, use the question mark and write something like LOW PRESHOT STALLING OR HELP WITH DOSE URGENT. You want to get attention to help making a decision. :)
I'm really thankful that I found this forum :bighug: This is his first low number Preshot so I had a lot of doubts :nailbiting:
 
Back
Top