Patty & Champ
Member Since 2011
Last condo
Yesterday went like this:
AMPS 286 (fed 1.2 oz raw)
+1.5 (fed 1 oz FF 5%)
+5.5 101 (fed 1 oz FF 5%)
+7 85
PMPS 92 (fed 0.5 oz HM plus 0.5 oz FF 5%)
+1.5 101 (fed 0.8 oz FF 5%)
+3 49 (fed large spoonful FF 18% plus drop of honey)
+4 58 (fed 0.5 oz FF 11% plus drop of honey)
+5 78
+6 69 (fed spoonful FF 11%)
+7 75
+8 65 (fed spoonful FF 11%)
+9 78
+10 107
If it wasn't for my daughter having today off from school and, therefore, being able to stay up last night, I really don't know what I would have done. This has been how Champ's sugars have been just about every night for a long while. I got next to no sleep last week because I'm scared to go to bed since his BG's seem to drop continuously all night unless I prop them up with MC, HC, honey, both, all three, etc. As it is, I didn't go to bed until midnight last night, had my daughter wake me up at 1 a.m. to ask me what to feed him, and then had to get up at 5 a.m. I can't keep doing this. I shaved his dose two days ago in the hope of getting some sleep. After last night, I shaved his dose again this morning. I don't know that Champ is considered a newly diagnosed diabetic since we've been at this 11 months so I'm not sure if he earns a reduction for BGs below 50 or below 40. He did hit 49 last night so I took the reduction. I know I'm supposed to catch his BGs before they drop significantly so I can nip them in the bud before they go too low, and I'm doing the best I can, though sometimes it seems I would have to check him every half hour to be successful. Unfortunately, I can't afford the amount of strips I'm using now, much less if I have to test more. I sure hope this latest shave in dose will allow me to get more sleep!!
The last time I ordered strips from ADW, I noticed a meter called the Glucocard Vital. It looks like the Relion Ultima, which I've never used (I have the Confirm). When I ordered my strips for the Confirm, I also ordered a Vital meter with 50 test strips so I could test it out. I tested the same drop of blood with both meters multiple times and they are never more than 20 points apart, and only when the Confirm number is over 120. Under 120 on the Confirm, the Vital is always within 5 points. Has anyone used the Vital on a consistent basis and can give me info on how you like it? The only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't beep when you insert the strip, when the strip is full of blood, and when the number is displayed. The Confirm beeps at all those times and has spoiled me. The only good thing about it not beeping when the strip is full is that it doesn't beep near your cat's ear. I always buy the "buy four boxes get one free" of the Confirm strips (Glucoard 01) which costs $69.99. The Vital strips "buy four boxes get one free" only costs $45.99. We're talking a $25 savings!!! I'm thinking I may have to change meters just so I can afford how many strips I'm forced to use every day!! Anyway, let me know if any of you have any info on this meter please!!!
Yesterday went like this:
AMPS 286 (fed 1.2 oz raw)
+1.5 (fed 1 oz FF 5%)
+5.5 101 (fed 1 oz FF 5%)
+7 85
PMPS 92 (fed 0.5 oz HM plus 0.5 oz FF 5%)
+1.5 101 (fed 0.8 oz FF 5%)
+3 49 (fed large spoonful FF 18% plus drop of honey)
+4 58 (fed 0.5 oz FF 11% plus drop of honey)
+5 78
+6 69 (fed spoonful FF 11%)
+7 75
+8 65 (fed spoonful FF 11%)
+9 78
+10 107
If it wasn't for my daughter having today off from school and, therefore, being able to stay up last night, I really don't know what I would have done. This has been how Champ's sugars have been just about every night for a long while. I got next to no sleep last week because I'm scared to go to bed since his BG's seem to drop continuously all night unless I prop them up with MC, HC, honey, both, all three, etc. As it is, I didn't go to bed until midnight last night, had my daughter wake me up at 1 a.m. to ask me what to feed him, and then had to get up at 5 a.m. I can't keep doing this. I shaved his dose two days ago in the hope of getting some sleep. After last night, I shaved his dose again this morning. I don't know that Champ is considered a newly diagnosed diabetic since we've been at this 11 months so I'm not sure if he earns a reduction for BGs below 50 or below 40. He did hit 49 last night so I took the reduction. I know I'm supposed to catch his BGs before they drop significantly so I can nip them in the bud before they go too low, and I'm doing the best I can, though sometimes it seems I would have to check him every half hour to be successful. Unfortunately, I can't afford the amount of strips I'm using now, much less if I have to test more. I sure hope this latest shave in dose will allow me to get more sleep!!
The last time I ordered strips from ADW, I noticed a meter called the Glucocard Vital. It looks like the Relion Ultima, which I've never used (I have the Confirm). When I ordered my strips for the Confirm, I also ordered a Vital meter with 50 test strips so I could test it out. I tested the same drop of blood with both meters multiple times and they are never more than 20 points apart, and only when the Confirm number is over 120. Under 120 on the Confirm, the Vital is always within 5 points. Has anyone used the Vital on a consistent basis and can give me info on how you like it? The only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't beep when you insert the strip, when the strip is full of blood, and when the number is displayed. The Confirm beeps at all those times and has spoiled me. The only good thing about it not beeping when the strip is full is that it doesn't beep near your cat's ear. I always buy the "buy four boxes get one free" of the Confirm strips (Glucoard 01) which costs $69.99. The Vital strips "buy four boxes get one free" only costs $45.99. We're talking a $25 savings!!! I'm thinking I may have to change meters just so I can afford how many strips I'm forced to use every day!! Anyway, let me know if any of you have any info on this meter please!!!