2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 43 76 7.25/70 72 8.25/76 9/77 10/97

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

Another tip to warming the insulin in the syringe is placing it between 2 fingers for a bit to warm it. I haven't read all of the posts on your condo to see if anyone has mentioned it yet or not. If so, my apologies for mentioning it again. :lol:

Otherwise, that's a pretty big drop, but nice #s. :-D :mrgreen: You're both doing great!
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

It's just after 1.30am but I'm full of adrenalin, I don't know if I'm going to be able to sleep after this anyway! My jaw is sore from clenching my teeth and I've been smoking way more than I'd care to admit - must take a few more of those deep breaths - without the cigarette hanging out of my mouth...

Testing again in a few minutes
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

Vyktors Mum said:
It's just after 1.30am but I'm full of adrenalin, I don't know if I'm going to be able to sleep after this anyway! My jaw is sore from clenching my teeth and I've been smoking way more than I'd care to admit - must take a few more of those deep breaths - without the cigarette hanging out of my mouth...

Testing again in a few minutes

lolololololol! the cigarettes must be helping because you're handling this like a pro!
see you soon...
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

+7.75 72

I didn't give him the extra tsp earlier because he had walked away from his bowl.

He's back there now though so giving another tsp and be back for further instructions momentarily
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

He turned his nose up at the food - which isn't one of his favourites so the fact that he was eating it so ravenously earlier is more surprising than him turning his nose up now. Also said no to his after test treat.

Should I take it away again and see how he's going by himself in another half hour?

Should have taken those deep breaths before that last test, first I tried to test without inserting a lance and then I didn't rub his ear for long enough so I had to prick him twice.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

sounds good!

*usually* i'd tell you to carb him up so you could get to bed. reduction earned. he has nothing more to prove on this dose.

however, we're dealing with an unknown. we don't know if the old insulin was bad and if the new insulin will cause him to dip again. for this reason, i'd like you to retest in 30 minutes. he has a gorgeous surf going on. we just want to make sure he doesn't dip from here.

are you up for it or do you want to carb him up and take a nap for about an hour?
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

Vyktors Mum said:
He turned his nose up at the food - which isn't one of his favourites so the fact that he was eating it so ravenously earlier is more surprising than him turning his nose up now. Also said no to his after test treat.

Should I take it away again and see how he's going by himself in another half hour?

Should have taken those deep breaths before that last test, first I tried to test without inserting a lance and then I didn't rub his ear for long enough so I had to prick him twice.

ok, just saw this. we were posting at the same time... and i'm the slowest typist around.

two choices:
try feeding him something else OR give his tummy a rest. in either case, retest in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

I'm up, my lungs can take it!

I'm not keen to carb him up any more than necessary, I don't really know how carbs affect him either that's the first HC he's had since treatment started. I guess he's probably going to bounce like a rubber ball anyway but I'd rather not make it any worse.

Should I take the tsp of food I gave him that he hasn't eaten away - next test will be in 15 mins
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

Jill & Alex said:
Vyktors Mum said:
He turned his nose up at the food - which isn't one of his favourites so the fact that he was eating it so ravenously earlier is more surprising than him turning his nose up now. Also said no to his after test treat.

Should I take it away again and see how he's going by himself in another half hour?

Should have taken those deep breaths before that last test, first I tried to test without inserting a lance and then I didn't rub his ear for long enough so I had to prick him twice.

ok, just saw this. we were posting at the same time... and i'm the slowest typist around.

two choices:
try feeding him something else OR give his tummy a rest. in either case, retest in 30 minutes.

Tee hee and again - I'm going to take it away so we can see how he's going by himself.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

Vyktors Mum said:
Should I take the tsp of food I gave him that he hasn't eaten away - next test will be in 15 mins
yes, take it away if he's not interested. he may want it later when he realizes it's gone. :-D
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

Jill & Alex said:
Vyktors Mum said:
Should I take the tsp of food I gave him that he hasn't eaten away - next test will be in 15 mins
yes, take it away if he's not interested. he may want it later when he realizes it's gone. :-D

This is true, and I have to be really careful about giving him something different if he turns his nose up at something because it just makes him more stubborn about refusing things in future.

He wants his canned cereal but I think he's starting to wonder if he really tasted that old favourite of his tonight or if he just imagined that tsp
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PMPS 311 +4 142 +6 52 +6.25 43 +6.45 76 +7.25

you know him best. it's not imperative he eat at the moment anyway.
btw, alex decided vyktor shouldn't be the only one getting all this attention. she dropped to 42 since i've been talking to you. :roll:
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 4/142 6/52 6.25/43 6.75/76 7.25/70 7.7

:shock: She has to get under 40 for her dose reduction doesn't she? What is in the air tonight? :shock:

Can you deal with us both? I understand if you need to concentrate on her now.

I am testing again now
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 4/142 6/52 6.25/43 6.75/76 7.25/70 7.7

ummm, errrr... alex and i don't play by the book any more... or maybe i should say, i know the "protocol" and her response well enough to know when to safely break the rules. you have to remember, we've been doing this dance on and off almost 6 years now.

i don't have to concentrate on her at the moment. a 2% kcal from carbs mini-meal brought the Queen of Carb Sensitivity up from 42 to 62 in 30 minutes.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

I must admit, I'm glad to hear it, I was just being polite I am much more comfortable about this with you here!

+8.25 76

I gather this means no change really.

He hasn't eaen anything more and didn't want his post test treat again (this is not uncommon he doesn't always take it)

Another test in half an hour?
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

what a beautiful surf!
how about re-testing in 45 minutes? can you wait that long? :lol:
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

I can wait, he's my boy I can do whatever is best for him.

He's having a snooze on the couch at the moment. Should I only let him eat a tsp in the next 5 mins if he wants to so he's had a half hour clear of any food before the next test? Or if he wants to eat after that wait half an hour after the food until testing again?

Based on what happened tonight I think Vyktor is Alex's king - 43 to 76 in 30 mins! I assume can't rely on this data yet though, not until I see it happen again.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

at this point, i'd let him eat small amounts (1 tsp) every 30 minutes... if he wants it. i wouldn't force it on him. we're far enough into the cycle that i feel confident that if (in the unlikely event) he should drop low again and not want to eat... we'd be able to bring him up easily with hc gravy or even karo if necessary.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :thumbup :thumbup

Awesome job you two!!!!


:RAHCAT :dizcat :RAHCAT​
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

You're doing so awesome, Serryn!!!! You've got your first "stay up all night and take care of the kitty" under your belt!!!

BTW...probably just an Australian expression, but what is "canned cereal?"
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

+9 77

He didn't want his treat again and didn't eat since the last test. He's looking at the tsp of not favourite food in his bowl now and wondering if he should eat it.

I'm guessing another test in an hour? or should I go again in 45 mins?

I'm also starting to wonder what I'm going to do with his morning shot, I would expect a bounce but if he's still green I'm thinking I shouldn't bank on that and try to shoot through it at his old dose and should take the dose reduction straight away instead. But how low would be too low to even do that? Probably getting ahead of myself anyway there's still 3 hrs to go and he might have shot back up to the pink floor by then.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

Patty & Champ said:
You're doing so awesome, Serryn!!!! You've got your first "stay up all night and take care of the kitty" under your belt!!!

BTW...probably just an Australian expression, but what is "canned cereal?"

It's a Serrynism for the FF grilled varieties that he used to live on. I still can't believe they put cereal in cat food :sad: and FF doesn't sell the classic varieties (which I assume are cereal free since so many people use them) in Australia every tin of FF on our shelves contains cereals. If they're not going to sell all the varieties here at least they could give us the good ones instead of the canned cereal!
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor PS/311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/7

Vyktors Mum said:
+9 77

He didn't want his treat again and didn't eat since the last test. He's looking at the tsp of not favourite food in his bowl now and wondering if he should eat it.

I'm guessing another test in an hour? or should I go again in 45 mins?

I'm also starting to wonder what I'm going to do with his morning shot, I would expect a bounce but if he's still green I'm thinking I shouldn't bank on that and try to shoot through it at his old dose and should take the dose reduction straight away instead. But how low would be too low to even do that? Probably getting ahead of myself anyway there's still 3 hrs to go and he might have shot back up to the pink floor by then.

he might just be full. you could try offering it to him in a little while.

you could wait an hour to re-test.

take the reduction to 2.25 units at the next shot even if he's high. i wouldn't try shooting through the bounce this time. i'm beginning to think your old insulin was toast. if it was, shooting the same dose *could* drop him low again.

"if" vyktor continues surfing all the way to amps, i think it would be a good idea to stall for a rising number before shooting. personally, i don't like stalling, but in this case i think it's a good idea. you've also been up all night. if you shoot low you'll have to continue monitoring carefully until he begins to bounce. theoretically, we should see the bounce begin at any time now, but i don't know if vyktor received or read the memo.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

I agree!! The manufacturers sell what the owners want to buy. Unfortunately, most owners want gravy on their food so they think it's good for their kitties too. Before Champ was diagnosed, I fed him wet and dry food. He would lick all the gravy off his wet food and then eat the dry, leaving the wet food chucks lying their all naked!! :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

Great job and just look at that pretty surf!
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

Serryn, you and Jill (and Vyktor, of course) are doing fabulously! All LL is proud of you. As you surmise, the best thing to do is to wait and see where he is when you are closer to his shot time. Jill has good advice.

"canned cereal". I like that!
By the way, your Lantus is in the cartridges that the manufacturer sells to fit in various pen devices, such as the Opticlick. The cartridges are great (small and easy to store). They are no longer available here in the US, since Lantus is available in it's own "Solostar Pen". If they should discontinue the cartridges in Australia, you can just get the Solostar pens (which also come in a box of 5) and use them like a cartridge (in other words, don't use the needles that are sold for the Solostar pen, but use a syringe to draw the insulin from the gasket end of the pen).

Mil has certainly sent you her greetings and her love in those two feathers. She is letting you know that she is safely at the Bridge.

I hope that you are able to get a little sleep tonight (perhaps you are resting now). You did great tonight!

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

I thought he was eating his tsp just now but no, he was only drinking the water part - first time I remembered to add water to his food since midnight but as far as stuff ups go I don't rate that one very highly :smile:

That old cartridge of insulin will be binned, we like the new one a lot better!

Somehow I don't think I'll be going to work tomorrow anyway a) I've had half the week off anyway what's another day b) I'll be too tired and c) I'll be too paranoid about what's going on with Vyktor.

I do come home from work during the week for +6 check , but if this had happened on a work day I would've come home to the 52 without having had the warning of the 142 at +4. Then I really would have had a heart attack because I wouldn't have had the opportunity to reread the handling low numbers guide and Jill would have been asleep! No way I could shoot and then go out until +6 tomorrow even if he has read the memo and is bouncing!
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

don't worry... next time will be easier. :mrgreen:
after the dust settles and you've had some rest go over vyktor's ss and re-read this thread. you'll be surprised at how much you've learned. we all learn from our experiences with our kitties and then we apply what we've learned the next time around.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

remember to take up the food bowl at +10 or +10.5 to make sure you have a clean preshot number at amps.
unless vyktor should drop significantly. then it's ok to feed past +10.
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

Even if it's just a tsp? We're about to hit +10 and he hasn't eaten anything since +7

I suppose that's a stupid question really, you already know there's only a little bit in his bowl. He's going to be hungry and unhappy with me by AMPS!

Getting +10 now
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

+10 97

Knocked back his treat again and food has been removed. Do I need to get a +11 as well?
 
Re: 2/2 Vyktor 311 6/52 6.2/43 6.7/76 7.2/70 7.7/72 8.2/76 9

Vyktors Mum said:
+10 97

Knocked back his treat again and food has been removed. Do I need to get a +11 as well?
did he want to eat anything besides his treat?

nice to see a rise. you don't have to get a +11 if you don't want to. i think you'll be able to get a good idea of the rate of the rise without it. this might be a good time to fit in a 2 hour nap!

you really did an awesome job handling this...
 
No he's just snoozing next to the counch and wondering why on earth we haven't been to bed yet so that rise is all him no food. I'm assuming that means sleep for an hour and a half until PS is ok.

As long as he's over 100 by PS is it ok to shoot his 2.25 reduced dose or do I want him to be a little higher than that, or better yet will you still be floating around to advise - now where's the smilie that bats its eyelids...
 
Vyktors Mum said:
No he's just snoozing next to the counch and wondering why on earth we haven't been to bed yet so that rise is all him no food. I'm assuming that means sleep for an hour and a half until PS is ok.

As long as he's over 100 by PS is it ok to shoot his 2.25 reduced dose or do I want him to be a little higher than that, or better yet will you still be floating around to advise - now where's the smilie that bats its eyelids...
what you want to look for is the rate of the rise rather than a specific number. if he's only risen 10 points since that 97 @ +10... well, that tells you he's not going up very fast.

i do have to run some errands, but i'm sure there will be others around to help. although, i may very well be available. alex just dropped again to 45 @ +8. i'm not sure she'll let me go anywhere today. :mrgreen:
 
Thanks so much for your help Jill (and Alex for keeping you at home!) I'm down to an 1 1/4 hrs sleep so I'm going to take it while I can who knows what's coming.

One last question though, because usually if I have questions at AMPS no one is around - how much of rise am I looking for to shoot on time?
 
i think you'd be perfectly fine to shoot the reduced dose of 2.25u if vyktor rises to 150 by amps time.
now run to bed! :lol:
 
OH!!!! LOOK WHAT I MISSED!!!!!!!

Fantastic run here...LOVELY WORK, LADIES!

Looks like some sweet little boy wanted to keep his mum's mind occupied ;-) :-D :cool:
 
hi serryn! just cheering you and vyktor on . . . when you get the amps, if you need a hand making a decision, post and we'll help you through it. you've got lots of eyes on vyktor!

well done hmmm do i say today or tonight? how about just well done! great job!
 
Hi Serryn, I am awake till 3AM (east US) most nights, so even though I'm kinda new at this, I'm here at least for support if you need someone to give you some calming energy. We can talk about Vegan food together, while waiting to see what Vyktor will do next.

Good luck tonight, I'll check in at my 2AM, and 3AM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top