2/20/14 Wease Progress with Vetsulin. Daily updates

Status
Not open for further replies.
just wanted to say hi to such a cute Wease! sorry i dont know anything to give advice, just saying hi. larry says hello wease! :)
 
Thanks Larry :)

Wease +2 is 151. I think that's pretty good considering his BG was 142 at his PMPS time. He ate his normal meal and I gave 0 insulin.

I hope it starts to go down that means he is getting better right? But he hasn't went down in a long time, only increasing very slowly.
 
He might need a dose in the morning to help things along; he might be lower tomorrow morning. It's still too early to tell so I wouldn't worry too much. ;-)
 
I just checked it at +4 it went from 151 to 113 in 2 hours, haven't gave insulin in like 28 hours.

That's a good sign?
 
If he ate and the glucose went down, its a sign the pancreas may be working a little again. Definitely a good thing.

Small frequent meals will help the pancreas by spreading the workload out.
 
You can chase the numbers at this point. In other words, until and unless he gets over 200 mg/dL, don't shoot.

If over 200 mg/dL, give a token dose (0.25 of less).
 
just for conversation sake, how did u get ur name wease? r u part weasel? :) reminds me a lil of the jeffersons, and weezy. haha
wease is sooo cute! hes a magnet for love. :) how old is he? glad hes doing so well.
 
Dude, I have a special voice that I use when talking to my cat. I talk to my cat all the time, with funny little words like beedeez. And he talks back to me. By that I mean, I say outloud what I think he'd say to me, then I reply, then I talk for him, then I reply. lol I don't think it's weird at all.

As I'm sure you know, Wease is the CUTEST thing!

And I just wanted to say congrats on your progress so far. Looks like you guys are doing great!
 
Yea, I get picked on all the time for the kitty voice I talk in lol. Oh well I love my kitty!

His PMPS number is 129, another night without a shot!

Its been 48 hours without a shot now. If anyone cares to look at his spreadsheet do you think his numbers are still high? I thought good was 50 to 120?

I am not sure where to go from here.
 
My DH's friends would never let him live it down if they heard the cartoon voice he uses to talk to our cats. :-D

I'm thinking you may be able to bring Wease's numbers down just a hair overall by spreading out his meals a bit. Rather than feeding two big meals, maybe split it up into four meals? The smaller portions make for a lighter load for the pancreas to work on.
 
wow, jason, arent u glad u didnt blindly follow ur vets advice? and all these ppl helped u guys? :) i dont think larry would still be here if i hadnt intervened, and these nice ppl hadnt helped us. thank God i knew to research. after having diabetes around in family and friends since i was 9, i knew it sounded insane!
good luck guys! give weaser a kiss for me.
i think the 4 of us would get along great haha. only we have 7 here, and r running over! larry has a big family.
nightie weaser and j
 
I believe if I followed my vets advice of 2 units every 12 hours Wease would have went hypo and cost me thousands of $$ in vet bills. Or even worse died.

He was mad and said you looked up Dr google and didn't follow my advice you should get a new Vet.
 
NitroViper said:
I believe if I followed my vets advice of 2 units every 12 hours Wease would have went hypo and cost me thousands of $$ in vet bills. Or even worse died.

He was mad and said you looked up Dr google and didn't follow my advice you should get a new Vet.

And he should've gotten himself up to date!
 
sounds like a lot of vets, unfortunately. they definitely dont want u telling them anything new. glad i found a better 1.
how is wease today?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top