2/2 Zarley Dosage Advice Needed

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ihad to stay up late to get a +3 from the PM shot, and couldn't fall asleep after that -- terrified he would go into hypo (we're new to Lantus). Worse yet, I had to get up early for a dental appointment. In the middle of the night, I ended up giving him wet food that has a higher carb percentage than the stuff he's usually on. As a result, he was full of food before his AMPS, his numbers were of course higher, and by daybreak, I wasn't even functional enough to drive to the dentist. Thank God (literally) for good neighbors.

In hindsight, not the best move (especially since his numbers probably weren't low enough at any point to go into hypo anyway), but between being afraid to sleep and my having to be gone for several hours this morning, I didn't know what else to do. We have more snow coming tonight and this weekend and I shopped again today (including syringes, test strips for the back-up monitor and batteries for the main monitor). I literally have enough food and supplies to last us for two weeks if need be.

No responses needed. "Listening" is enough. And I just needed to vent. Thanks.
 
Re: 2/2 Zarley AMPS-412, +3-300

Venting is fine, but we're not gonna just sit here and read and not say cat_pet_icon breath and you're doing well!!

This will pass and you will learn that LC, MC and LC foods will be your best tools to make sure Zarley stays safe, well, next to your trusty meter of course.

So go easy and yourself, and hopefully catch up on some rest.

And look at you all stocked up for hibernation! :lol: very smart mommy bean!!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 2/2 Zarley AMPS-412, +3-300

Hi...just stopped in to say hello...glad you are well prepared for any snow...
good job! Ok...see you later ! :-D
 
Re: 2/2 Zarley AMPS-412, +3-300

Let's come back to this thread which was your first condo today for Zarley...can u add "DOSE Questions" to your subject line for now?

I'm glad u came back Traci!
 
Re: 2/2 Zarley AMPS-412, +3-300, +6-88,+9-147, PMPS 451

I'm at shot time now. Actually I'm beyond it.

Look at the nightmare of his numbers today because of my panic mode. I was sure, as with Vetsulin, he'd peaked too early and needed higher carb food. *sigh*

I want him on .75 or.5 ...see -- there I go again. Not sure.
 
Re: 2/2 Zarley AMPS-412, +3-300, +6-88,+9-147, PMPS 451

Tracy do you still want advice on what to shoot?
 
EYES PLEASE

well since ur already past schedule, how far behind now? 1/2 hour? 1 hour?

and u can make up the time tomorrow yes?
 
I'm just gonna shoot .75. I can't wait any longer. He's almost an hour past due and I want to get at least one check in before I go to bed.

I'm gonna stick with .75 for awhile. Not as "scary" as 1u and not as low as .5.

If he goes into the lower numbers, I'll post on here BEFORE I feel the need to go into panic mode and shovel higher carb food into him.

Thank you guys. From the bottom of my heart. Thank you.
 
here's my two cents worth....

Zarley is doing really well. Amazingly well for being on Lantus for just a few days. It's hard for a person to adjust to all of this at once. Many of us sit through weeks/months of frustrating high numbers before we get green. By the time we get the green, we're ready for it (craving it, even).

There are two trains of thought, and either is correct so it's just a matter of deciding which way feels right for you, because you have to take care of yourself too.

1) keep pushing and see if Zarley will go OTJ quickly. That does mean giving up some sleep and will probably mean doing a good bit of testing. The upside is that doing the testing will teach you how Zarley is responding to Lantus, so you WILL be able to go to bed comfortably in the near future. OR, the really big upside could be that Zarley might not be doing this dance for long at all. :mrgreen: He's bouncy right now, but it's very promising to have green this early in the game.

2) or back off a little bit, lower the dose a little bit, and ease yourself into things a little more slowly. Lowering the dose would mean he would probably lose the green. He may or may not still bounce to pink from there, time will tell. That would keep Zarley's numbers a little higher but will give you some breathing room, then when you're ready you can increase the dose if it's still needed.

Most of us here DO test a lot. This forum is mostly centered on a tight regulation protocol where most of us are aiming for remission. Lantus really is the gentlest insulin to use for cats, even if you choose to keep his numbers a little higher than most of us do. We do tend to advise based on the tight regulation protocol because that's what we know, but not everyone wants to take that road.
 
I thought the dose question was answered in your other condo! Sorry!! Libby is very experienced with Lantus and a voice to trust.

A few thoughts on feeding...

I generally test at +2 and give approx. 1/8 can of FF low carb. Feeding a few bites at times throughout the cycle takes pressure off the pancreas so you aren't overloading it with food and has the benefit of slowing any fast drops.

For the time being as a general rule of thumb, for numbers above 50, you can feed LC. Numbers in the 50s, especially if there's a big drop, for your comfort level, you can feed MC (mix LC + HC). Numbers that are in the 40s or below, feed HC. This is likely to change as you get comfortable with Lantus. I rarely feed Gabby pure HC. I usually will give her LC plus the gravy from HC even when her numbers hit the high 30s but I know how she responds. In the beginning of this journey, she got HC if she was in the 40s. Just don't over do it or Zarley will zoom up. You want a pretty green surf in the 50 - 70 range.
 
Okay. Makes sense. I think a slightly lower dose for a week would do wonders for my sanity (and Zarley's).

I just gave him .75 or a fat .5. I truly, truly hate these syringes. I went and bought another kind today. Same thing.

If the first little line is .5, I was able to see that line and a bit beyond it before the plunger. For consistency, I'm saying it's .75.

Thank you again.

I will trust all of you. There are no guarantees for any of us. I realize that. I am, by nature, wary of advice (not on on this board, but in general) at times. But I will trust here.
 
Hi Tracy
I waited until all the serious issues were dealt with to stop by and say hi.
We are new since November and have found this place amazing.
You have been visited so far by some truly amazing people, as everyone here is.

Just to ease your mind, I also was apprehensive at the begining to take advice, opinions and information from people on the internet that I do not know.
My family thought I was a bit nuts.

Now they all want to know what the board says, there is always someone here to help, encourage or give support and I truly found a bunch of people that yes, I call friends.

We all love our furbabies so much. You are in a great place. Trust yourself.
Good luck. We are all here for you. And by the way, I'm not sure if it was mentioned in the other postings, but we always make sure our kitties are safe. That is paramount!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top