Debra and Yoyo
Very Active Member
Day 15 @.40Units Lantus http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-5-217-7-5-222-pmps-215-4-282-6-5-219.210209/
Good morning,Long stream of yellows might be telling us something, come on down Yoyo
Have a great day Debra
I think the long string of flat yellows means it's a bounce that is about to break. It's important to keep track of those because if the bounce is about to break on its own, and you increase at the same time, the cycle can be extremely active.Please explain what is a long stream of yellow's is telling us? I noticed it is flat, which I think is good, but his numbers are too high. Please let me know your thoughts.
You wrote such a cute post this morning, you should be a "writer"....you sure have a way with words, I was smiling through the entire postI think the long string of flat yellows means it's a bounce that is about to break. It's important to keep track of those because if the bounce is about to break on its own, and you increase at the same time, the cycle can be extremely active.
That happened once to Bailey when her low preshot number was at the end of a full cycle of dropping numbers. I gave her regular shot, and she dropped even more @+1. I then had a hard time getting her to come back up, and that doesn't usually happen with Bailey.
Yoyo's been in yellow for a while, though, so I don't how to interpret that. If you are considering an increase, you can always post a dosing question.
They do that and make sure u lock itWell I just had a talk with Yoyo - and no more Internet for him. Somehow he is reading my posts. I'll have to keep the door shut.....He just dropped to 178; I'll see what he gives me @+5. Hopefully he won't go the wrong way
@Gill & George @Rosie & Bailey @carfurby @Bellasmom
hahahaSomehow he is reading my posts. I'll have to keep the door shut.....He just dropped to 178;
I agree, but with SLGS, I thought I am supposed to wait 7 days for nadirs to be more than 150hahaha
nice to see the blue, I'd let him see your computer, seems like the dosecrease threat worked a treat.
Great to see the blue but seriously though if he doesn't go below 150 I would still take him up, in line with the SLGS guidelines below
- If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
- If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
- If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
Technically you wait a week on a given dose before performing a curve to see where Yoyo's nadirs are. Here's the full portion of what Gill shared from the protocol:I agree, but with SLGS, I thought I am supposed to wait 7 days for nadirs to be more than 150
Glad it made you smile! Best part is, it worked! Bailey did a slow glide down. Now, the question is did the other kitties follow her lead and surf safely today?I was smiling through the entire post![]()
Hi DebraI agree, but with SLGS, I thought I am supposed to wait 7 days for nadirs to be more than 150
I agree with everyone that Yo does need a dosecrease. I just thought that I had to hold for 7 days before I gave him a dosecreas from last seeing 150 or less on his nadirs. I'm not sure if the other members know that I am following SLGS and not TR.Nice try, Yoyo, trying to escape the dosecrease threat with that 173.
Next time you want to avoid a dosecrease, read the protocol and go below 150.
*waiting to see if he will defend his honor tonight. Otherwise, looks like a consensus on the dosecrease.
Glad it made you smile! Best part is, it worked! Bailey did a slow glide down. Now, the question is did the other kitties follow her lead and surf safely today?
I think Bailey is telling Yoyo that a dosecrease is not such a bad thing. Her dosecrease worked out ok, she feels great, and now she gets to play and keep me up all night long.![]()
Thank you...I appreciate you telling me these things. I was just posting above that I thought if Yoyo's numbers went below 150 in nadirs, that I was to hold the dose for 7 days, then if after 7 days his nadirs are greater than 150 I would do a dosecrease. But I think you are telling me that I test enough so that I can do the dosecrease in .25 unit increments without waiting 7 days.Hi Debra
As Gill explained, typically you do a curve once a week and see where the nadir is before deciding the dose. But here’s the thing: you are basically doing curves every day. That’s the data you want to use to decide if you need to make a dose change. Usually when we see members doing SLGS, it’s because they (a) either work and aren’t there during the week days to catch the nadirs or (b) they are feeding dry food still or (c) they are just worried about doing TR; perhaps you fall into this category because you are certainly testing plenty enough to do TR. I’m sure you’ve addressed that and I’m not trying to change your mind. But...the point is that most people doing SLGS don’t have your data. Take a look at Furball’s SS. Carla does test more when she’s home instead of just doing one weekly curve but you can see on days she works, there’s very little data.
SLGS is a guideline and should be implemented based on the data you have, your availability and ability to test, and how long you’ve been here and understand your cat’s cycles, etc. There’s nothing wrong with you waiting a week to change a dose (unless a reduction is earned) but you also want to base your decision on the data you’ve gotten all week. The data is telling us that of all those cycles the last week, YoYo has only seen a nadir below 150 twice and it wasn’t far below 150. Obviously, if things change and you can’t test like you are now, you’ll have to make decisions based solely on the weekly curve.
I stress “you” because my advice pertains to you and YoYo so any readers doing SLGS need to take into consideration that Debra tests much more than most doing SLGS and has as much data as a member doing TR.
The other thing I’d like to bring to your attention is the dose changes. Both TR and SLGS are designed for safety and SLGS particularly is with some of its extra built in guidelines like taking reductions if the BG drops below 90. However, dose changes even for SLGS are done in 0.25u increments and not the small changes you’ve been doing. Some members (and I was one of them) make dose changes in smaller increments because their cat is usually just about all green and the dose just needs a tiny bit of fine tuning. For a newly diagnosed cat with nadirs generally above 150, you really need to be doing those dose changes in 0.25u increments. SLGS is already a lot less aggressive approach and, I hate to be so candid here but I will, you are likely stalling her progress by not doing the dose changes by 0.25u until she gets to the point where she just needs a little extra to bring the BG down just a bit into green nadirs. I did read back on your 1/19 condo (the day you increased) to see your reasoning and I understand your issue with syringes.
Sorry to be so blunt but I’d be remiss if I wasn’t truthful with you that it’s really best to be sure you are giving the correct dose changes.
Actually, I was just saying that you don’t have to base your decisions solely on one curve you do once a week. Under SLGS, you typically do hold the dose 7 days. However, again, it’s a guideline and not a hard and fast rule. If you want to stay somewhat conservative, hold the dose 7 days. If you want to be less conservative, consider TR where you can give him the doses changes exactly when you need them.Thank you...I appreciate you telling me these things. I was just posting above that I thought if Yoyo's numbers went below 150 in nadirs, that I was to hold the dose for 7 days, then if after 7 days his nadirs are greater than 150 I would do a dosecrease. But I think you are telling me that I test enough so that I can do the dosecrease in .25 unit increments without waiting 7 days.
So since I gave Yoyo .40 units, should I now increase to .65 Units or do .75 Units?
Thank you for taking the time to explain things to me and to advise me. Tomorrow morning I will increase his dosage to .50 unit. If after 6 cycles, (3 days), nadirs are greater than 150, then I will increase his dosage to .75 unit. I want to get his numbers into the lower blue numbers.Actually, I was just saying that you don’t have to base your decisions solely on one curve you do once a week. Under SLGS, you typically do hold the dose 7 days. However, again, it’s a guideline and not a hard and fast rule. If you want to stay somewhat conservative, hold the dose 7 days. If you want to be less conservative, consider TR where you can give her the doses changes exactly when you need them.
It would certainly be easier for you if you were at an easier dose to dose than 0.4u or 0.65u. However, I wouldn’t advise raising her to 0.75u. You have two options:
--increase her to 0.65u
--increase her only this once to 0.5u just to get you back on a line (I know this is in opposition to what I told you but I’m trying to make the dosing easier for you) and then going forward, give the increases/decreases in 0.25u.
If it were me, I’d probably increase to 0.5u and if she’s not seeing some much better numbers (between 90-150) than just this once, and if you stick with SLGS, I’d increase after six cycles. This is not consistent with the SLGS guidelines but again, my recommendation is to help you get to a dose that’s easier to do while not leaving her at a dose that might not work (e.g. 0.5u) for too long because it does look to me like she needs a 0.25u increase.
How does that sound? Your choice![]()
You’re welcome!Thank you for taking the time to explain things to me and to advise me. Tomorrow morning I will increase his dosage to .50 unit. If after 6 cycles, (3 days), nadirs are greater than 150, then I will increase his dosage to .75 unit. I want to get his numbers into the lower blue numbers.
Again, thank you!
Good plan.Thank you for taking the time to explain things to me and to advise me. Tomorrow morning I will increase his dosage to .50 unit. If after 6 cycles, (3 days), nadirs are greater than 150, then I will increase his dosage to .75 unit. I want to get his numbers into the lower blue numbers.
Again, thank you!
You’re welcome!!!
Hi Marje, Sorry to be writing to you on an older post but I didn't know how else to contact you. I tagged you a couple of days ago and I haven't heard back from you. I am trying to get dosing advice for Yoyo. I hope I am not bothering you.Hi Debra
As Gill explained, typically you do a curve once a week and see where the nadir is before deciding the dose. But here’s the thing: you are basically doing curves every day. That’s the data you want to use to decide if you need to make a dose change. Usually when we see members doing SLGS, it’s because they (a) either work and aren’t there during the week days to catch the nadirs or (b) they are feeding dry food still or (c) they are just worried about doing TR; perhaps you fall into this category because you are certainly testing plenty enough to do TR. I’m sure you’ve addressed that and I’m not trying to change your mind. But...the point is that most people doing SLGS don’t have your data. Take a look at Furball’s SS. Carla does test more when she’s home instead of just doing one weekly curve but you can see on days she works, there’s very little data.
SLGS is a guideline and should be implemented based on the data you have, your availability and ability to test, and how long you’ve been here and understand your cat’s cycles, etc. There’s nothing wrong with you waiting a week to change a dose (unless a reduction is earned) but you also want to base your decision on the data you’ve gotten all week. The data is telling us that of all those cycles the last week, YoYo has only seen a nadir below 150 twice and it wasn’t far below 150. Obviously, if things change and you can’t test like you are now, you’ll have to make decisions based solely on the weekly curve.
I stress “you” because my advice pertains to you and YoYo so any readers doing SLGS need to take into consideration that Debra tests much more than most doing SLGS and has as much data as a member doing TR.
The other thing I’d like to bring to your attention is the dose changes. Both TR and SLGS are designed for safety and SLGS particularly is with some of its extra built in guidelines like taking reductions if the BG drops below 90. However, dose changes even for SLGS are done in 0.25u increments and not the small changes you’ve been doing. Some members make dose changes in smaller increments because their cat is usually just about all green and the dose needs a tiny bit of fine tuning. For a newly diagnosed cat with nadirs generally above 150, you really need to be doing those dose changes in 0.25u increments. SLGS is already a lot less aggressive approach and, I hate to be so candid here but I will, you are likely stalling her progress by not doing the dose changes by 0.25u until she gets to the point where she needs a little extra to bring the BG down just a bit into green nadirs. I did read back on your 1/19 condo (the day you increased) to see your reasoning and I understand your issue with syringes.
Sorry to be so blunt but I’d be remiss if I wasn’t truthful with you that it’s really best to be sure you are giving the correct dose changes.