2/20 Autumn amps-436,+2-258,+4-111,+6-260,+8-400

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
She was hanging in the 70s when I finally gave up on shooting last night at midnight and went to bed. But we had a snow storm blow in at about 4a.m. so this I suspect is partly bounce, partly pain and partly just the nature of N.

Since she's so high I went ahead and shot an increased dose of .25u just to give her a little extra help to climb off the mountain.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436

She is sure keeping you on your toes, Mel. I was wondering if some sort of massage might work on her back pain. I know there is information out there about doing it yourself. I don't know if she is a kitty who will let you touch her like that?
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436

When she first got here and was on Lantus I wasn't even sure I was ever gonna be able to test and shoot her without needing a transfusion. Now there isn't a place I can't touch her or anything I can't do with her.

Talked to a friend that rehabs injured wildlife an she suggested accupuncture. Since Autumn is already use to being poked with needles she felt she'd be a good candidate. She's emailing the info of the guy she uses since he only does critters.

The other thing she suggested is Arnica Montana but with Autumn being Diabetic she wasn't sure of it since it is given sub lingual as bb sized sugar pills. The herb itself is poisonous so it can't be given in its natural form.

Need to go dig out my herbology books and do some brushing up. There was a time were you could graze in my medicine cabinet. lol.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436

Poor baby! I'm sure those vast swings in numbers has her feeling yucky too. :sad:

Grazing in the medicine cabinet! :lol: I hear ya! I used to use various herbal teas for medicinal treatments. Had a book called 'Back To Eden' that gave instruction as what to use for any medical need. That was the only thing that got 2 teens thru Montezuma's revenge after a trip to Mexico. We thought we were gonna die! But using a couple different teas, we got thru it. I remember one was Coltshoof, can't remember the others, Geez! That was in the 70's, I'm lucky I remember anything from that era. :lol:

Have you checked on www.earthclinic.com ? Might be a help. Without that site I would have lost my feral to bladder stones 5 yrs ago. That's where I found out that ACV dissolves stones and it saved her life, she was almost completely shut off.
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436

Yeah she feels like trash right now. I hate NPH it hits too hard. If the PZI doesn't get here fairly soon I may stick her back on the Lev and just try to figure out a way to feed her solo to use food to steer her or bite the bullet and pay for Prozinc. Being able to chase numbers is definitely a benefit she needs but the N is just so harsh.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436,+2-258

Every time I post, I think "Of course, she has thought of that, this is Mel". I assume you feed several small snacks early on for the onset to (maybe) slow the drop?

And I am thinking this time is especially bad because she rose in the overnight hours when you couldn't catch the rise. The previous cycles when you caught the rise, she stayed in much better numbers.
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436,+2-258

Morning Mel!

Can you shoot the N in smaller doses a couple of hours apart? I'm thinkin' this answer is No 'cos you're at such a small dose anyway....maybe that would help keep her from dropping so horribly fast altho' KT does that on Lantus all the time.

YUCK on the snow!!!
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436,+2-258

Yep everyone eats every 4 hours during the day then there are frozen hockey pucks left out for nighttime noshing.

The biggest hurdle besides that there are 16 here who believe if Autumn eats they all should eats as well is that Casey so doesn't need access to all the food he can see. Especially now that he looks like a chubby kitty instead of a watermelon with feet. And I can't crate Autumn or isolate her without her losing her mind. She completely freaks and will fling herself at windows, doors or the crate.

Ah the joys of running a small zoo most with baggage from previous owners.

Sue and Deb know me well but for those that don't...yep all those names in my signature are all mine and it is even missing the drooler and the most recent addition the kitten Mariposa.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 2/20 Autumn amps-436,+2-258

Yup! Mel is our own personal 'zoo-lady'! :lol: I can't imagine! :lol: Have my hands full and only have 3 and only 1 sugarcat! :o
 
Now that looks more like an N cycle. I probably should have shot at +6 but waited until +8.

Looks like I'll be setting an alarm and start shooting every 6 hours.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
That's exactly what I said when I saw her numbers, normal N cycle. At least that gives you a vague idea when to shoot.

That's pretty much what I'm doing with Lucian. I'd check at +8, since that was the earliest he'd need it and if not, keep going until I find the right numbers. Lately he's looking at +9 or +10, so i'm gonna start testing at +9 and see if we need to wait. Last couple times I waited till +10, he was much higher than I wanted, would have been better to go for +9.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top