2/20 Champ PMPS 207, +3 216

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Last condo

Yesterday went like this:

AMPS 286 (fed 1.2 oz raw)
+1.5 (fed 1 oz FF 5%)
+5.5 101 (fed 1 oz FF 5%)
+7 85
PMPS 92 (fed 0.5 oz HM plus 0.5 oz FF 5%)
+1.5 101 (fed 0.8 oz FF 5%)
+3 49 (fed large spoonful FF 18% plus drop of honey)
+4 58 (fed 0.5 oz FF 11% plus drop of honey)
+5 78
+6 69 (fed spoonful FF 11%)
+7 75
+8 65 (fed spoonful FF 11%)
+9 78
+10 107

If it wasn't for my daughter having today off from school and, therefore, being able to stay up last night, I really don't know what I would have done. This has been how Champ's sugars have been just about every night for a long while. I got next to no sleep last week because I'm scared to go to bed since his BG's seem to drop continuously all night unless I prop them up with MC, HC, honey, both, all three, etc. As it is, I didn't go to bed until midnight last night, had my daughter wake me up at 1 a.m. to ask me what to feed him, and then had to get up at 5 a.m. I can't keep doing this. I shaved his dose two days ago in the hope of getting some sleep. After last night, I shaved his dose again this morning. I don't know that Champ is considered a newly diagnosed diabetic since we've been at this 11 months so I'm not sure if he earns a reduction for BGs below 50 or below 40. He did hit 49 last night so I took the reduction. I know I'm supposed to catch his BGs before they drop significantly so I can nip them in the bud before they go too low, and I'm doing the best I can, though sometimes it seems I would have to check him every half hour to be successful. Unfortunately, I can't afford the amount of strips I'm using now, much less if I have to test more. I sure hope this latest shave in dose will allow me to get more sleep!!

The last time I ordered strips from ADW, I noticed a meter called the Glucocard Vital. It looks like the Relion Ultima, which I've never used (I have the Confirm). When I ordered my strips for the Confirm, I also ordered a Vital meter with 50 test strips so I could test it out. I tested the same drop of blood with both meters multiple times and they are never more than 20 points apart, and only when the Confirm number is over 120. Under 120 on the Confirm, the Vital is always within 5 points. Has anyone used the Vital on a consistent basis and can give me info on how you like it? The only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't beep when you insert the strip, when the strip is full of blood, and when the number is displayed. The Confirm beeps at all those times and has spoiled me. The only good thing about it not beeping when the strip is full is that it doesn't beep near your cat's ear. I always buy the "buy four boxes get one free" of the Confirm strips (Glucoard 01) which costs $69.99. The Vital strips "buy four boxes get one free" only costs $45.99. We're talking a $25 savings!!! I'm thinking I may have to change meters just so I can afford how many strips I'm forced to use every day!! Anyway, let me know if any of you have any info on this meter please!!!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79 - ??? ABOUT METER

Hugs to you Patty! Wish I could give you some great advice, but Tarragon is a night dropper as well so I have none. I only give an automatic reduction for under 40. Otherwise, I make him go under 50 3 times before I reduce, but Tarragon is not big in keeping his reductions.

I use the Glucocard Vital and love it, as well as love the cost of the strips. I used the Bayer Contour before that and it had all the beeps so that took some getting used to. I always get the "buy four boxes get one free" only costs $45.99 when they have it. When they don't, you can get 200 strips + a meter for $43, so that still isn't bad.

Hugs to you my friend!!! Hang in there.
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79 - ??? ABOUT METER

Kitty's are still 'newly diagnosed' for the first 12 months so Champ still scrapes in - just.

Sorry you're getting so sleep deprived at the moment, I think this is the reason Mr Green has his eyes shut :mrgreen: I never used to be able to sleep during the day but I do catch a nap here and there these days, and I'm getting better and better at it.

The consolation prize is that these are some really good numbers for Champ - heal pancreas heal!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

I just took a look at Champ's SS as an observer instead of someone who's living it, and I need to quit b!itchin!!! Like Serryn reminded me, Champ's pancreas is in healing numbers and, Good Lord, Patricia, isn't that what we're trying to accomplish?!!! I guess I've gotten so tired I've forgotten to look at the big picture. I do hope I can get more sleep, but I'm going to do what it takes to get my big boy to stay in these numbers!!

Thanks for the info, Melissa!! I've never heard anyone mention that meter before. I'm glad to know someone else is using it. I'm going to order some strips today since I've only got one box of the Confirm one's left. It's nice to know I've found a way to save a little more money on strips!!

BTW....Target has Fancy Feast on sale for less than $11 for a box of 24 cans. It was in this Sunday's circular. I'm heading there after work!!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

Wow, Patty, Champ's numbers are awesome, but it's taking a toll on your sleep. He really wants off the you know what! I can see why you need to look at the most reasonable cost savings on strips with all the testing. It sounds like your DD is helping! Hugs.
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

Great numbers for Champ!!!

I totally sympathize on the sleep but I think sometimes it gets down to healing numbers and healing pancreas vs zzzzzzzzzz. Some kitties are very compliant and have healing numbers and let their beans sleep. Others (ahem....who shall remain nameless but we know who they are), refuse to read the book.

(((Patty)))..you are doing great, my friend. Hang in there. Awesome cycle. Go check out "Who's Driving the Bus" condo...it's highsterical!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

Beautiful numbers, Champers!!!!!!!

and for you guys- you'll know where this idea came from :lol: :lol:

funny-pictures-cat-wears-cone-on-head.jpg
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

Those are some fab-u-lous numbers, Champ! I'm sorry you're sleep deprived these days, Patty, but he is lookin' good!!!

Thanks for the info about the Vital! I'm going to look into that, once my current round of strips runs down.

I hope you're having a great night!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

Hi Patty, look at those pretty numbers! :mrgreen: I remember feeling the same way, wanting those great numbers and then being so sleep deprived when I got them that I would *wish* for a bounce so I could sleep! ohmygod_smile Then the bounces got so short that I was afraid to sleep because they would clear in a few hours, and down Tinkles would go again. @-) I sympathize with you....but would you be happier with yellows and pinks? (I didn't think so! :lol: )

Hang in there, grab a nap when you can...those 20 minute power naps really DO help. ;-) Champ is looking AWESOME!

No experience with the meter, I use the Confirm....that's a great deal on strips though!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

Hi patty - no hep with the meter - I use the maxima. though I will say the maxima is a very basic meter - no beeps etc. I rally don't miss the beeps at all, neither does Mannie. :lol:

I can sympathize on the loss of sleep, though lately Mannie has been cutting me some slack,. I'm not too sure if that is good or bad. :lol: I too use the <50 three times rule, or an auto if less than 40. I think you are doing great with Champ! The numbers are so great. Hang in there - I am with the comment on the power naps - they do help. My kids swear by them. I think you are dping great! I may have to send Mannie over for some lessons!
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

((((((((((Patty)))))))))) I'm glad that you got a break last night. :thumbup and so glad that you had a chance to step back and see how well this is going for Champ. Hang in there. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/20 Champ AMPS 123, +2 113, +4 79, +5 78, +7.5 119

niiiiiiiiice. :smile:

The lack of sleep can really pay off, trust me. Champ is looking great!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top