2/2 Tess PMPS 115

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Tess GA

Very Active Member
Yesterday's condo

We took Tess back up to .75u this AM.

She was very playful in the am ( :? this is getting confusing as her AM shot is at 11:00am, so everything happening in the morning should actually be on yesterdays PMPS report.) She had ignored the food out overnight, but gobbled up the plain chicken we gave her about +7.5 Had to coax her to eat after AMPS. I think she is really confused about feeding times. She expects food when we get up and when we have dinner. We've been giving her some then as it is about +7 or 8 then.
 
Re: 2/1 Tess AMPS 310 Dosecrease to .75u

When I was shooting Marco he ate every 2-3 hours (a mini-meal) and sometimes I'd have to wake up a tad early so that he could have his breakfast when I woke up. He's a crazy kitteh if I don't feed him when I wake up :dizcat he'll make me fall and cry louder and louder! One day he banged on the bathroom door because I decided to shower before I fed him!!! :shock:

You can try different feedings times and see how Tess reacts to it. :) Have to do lots of pokies anyhow

Come on down Tess!!! Let's see some more greeeeeeeens! You can do it!!!!
 
Re: 2/1 Tess AMPS 310 Dosecrease to .75u

The problem is i worry about being able to get her to eat at shot time if I feed her earlier. Or is that not so important with Lantus?
 
Re: 2/1 Tess AMPS 310 Dosecrease to .75u

ann, no, you don't need to worry about that. as long as you're able to feed at some point before nadir you're fine. it's not like vetsulin or humulin, where you need food on board before and after shot.

good luck with the dosecrease.
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 Dosecrease to .75u

Tess's +2 went down to 123. Very fast drop, we're feeding her and will keep checking hourly. Or sooner?
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 =3~62

Tess is down to 62 at +3. Ate about .5 oz.of FF 7% after the +3 She is looking fine , alert, grooming exploring behind the TV right now.

Seems like an awfully fast drop though and previously at this dose her nadir wasn't until +7 of +8. Could going up to .75 been too much of an increase?
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 =3~62

You may be experiencing new dose wokiness (NDW), considering the current drop, how about you soften the drop with a MC snack (LC with a touch of gravy). Tess is not in 'danger zone' but the express elevator ride down is hard on the system.

I got in the habbit of feeding a snack as a meal and a meal as a snack 2 hours later - because 2 hours was Tizon's onset.
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 +3~62 +3.5~67

At +3.5 back up a little to 67. I've been feeding 7% carb as opposed to the 0% to 4% she had been eating. Tess has eaten a good sized sack or small sized meal, about 3/4 oz.
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 +3~62 +3.5~67

yeah, you might see higher numbers before a break and this could be what happened, but with food right now she's surfing in the 60s, which is great, so i wouldn't worry about it.
just some 7% when you test looks good. some people give it every hour to keep the surf going.

let's see how she responds to the drop at shot time. if she goes too low at any point let's look to shave her dose a little, not take it a full step down (so a skinny 0.75) but if she stays like this (not going below 40) i'd stick to the 0.75u. if she bounces up high at next shot time after going 40 or lower, give the same 0.75u dose to counter the high numbers but shave the next dose. that would be my suggestion, anyway.

[we used to refer to "new dose wonkiness" as a cat's tendency for BG numbers to rise at about the 2nd shot of a dose increase, rather than referring to a big drop initially (took a while to find it but here's jill's statement on it: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=2731#p25370), but anyway you look at it, tess's system is figuring out how to handle the increased insulin.]
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 +3~62 +3.5~67

:-D apparently Tess heard me and got some greens there! look at that beeeeauutiful surf there in the 60's! Nice!
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 +3~62 +3.5~67

Thanks all. I wasn't worried about where Tess was, just how fast she got there and how much further she might go. This is looking pretty good.I'm testing again at +8. Every time I've tested her I've given a little food, 7% or 4% if she had gone higher.

Recap:
  • +2~123
    +3~62
    +3.5~67
    +4.5~86
    +6~74
    +7~89
 
Re: 2/2 Tess AMPS 310 +2 123 +3~62 +3.5~67

Tess is liking her dosecrease...wonderful surf!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Hope you're feeling better, Ann!
 
Tess's surf hasn't risen much for her PMPS, 115. She's been a lot more her own self very relaxed, i.e. total lop cat in my lap all night. She's eating well now.

I'm a little worried about shooting this low.
 
Tess looks just fine, Ann! :thumbup They do feel better when their numbers are good. :mrgreen:

Just up watching Bee for a big change that it seems is not going to happen. Her numbers are going up - even with a dosecrease & I thought an aging vial might be the culprit. Not much action from her new pen. :roll: Going for a final test at 3:00.
 
Re: 2/2 Tess PMPS 115 +1 162

Tess went up to 162 at +1 so it looks like we can get a couple of hours of sleep. I hope your test turns out well too, Nancy.
 
Re: 2/2 Tess PMPS 115 +1 ~162 +3 ~102

+3 is 102. WE'll check again in 1 hour. Tess is eatinf some 9% Merrrick so should be good till then.
 
always worth being conservative at night when you're unfamiliar with a lower preshot number, but you see how she went up after the shot, so next time you might want to try the full dose and then test in an hour.

we'll see how she goes. i'm in san francisco so i can stay up with you a bit but she looks good.
great day for tess today. :)
 
Thinks Chris. +4 is 119 so up a little more. She's eating again so I'll check again at +6. Yummmm!! Turducken!



Actually, I probably couldn't see the difference in the dose anyway at this time of night. :lol:
 
lol. she's doing great, ann. :) very comfortable numbers this cycle and it seems as if she knows to eat when necessary right now to keep in good numbers.
 
At +6 Tess is 81, so dropped a bit. she wanted to eat without being coaxed so she is Ok for now. Will test again at +7.
 
Thanks Ella, she seems much happier at a slightly higher dose. We just went down too fast for her I guess. I've been having trouble looking at spreadsheets too, must be something in the system.

Congratulations! I'm impressed with what's happened w/ Spacey while I've been out of it. Wreck your car and be out of it for a few days and all sorts of things start to happen. :-D Good luck at the new dose, hope to join you there soon, but not too soon this time.

ed: I think I'll do the PS a little early in case she's still low, to have time to get some advice.
 
Spacey doesn't seem to be sure whether she like's the 0.25 or 0.1... :lol:
Hubby is sick at home, so I guess it's okay to hang on to 0.25 for a couple of cycle's now. I feel the same way as you with those lower numbers. I'm too scared to give 0.25 when no one's around. Silly huh?

Early ps is good idea.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top