2/20 Buster PMPS 198, +3 80, +4 71, +6 78

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 169
+3 131
+6 88
AMPS 71


Well, we fattened the dose from .94u to 1u last night. Oh how we love the 1u! Of course now I feel the need to pop home and check on him nailbite_smile Somehow I'll squeeze that in between meetings...he was last seen napping in my office chair without a care in the world. It's cold and rainy here today, so lizard watch will have to be another day.

Wednesday..half way there...half way there...Stay warm and surf safely LL!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 2/20 Buster AMPS 71

Nice greens Buster. Surf safely for your bean while she is out making money for you. Have a great day Tara!!
 
Re: 2/20 Buster AMPS 71, +3 119

Hi Tara :smile:

Very nice of Buster to pop up a bit for his +3 ;-) Hope he goes back in the green when you're home :smile:
 
Re: 2/20 Buster AMPS 71, +3 119, +5 141

Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope Buster gets back to green for you.
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198

What happened to the love for the 1u, Bu? :? Please come back down from there...TONIGHT!
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

I just remembered I had a question...Buster likes to hang out around 1u, but doesn't seem to want to hold a reduction once he earns it. It seems to take him about 12 cycles before he earns one, anyway. So, I think some people have been following an idea that you should get below 50 3 times before you attempt a reduction? What is that all about? Is Buster a candidate for that?
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

Tara --

Were you asking about the alternate strategy for a dose reduction? If so, it's three drops in the 40 - 50 range. You can either take a 0.25u reduction or shave the dose. If there's a drop below 40, it's still full 0.25u reduction.
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

Yes, I'm asking about that. I was pondering trying it, but I don't know if I should. I have been finding there's no way he'll take the full .25u reduction at this point. He didn't even hold half of that last time, which is how I ended up going from 1u to .88u and then fattened that to .94u for awhile. He seemed to really like that .94u. Seems like maybe I should wait for 3 drops below 50 at 1u, but then I think you'd need to be able to monitor pretty closely. Do I just need to keep at it the way I've been going and put some patience pants on, or try a different way of doing things?
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

I don't think it's a matter of monitoring any more closely. However, just like with everything else, it's an ECID thing.
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

Groovy. I'll mull it over for a bit, I suppose. Where is the black and white in this great mystery?!?!?
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

Tara & Buster said:
Where is the black and white in this great mystery?!?!?
ah, the million dollar question! If you find it, let me know. :lol:

waiting to go under 50 three times can be a good strategy for cats that have trouble holding reductions. With a cat that is in a relatively flat range, like Buster is, dipping a toe into the 40s every now and then doesn't necessarily have to mean that they need a reduction. Going to the 40s repeatedly can indicate that they are ready for a reduction, or going into the 30s.
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198 - 3 under 50 before reducing?

in the interest of clarification...

The original Tight Regulation protocol has this to say about reductions:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.


Notice that going under 50 three times is an option, but also notice that she specifies that reductions should be in 0.25u or 0.50u increments.

In the Modified protocol used by most in Lantus Land, we say the following:

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.


Notice that the modified protocol calls for a reduction for going under 50 ONE time (not three), but also notice that we allow for shaving the dose if a cat does not hold reductions well.

Basically, you can use the Modified protocol and reduce for going under 50 once and reduce by 0.25u, or using this protocol you can shave if your cat is one that doesn't hold reductions well. OR you can use the original protocol and wait for three times under 50, but then you'll need to take a full 0.25 unit reduction instead of just shaving.

In one way the original protocol is more aggressive by allowing you to wait until your cat goes under 50 three times to reduce, and in a different way the modified protocol is more aggressive by allowing for shaves instead of full reductions. Combining the two protocols should not be done because that would be more aggressive than either protocol allows.
 
Re: 2/20 Buster PMPS 198, +3 80

Thank you Libby and Sienne!! I will read that about 6 more times. I seem to be a shaver/fattener kinda gal, so maybe I'll just stick with that.

Looks like Buster turned it around TONIGHT alrighty! +3 snack has been consumed. I will get another check in before my standard +6.
 
Now that I've had a chance to sleep on it, I went back to analyze the last time Buster actually earned a reduction that stuck. He went from 1.25 to 1. That time I remember I had a difficult time getting him to come back up when he went below 50. In fact, I thought he was safe and rising, but he dipped below 40 later that same day. In other cases, I have been able to feed LC food and he pops right out of it. And so...now I'm leaning more towards the 3 dips below 50 idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top