2/20 Carbonel AMPS 289 and not going anywhere?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sweetcherrypie

Member Since 2010
Can someone please have a look at Carbonel's spreadsheet and advise me as to whether I am giving too much Insulin or too little. When I started to use the Glargine Carbonel reacted well with reasonable bg#'s to start with. Since she had (as the rest of my cats had) a problem with a reaction to some tinned cat food her bg#'s don't seem to drop much below 288. My vet has now advised me to double Carbonel's dose form 1unit twice a day to 2 units twice a day. The more I increase the dose the worse her behaviour becomes. She now rarely gets out of her bed, talks to me or purrs and as I increase the Insulin her numbers just seem to get higher and she gets less communicative. :sad: I know the numbers should increase initially but I thought they would come down again after a few days on the same dosage. I am not up to 2.00 yet as I decided to go up slowly).
Carbonel is being fed a mixture of raw food and Feline Porta ( a german cat food with 14% protein) so I cannot imagine that it is the food. On the contrary I would have thought her BG#'s would have dropped slightly. I am trying to get her onto a solely raw food diet but I need a few supplements before she can have an all raw diet.
Any ideas please? I am feeling a bit desperate :cry:
Carol and Carbonel

https://spreadsheets1.google.com/pub?hl ... utput=html
 
Hi Carol. Good to have you stop by again.

The percent of protein in the food you're using is very low. For comparison, Fancy Feast Classic Chicken is 39% protein and Wellness, which is a higher quality cat food, is 30% protein. Both are 4% carbohydrate. (Make sure you are using "as fed" values not the guaranteed analysis.) It's the carbohydrate that is most important. I don't know of very many foods that are only 14% protein. Is it possible you have the percentages wrong? If you look in the FAQ section of Janet & Binky's food chart, there is an Excel spreadsheet that you can use to calculate the % of carbohydrates. You will need the "as fed" values, though.

It looks to me like Carbonel needs more insulin. I think you've got plenty of room to increase the dose to 1.75u.
 
Hi,
Thank you for your comment Sienne. This is a low carbo food. The breakdown is protein 14.0%, Crude fat 0,5% , moisture 79.0%, Ash2.0%, Crude fibre 0.1%, magnesium 0,0095%, Calcium 0.12%, and Phosphorous 0.1%. It says on the tin that it is 65% chicken and 35.0% chicken broth.
Carol and Carbonel
 
Hi, Carol,

Just curious because I am not familiar with this brand of food. Does it have all the added vitamins/minerals that kitties need?

Good luck getting Carbonel's numbers to respond!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top